We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
36
66
27
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
66
27
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate parkingfirst floorminute walkgood sizeconvenient locationbeautiful citycentrebreakfastsights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed one warm night in August. The location is great-- 15 minute leisurely walk to the center of town. The rooms are small but nicely furnished, with an excellent shower and the fastest Internet connection I had found in a hotel anywhere. Breakfast was good, too. However, our room was on the first floor, 3 feet from the noisy parking lot, so it was impossible to open the window, and since there was no air condition, it was suffocating.
We shall return only if we can get a roo in an upper floor farther from the parking lot.

Room Tip: Stay as far from the parking lot as you can!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Comfortable, clean hotel - 15 minute walk out of centre of Salzburg. There were restaurants / bars near to the hotel including a couple of breweries and an excellent Indian Restaurant called Taj Mahal. This hotel is on a busy road but we had a room at the back which was very quiet.

Room Tip: Room at the back away from the road.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsWhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

-Our room was in another building, so we had to go out for the breakfast. Not a big thing, but inconvenient in winter. I was missing the minibar from the room a bit (not the minibar as such, but I could use the fridge itself). The bed was a bit too soft for me.

+Good selection on breakfast (though, not as good as I've expected from reviews of others). Nice, clean room, nice staff. Very good location, close to old town. Good for its price

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Qrucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We visited Salzburg in December 2016 and chose this hotel because of its location and good value. It was a family run hotel with a warm welcome and we were allocated an enormous room with a very comfortable super king sized bed. The room had a separate corner settee and an entrance hall which connected to the recently refurbished en suite. The hotel is a simple bus ride away from the airport on line 2. Cost is about 2€ each way. Our first impression of the area where the hotel was situated was not great, as it is in an area of garages and large out of town stores. It all looked a bit grim. However once at the hotel we were impressed by the modern interior and spotless facilities. It was literally an interesting 15 min walk to the historic centre of Salzburg and we discovered during the week we were there a number of great restaurants and brew pubs which served fantastic and wholesome meals. Of particular mention is the Alter Fuchs, a pub with an affinity for everything foxy, which was atmospheric, cosy and clearly a favourite of locals. If you want to visit this fantastic city without feeling that you have to pay through the nose then you cannot go wrong with hotel Ganslhof. The family are so frienly and helpful, the chambermaids are so efficient they had often cleaned our room before we returned from breakfast ( which incidentally was served until 10.00). This is a real find and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in a newer extension overlooking the garden and car park with a view to a steep mountain side
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We wanted a hotel that we could find easy and have parking and short walk to town. This fitted the bill.
The hotel is almost at the end of the street and we missed it first time around, so go slow towards the end of the street and you won’t miss it and parking is on site.
There are no lifts, no safe or tea or coffee making facilities here. We were on the first floor. A large room for the 3 of us.
Staff were very obliging and friendly. For a hotel with good parking reasonably close to town nice breakfast this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews