We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”
Review of Hotel Vienna Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vienna Urban
Ranked #19 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Everything was clean and modern, the room and bathroom were big, the staff was friendly and helpful. It only takes 10 minutes to get the center of Vienna by U Bahn. Palace Schönbrunn is very close to hotel so don't miss the chance to visiti it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranaBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    130
    35
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
88
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here in August on our way to Western Europe. The hotel has a good location on the route to Linz and also it's close to the U-bahn at Schonbrunn.
The rooms are indeed large and the bathrooms also. The matresses are indeed hard but that was great for us who liked so :)
The breakfast is typical Viennese, with enough varieties to please everyone. The staff is smiling and helpful.
Overall I recommend this hotel for short stays - 1 to 3/4 nights and as someone said before, it's an amazing value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HadrianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Stayed here when it was called Beta Art Hotel, during Summer 2010. Have since seen it listed as Vienna Urban Resort and Vienna Urban Retreat - hope this odd and inconsistent renaming doesn't prevent people from finding and booking this hotel, as it truly is a brilliant find.

My room was a double and was absolutely enormous - by far the biggest hotel room I've ever had in a European hotel. For the price, the norm would probably be a tiny, ill-equipped and not particularly clean room, when this hotel offered a huge room with sofa, flatscreen TV, equally huge bathroom, luxury shower, nice toiletries, high-quality linen.... It really couldn't be bettered, especially since bilingual staff were very friendly and helpful.

Only slight negatives: not the most salubrious street (not much in way of decent shops or restaurants), but easy walking distance of several metro stations and extremely easy to get around the city quickly, which more than makes up for lack of beautiful location. Also, no airconditioning meant my room was very, very hot - but it was a real heatwave in Vienna and huge windows meant I could at least get some breeze through the room.

This hotel is a gem, have since recommended it to a friend and her husband who stayed there in December 2010 and also loved it. Truly fantastic value - it just needs to get its name and website/s sorted out so it isn't such a drama to figure out that you are actually booking the right place...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmataH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Went to the Vienna Urban Resort Hotel as Vienna was overbooked and my reservation to my other hotel was one day after. So I booked to Vienna Urban Resort Hotel online and I was very surprised. This hotel is very clean , bathroom are as in a 4 stars hotel. Rooms are very big and the hotel is clean. Internet is free in the room with Wifi.... I have to say that its a very good hotel for this price.... the only point is the metro u-banh is 5 minutes walking.. anyway not very bad as it is on the same street.. I liked this hotel and I will recommend it ! Thanks

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed in Beta Art Vienna Hotel for 10 days/9 nights in August 2010.

Advantages. We liked bed in our room. It was very big and very comfortable in our opinion. Typical breakfasts (tea, coffee, milk, water, apple and orange juices, cheese, cold cuts, 5 kinds of jam, yoghurt, fruit salad, different kind of bread, pastry). Bus stop is almost opposite the hotel. Schonbrunn, one of Vienna sights, is not far from the hotel. Ladies, who serve breakfast, are very helpful and if any course from the breakfast table finished, they immediately brought new portion. Our room was on the last floor, just under the roof and it was a great view from our windows. A rather cheap store where it's possible to buy food is near the hotel.

Disadvantages. There was no iron in the hotel. No radiator in the bathroom, that's why it was rather difficult to dry socks, panties, etc. City center is very far. On the 2nd day of our stay in Austria we decided to go out of Vienna and went to Baden for the whole day. The weather was excellent in the morning: the sun was shining and there were no clouds in the sky. That's why we decided not to close windows. We thought that maid will do it by herself as it was in other hotels in other European countries. But unexpectedly, in the afternoon, heavy rain started. It was raining for the whole second part of a day. When we returned we found out that all 3 windows in our room stayed open for the whole day. As a result, our MP3-players, which were on the table under the window, were spoiled with rain, carpet was totally wet and it was like a bog for the next 6 days. So, if you get a room on the last floor you mustn't forget to close all windows everyday in spite of the weather.
But the biggest trouble happened later. Two days before leaving Vienna and Austria we found out that money, which had been saved for hotel payment (700 euro and around 6000 rubles. Russian rubles are coloured and look like euros), had disappeared. I told to a receptionist about it. I also told her that I didn't want to go to the police station, which is not far from the hotel, by the way. It happened on Thursday evening. She told that the manager of the hotel was on leave now, but she would tell to the deputy manager and they would try to solve my problem. On Friday, the next day, nobody told me anything. They just didn't notice me. On Saturday, our last day in Vienna and in Austrian, a receptionist changed. In the morning she asked me whether it's me who had such problem. I said yes, it's me. I told her again that I didn't want to go to police, because I didn't want to make any trouble to the hotel and to the hotel staff, I just wanted to get my money back. I also told her, that if till the evening money wasn't returned I would have to go to th epolice. She said, that she understood me and that she would do all her best to help me. When in the evening we returned a man was at the place of a receptionist. He pretended that he knew nothing about me and my problem while I didn't ask him whether he had money for me. He began to tell that he didn't have any money for me etc. He even didn't apologize for this incident. I said ok, if you didn't have money, then I would have to go to the police. I was very surprised when he told that I could't go to police. When I asked why, he could answer nothing. So, I went to the police station and wrote a report (a copy of a report is with me). When I returned his behaviour fully changed. He became very rude with me. But I didn't care because it was my last minutes in this hotel. I left it and will never stay there again.

You see, that sum of money, which has disappeared, is my month salary. We didn't take too much money with us. When we were planning our journey we didn't want to spend all 10 days in Vienna, we were planning to visit other towns also. It was at the end of our journey and I had to save our last money to pay for the hotel. Last 2 days we lived for 20 euros. Because of this incident we couldn't visit many museums and places, which we were planning to visit, because we didn't have money for that.

Do you know how it's terrified to be in a foreign country with a foreign language, which you don't know perfectly, with a sister, who is 10 years younger than you and you are responsible for her, without money???????? More than that the Embassy of your country is closed and nobody wants to help you. Want to know what I felt? Stay in Beta Art Vienna Hotel.

In some booking sites this hotel has changed the name. Now they are Vienna Urban Resort Hotel (address: Sechshauser Straße 83)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsygankova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#79 of 360 in Vienna
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#56 of 360 in Vienna
569 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#160 of 360 in Vienna
351 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna Urban

Property: Hotel Vienna Urban
Address: Sechshauser Strasse 83, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Urban Resort Hotel/Beta Art Hotel)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price range (per night): $59 - $121
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vienna Urban 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Schönbrunn Palace and Gardens, our hotel represents the ideal starting point for exploring Vienna's main tourist attractions. Great infrastructure offers you easy access to the city centre and the most significant historical sites, regardless whether you arrive by car or are planning to use public transportation. Clear lines, deliberately chosen colour contrast and functional elements characterise the architecture and interior design of the Vienna Urban Resort Hotel. Each uniquely designed space shows the special attention to details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vienna Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing