We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this Restaurant!”
Review of MAREDO Steakhouse

MAREDO Steakhouse
Ranked #210 of 733 Restaurants in Salzburg
Price range: USD 10 - USD 22
Cuisines: Argentinian, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were looking for a restaurant that served something other than traditional Austrian food and thought this restaurant might be a good choice. We should have been warned when we noticed there were very few diners. It appeared that a waitress and the manager were in a discussion and we waited, and waited. She finally came to take our drink order and seemed a little put out that we were not ordering beer. She went back and OBVIOUSLY discussed us with the manager (looking frequently at us). We finally got our drinks and ordered from a VERY pricey menu. The food was very bland and certainly not worth what we paid. We watched the waitress and manager appear to make fun of several couples that entered. It was so obvious that we were shocked at their attitudes. Truly, this was the worst restaurant in our whole European trip. Avoid this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Showme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Showme_10

Thank you for your detailed response. Satisfied customers are the base of our success. Therefore, we are willing to undertake all efforts to ensure that you are satisfied with us on your next visit.

When it comes to our food, we do not make any compromises and always rely on top quality. We place great value on the choice and preparation of our meat. Both is subject to high quality standards, which we strictly comply with. We do not make any compromises in this regard. And top-class quality has its price. Should you ever be dissatisfied, please contact our staff immediately. Usually, we can solve this problem quickly and straightforwardly to your satisfaction.

We are sorry that our service disappointed you. We can assure you that this was not intended at all and therefore, we would like to apologize. We would like to clarify this incident with our staff. Please send a message to feedback@maredo.com and tell us on what day and what time you visited our restaurant.

We'd really appreciate it if you gave us a second chance!

Kind regards,
Your MAREDO-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

On may 17, during my 61 birthday we entered the Maredo Steakhouse restaurant (4 couples)
The food was very poor but the price was very nice - €300

The moment we left the restaurant & passed the exit door I noticed I forgot my mobile phone on the table.

It was a matter of 1-2 minutes not more then that we entered back into the restaurant.

The waiter treated us, a lady named Maya was cleaning the table but the phone was not on the table.

She denied taking the mobile phone but at the same time she stopped cleaning the table & went into the kitchen.

We tried to talk to her but without success.

For us it was very clear she took the mobile phone.

We recomend not to go to this restaurant - there are a lot of better ones in this region.

1  Thank שמואל ש
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear שמואל ש

Please be careful with such serious and at the same time baseless accusations, otherwise we have to take legal action. If someone of our guests forgets something in our restaurant, we always store this for him or her.

With kind regards

Your MAREDO-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

A friendly greeting, attentive service and pleasant banter. Our first evening in Salzburg eating at Maredo was just the job after a long day. The salad bar was awesome and puts English pub ones to shame - no surprise there. Spotlessly clean, served at your own pace and a menu you'll want to order at least 3 or 4 different things from. We left very content indeed :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gbeck4gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear gbeck4gb

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and perfect rating!

We are very happy that you were fully satisfied with our attentive service and the large variety of our meals. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our salad bar so much.

We are hoping to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your MAREDO-Team from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

A terrible experience!!! When we ordered the steak, the waiter told us that almost none of the side dishes were available, not even french fries and onion rings!!! After that, the waiter even tried to keep some extra money, saying that the tip was not enough. He was disrespectful and also very unpolite!! We shouldn't have given him anything!!!

2  Thank Matheus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Matheus C

Thank your for your feedback. We are very sorry that your visit at our restaurant was not to your satisfaction.

Normally we are known for our excellent service and and customer-friendly behaviour, and we regret that we apparently missed the mark this time. We would like to clarify this incident with our staff. Please write a message to feedback@maredo.com and tell us on which day and what time you visited our restaurant.

We’d really appreciate it if you give us a second chance.

Kind regards,
Your MAREDO-Team from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Generally as a visitor I am an easy-goer especially when it comes to food. However this time I can say that our experience in Maredo Steakhouse Salzburg wasn’t a very welcoming experience, please allow me few lines to explain myself. We were a small group of 12 people with 5 children. We chose Maredo, as we thought that it would be easier to please the kids.
I will start with the pros:
-The location is nice and the place looks clean and tidy.
-The food was served relatively quick.
-The food was tasty and the meat tender.
So far so good and from just the above the average traveller would say that this is what he would expect from a steakhouse.
However service plays an important role...or at least for me. So here comes the cons.
-The waitress wasn’t as warm as we expected
-A group with 5 kids could be noisy sometimes but this doesn’t justify the waitress to become upset.
-The waitress wasn’t patient, I dare to say quite rude as she wasn’t listening to what’s we were ordering.
-Relatively small portions for the price

So overall the food is tasty, and the location nice. But as any average food traveller would identify as the key element for the food to become even tastier is the service. So the service was so bad that most of us lost their appetite especially for the amount of money we paid. I wouldn’t recommend it as the value for money is low.

Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Dimitris S

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed the food at our restaurant. I would like to apologize to you for the seemingly unpleasant behaviour of our staff on that day. Normally we are known for excellent customer service, and we regret that we missed the mark this time. Please come back again soon and we’ll promise you and your family perfect service to go along with excellent food!

Best regards,
Your Maredo-Team from Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAREDO Steakhouse also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Hallwang, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to MAREDO Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing