We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the heart of Salzburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #13 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the heart of Salzburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I nice, reasonable priced hotel in the heart of Salzburg. Lots of shopping, restaurants, and tourist spots within walking distance.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is a bit unorganized and can be crowded. Try to go earlier if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drspringtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    291
    68
    23
    4
See reviews for
149
439
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel was a great finding. It has a great price, it's located right on the centre of Salzburg. They have free wi-fi.
From the station, you can take buses 3, 5 or 6 and get off at the first stop (Rathaus) after the river.
The breakfast was really good and the staff very nice.
The building looks like as if it was a house, and it's beautifully decorated.. it's very cozy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla_Tanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our family of six stayed here a few days ago and we were very pleased with our experience. We stayed in a triple, a double and a single. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff was helpful. We were very happy with the breakfast. Try the apple strudel (with ice cream) in the restaurant, for a late night dessert. You just can't beat the location. We loved being able to run in and out of the hotel during the day while wandering around town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallasfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Right in the heart of old Salzburg, this gem of a hotel exceeded our expectations. The women at the front desk could not have been nicer or more patient as they helped us plan our very brief stay. The room was tastefully appointed and bath quite modern. We thoroughly enjoyed the rather lavish breakfast. After a long day of walking, the restaurant associated with the hotel was a nice surprise with a very personable waiter, an interesting menu, and tall glasses of wine to end the evening. We enjoyed lunch there the next day too. Don't forget to order the Salzburger Nockerl, the traditional dessert.


I would highly recommend a stay at the The Elefant. Old world grace and charm with the modern touches we all need.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gothamNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Elefant in July 2011. From online booking to check in to assistance with tours, cabs and places to eat - the staff are super helpful and accommodating. Stephanie in particular was lovely, and so professional. We each had a single room; lovely, clean, cozy, great bathroom and comfortable bed. The view to the Fortress was amazing, especially at night. Breakfast was great, fresh and tasty with lots to choose from, and the service was awesome. And of course the coffee was sublime! The location is excellent, a short walk to all the sites, shops, and restaurants. I highly recommend the Hotel Elefant in Salzburg!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenewsRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.3 km away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#10 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.3 km away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price range (per night): $138 - $521
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing