We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.com
USD 283
View deal
Expedia.comUSD 298
Hotels.comUSD 298
PricelineUSD 298
eDreamsUSD 283
CheapTicketsUSD 298
Orbitz.comUSD 298
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
439
199
48
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
439
199
48
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art hotel rubber duck stone steps perfect location old town historic building front desk staff over christmas large room breakfast buffet is getreidegasse city festspielhaus birthplace furnishings cheese corridor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

The Blaue Gans is a delightful hotel with helpful staff and individually designed rooms with interesting art in abundance. It is supposedly the oldest hotel in town and in continuous operation as a hotel for over 500 years. You will be located on the main pedestrian street the Getreidegasse with many shops and restaurants in easy walking distance. You can visit all the sites like the Mozart home and birthplace, the Dom and the fortress within easy walking distance. We were fortunate to be upgraded on check in to a junior suite with a nice sized room and large bath area. The shower was state of the art. The bed was very comfortable and the decor simple but sophisticated. The attached restaurant offers a great breakfast and is a good choice for dinner too.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GeorgeY892
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2018

We loved this hotel. It is quirky, with lovely staff and imaginatively decorated and laid-out rooms. The hallways, corridors and stair wells are decorated with amusing and fascinating works of art. And step out the back door straight on to Getreidegasse, with its wonderful shops and restaurants, and the birthplace of Mozart. The location is superb.

It was unfortunate that at the time of our visit, the local council had decided to undertake major road works immediately outside the front door of the hotel, making vehicular access difficult, and producing a fair amount of noise. But this was obviously outside the control of the hotel, and in fact it did not really impact on our enjoyment of the hotel and its facilities.

We had a large double room, and the Maisonette Suite. The Suite was split over three levels, and was extremely well appointed, with plenty of seating, a good sized bathroom, a seperate kitchen, a large bedroom, and spacious living areas. The double room had a separate seating area, a compact bathroom, a dressing area and a large and comfortable bed. The only thing we would have liked in the double room was tea/coffee making facilities, but there was a shared kitchen/lounge available close by, if needed.

The restaurant is superb, and is locally very highly regarded. The breakfast buffet is quite limited, but entirely adequate, supplemented by various items cooked to order. Both food quality and presentation are excellent. We had dinner at the hotel one evening, and the quality of the food was again excellent, as was the service.

I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and would not hesitate to return to the hotel if we found ourselves once again in Salzburg.

Room tip: Each room is unique, so maybe view before finalising booking
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jryder888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2018

Small boutique hotel right where you want to be!! Very comfy beds and rooms - with interesting art all over the hotel! You could not ask for a better location! The front desk was so helpful with everything and always a smile on their face!! Really went above and beyond!! Thank you! Also great resuraunt attached to hotel- serves breakfast and opened up 15 mins early for us on our last day - due to an early flight!!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank curlymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Marketing Assistant at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Dear curlymj,
that's wonderful that you wrote these lines.
We hope to welcome you again soon to enjoy our comfy beds, the cozy restaurant with delicious meals & our smiling staff :)
Best regards,
Johanna Bacher
Marketing Assistant & the arthotel Blaue Gans team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018

We had 3 nights at the hotel. In the old town so beautiful and the atmosphere is wonderful. The staff were great and the room was nice and quiet. Comfortable bed and pillows, modern bathroom very clean. Breakfast daily was included and had great selections. Easy walking distance to most attractions as well as the shops and restaurants. I would recommend the hotel and the position.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthotelBlaueGans, Marketing Assistant at arthotel Blaue Gans, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Thank you so much, Kimberly :)
We are happy to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the wonderful atmosphere in the old town of Salzburg.
Hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Johanna Bacher & the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

I would return in a flash. Staff were excellent (especially Dietmar and Isabella) who spoke excellent english, recommended some great places to visit and eat at, the hotel's restaurant was excellent (and I don't say this lightly), and the location could not be more perfect in the heart of the old town (there's nothing quite like having the main street of the old town to yourself at 8am in the morning after a delicious breakfast in the hotel's restaurant). Had just a small room which really didn't matter as we didn't spend much time in it, but plenty of storage space, and it was clean and the bed super comfy. Only one weird thing was the lack of curtains on the windows. Thought it would be a problem but it really wasn't. Being a 700 year old building, the windows were small. Not the cheapest place in town, but this is such a magical city and the Arthotel just added so much to our experience of Salzburg.

Room tip: If the lack of curtains is an issue, discuss this with the staff when booking. Super easy to book direct by calling the hotel.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews