We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service with some decent dishes”

S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley
Reserve with OpenTable
S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 459 Restaurants in Langley
Price range: USD 6 - USD 11
Description: S+L Kitchen & Bar is brought to you by the Joseph Richard Group and offers a casual upscale environment focused on bringing unique locally inspired dishes to our guests. Featuring craft cocktails, craft beer and an expansive wine list, our menu is designed and inspired by Chef David Jorge (MasterChef Canada winner and JRG Corporate Chef) and the JRG Culinary team.
Restaurant details
Description: S+L Kitchen & Bar is brought to you by the Joseph Richard Group and offers a casual upscale environment focused on bringing unique locally inspired dishes to our guests. Featuring craft cocktails, craft beer and an expansive wine list, our menu is designed and inspired by Chef David Jorge (MasterChef Canada winner and JRG Corporate Chef) and the JRG Culinary team.
Reviewed 22 July 2018

My wife and I tried S+L for our first time. Similar to Earls and Milestones. We went on a Thursday, apparently there is a live band each Thursday night on the patio.

Some of the good dishes that we enjoyed were:
- Crispy brussels, a good amount of deep fried brussels. Compared to other restaurants, theirs is very sweet. At first a bit strange, but after a while we couldn't stop eating them.
- Pan seared scallaps, which come with gnocchi. Fresh scallops seared perfectly. it comes with 3, but we added an extra scallop.
- Lamb popsicles were also very good. It comes on a bed of humus. Lamb was a bit on the fatty side.

Some OK dishes:
- Crispy Calamari was ok. To us, it was way over-fried.
- Tuna Nicoise was ok. The tuna did not seem as fresh as the tuna salads which have "thick chunks" of tuna. These tuna were cut thin.
- Lobster roll. Unfortunately, I was hoping to have a repeat of the lobster roll that I had in Las Vegas. However, the one in LV cost $20 USD. The S+L version had little chunks of lobster. The lobster was fresh though.
- Chocolate sphere dessert was pretty good. Same idea as the one at Yew. Unfortunately, I did not get too much of a warning before the hot white chocolate mixture was poured onto the sphere - pretty much melts the sphere within a couple of seconds.

The service however was excellent. Certainly come back again. S+L as part of the Joseph Richards Group has a rewards program. You need to download their mobile app. It's similar concept as Starbuck, you have to reload your account in order to pay. As the load increments are $10, you will likely end up having a balance in your account.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Newbie_Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeAreJRG, Public Relations Manager at S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Cheers!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your rating, for sharing your feedback, and for being our guest. We are happy to hear you are enjoying our offerings.

Best Regards,

Jessica - Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018

I've been twice in the past few weeks. I love that I don't have to ask them to turn the music down. Energy is good. Beautiful restaurant. Service is great. Both time I found that that food was very slow to come out but it worked perfectly in regards to having a long slow evening meal with lots of great conversation. This is not the place to go if you want to get in fast, eat and get out. Tonight we were there 4 hours!! and it was perfect for a lovely long visit. The Fraser Valley Beet salad with the added herb chicken breast was fantastic. Nice selection of craft beers, cocktails and wines. very much has a downtown vibe for a restaurant in the suburbs. Servers were unobtrusive but attentive and they didn't bring the bill until we asked for it. I'd go back and i'd recommend it for a long leisurely evening.. and you want to make a reservation online or by phone. LOVE that they take reservations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeAreJRG, Guest Relations Manager at S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

We look forward to serving you again! Thank you for being our guest :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

I had the fried cauliflower to start, it was amazing, tasted great wth the blue cheese dressing. Also had the steak, potatoes and fried macaroni sticks. All tasted great......steak melted in your mouth. Atmospher is great and service is fabulous

Thank D3211WSnicolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeAreJRG, Guest Relations Manager at S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello D3211WSnicolem - thank you for being our guest, we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Wonderful experience once again. Prompt and friendly service. Happy hour drinks and eats, grilled cauliflower & dip, fresh oysters, sleeves of beer. Cocktails on point every time. Food cooked to perfection and portions spot on. Will be back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEAREJRG, Public Relations Manager at S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Cheers Lesley!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your rating, for sharing your feedback, and for being our guest. We are happy to hear you are enjoying our offerings.

Best Regards,

Jessica - Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Went for dinner with the family, service was great, quick attentive. kids meals were pricey but the serving size was comparable to a regular plate, and the fried chicken was very good. it would have been nice to have a few vegetables on the plates though. my wife enjoyed her salad, my beef dip was good, tasty aioli and dream rings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEAREJRG, Public Relations Manager at S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

We look forward to serving you again Greg! Thank you for being our guest :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley also viewed

 
Langley City, Langley
 
Fort Langley, Langley
Aldergrove, Langley
 

Been to S+L Kitchen & Bar Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing