We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near hbf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Like what has been reviewed, we decided to give a try and booked an apartment room next to the main block and it was a walk-up 3-storey unit. Rooms are great, with plenty of space and power outlets to use. The lady was extremely friendly and helpful with the local transportation maps. She offered us money-saving tips on transport services, which would have costed more if we were to venture on our own. We bought a bottle of icewine from Titisee and the boss helped us to pop open the cork so we can lighten up our luggage. :)

Main bathroom was ok, while the sub-bathroom is only meant for bathing. Be mindful to switch off the lights when leaving the apartment, else be prepared for a stern reminder from the hotel boss. Some of the lightings are motion-activated for energy-savings.

Free wifi services in both the apartment block and main building. Nice baroque room with great interior decor. I particularly liked the old Siemens ebony telephone and typewriter... :)

Reasonably-priced laundromat can be found at Bubble Point Waschalon at City Centre (Karl-Wurmb-Straße 2) which is five minutes walk from the hotel.

Cheap and good schnitzel dishes just 210m away from the hotel.

Overall it is a good experience, and I wished I would have spent more days there. But I guess I will be back again for a more complete coverage of the nice city of Salzburg.

Room Tip: The apartments away from the main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 168 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and the welcome we received was the best ever. It was so warm and welcoming. We were given lots of information regarding the city, maps, public transport - which no buses went to where as well as sites to see prior to the crowds arriving on the w/e. Can't complain about location to the old town as we knew the location prior to booking and got public buses when too tired to walk at the end of the day. Well located to train and bus station. Beds not the most comfortable - lumpy & creaky, but otherwise no complaints. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Breaky great - loved the billed eggs so perfectly cooked!
Would definitely return one day and highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The first thing I noticed about the hotel (after the huge gleaming signboard) was the ancient HUGE wheeled cycle at the entrance. The hotel is peppered with weird and wonderful objects including a wooden tricycle that doubles as a flowerpot and a coin-song machine in the tea room. Four poster bed with a canopy, bathtub in the bathroom, warm blankets. It got a little stuffy in the night, so we opened the windows. Perfectly safe and not noisy.
It's about 5 minutes walking distance from the railway station and easy to find even after dark. The hosts were warm and friendly and very helpful and the buffet breakfast was great. There's a pizzeria 5 minutes away or, alternatively a Subway at the Plaza down the street. We preferred a lovely Sri Lankan restaurant called 'Coco' that's on the lower floor of the same mall that houses Subway. Delicious food and very friendly people. Be sure to ask if they have any cake for desert. It's delicious.
Walking distance from Mirabell Gardens. I would also recommend using Panorama tours if you're a Sound Of Music Fan. They pick you up at the hotel.
All together, a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HariniIyengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent 3 nights. Room was spacious and clean. No AC but the night was cool enough. The breakfasts were fresh and divine! Upon asking where we could rent bikes, they actually have them there, including ebikes which we rented for 4-5 hours. Best town for biking!!!! Great hotel and very friendly owners. Don't miss happy hour! They were helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My room 315 is in green and rosy style. I wish I had booked ALL week here in this hotel in Salzburg not in Munich. The service is VERY friendly as it is the family hotel. The landlady is very helpful. Next time in Salzburg I WILL come back to this hotel. Anyway it is awesome here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatianaTLSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 km away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
890 reviews
0.2 km away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
889 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,054 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
912 reviews
0.1 km away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#40 of 132 in Salzburg
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $107 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing