We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel and its' location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel and its' location.”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

It was truly a five star hotel and the price was reasonable. I thought about staying at the Sacher but this hotel was just a nice and a little less pretentious. I also liked the fact that there was a very nice public pool attached to the hotel and my son and I could use this pool without having to exit the hotel in December to do so, as there was a connecting door (the pool isn't owned by the hotel and there is a fee to use it).
I wonder when this hotel was built? I was thinking maybe they used it to house some of the actors in "The Sound of Music," however, I just found an article that claimed Julie Andrews stayed at the Österreichischer Hof and Christoper Plummer stayed at the Bristol. I'm thinking the Sheraton may not have been built yet in 1964. It was also a short walk to the Mirabell Gardens. Over-all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: My room faced the front of the hotel. It was quite but the view was only that of the street. I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Salzburg, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Salzburg and it is a honour to us to read such comments.
Regarding your question when the hotel was build, it was in the 1980's.
We would be happy to welcome you back to the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel sometime in the future.
Best wishes from the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    306
    76
    25
    8
See reviews for
238
404
56
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We got such a good feeling the minute we walked into this property (a 360 degree difference from Le Meridien Vienna) that we decided to immediately extend our stay. The entrance areas were very inviting, there was no smell of cigarette smoke, and the front desk staff, especially Ms. Knoll were very friendly and welcoming. We were in a very spacious junior suite with a view of the garden. Unlike the Le Meridien Vienna, they had my son's rollaway ready in the room and did turn down service each night. They also provided extra slippers and a robe for him. Our room had plenty of space for our luggage and a box of chocolates and a note welcomed us. There was still water in the room for us each day. The bathroom was also large with a comfortable soaking tub and a great separate shower. The water closet had both a toilet and a bidet. We had access to the club lounge and it was very, very good. A couple of beers of draft, wine, cocktails, and a selection of bottled beers, soft drinks, juices, and waters. We loved the coffee machine and the selection of hot tea. There was always something delicious to snack on during the day and the breakfast selection was quite plentiful. We ordered some snacks from room service that were good and also had laundry done at the property. The property was an easy stroll to all the sites we wanted to see. Upon check out they presented us with a bag of chocolates and that was a sweet end to a wonderful stay. We are already looking forward to returning next Christmas because it was so very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Salzburg, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts with us on tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Salzburg and we highly
appreciate the compliments which you have noted in your comments.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes from the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Close to Mirabel and everything else. Very large comfortable rooms and well worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Salzburg, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

first of all we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your wishes and needs.
We hope you had a great start into the New Year.

Best wishes from the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I start with this is a wonderful beautifully decorated hotel common areas and rooms. The only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 was the front desk clerk at check in. Very rude and condescending attitude towards my family as well as the people he was trying to buzz in through the garage door, questions asked were met with a sneer and really not nice attitude. Made my first evening in Salzburg very disappointing. Beyond the rude desk clerk, the rest of our stay was wonderful. The hotel is really beautiful and since it was Christmas very beautifully decorated. Other staff that we encountered during our stay were very pleasant and very helpful. We never ate in the dining room, but did order room service twice, very nice very pleasant experience. The hotel is a good 15 min. walk into the old town just so you will be aware of how far away from the old town the property is. Not that many places to eat or get coffee near the hotel. Rooms were very nice, beds very comfortable. Bathrooms very clean. Very beautiful, clean hotel with most of the staff very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishwhiskey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Salzburg, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on tripadvisor.
First of all we would like to apoligize for the unpleasant experience which you had made while your check in, please be insured that this is not our standard.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the remaining time of your stay with us in Salzburg and we would be happy to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best wishes from the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

It is a good hotel at a walking distance from the centre (20 minutes ish). It has all you expect from a sheraton, very large comfortable rooms, quiet, very good service. The restaurant was very good too. The room decoration seemed a little bit old fashioned at first but it was so comfortable and clean, you soon forget about it.

We went there with our 2 years old child. some hotels are just not great to host young children (noise, safety, etc) but the hotel was great. It has a lift, no stairs (easy access with a pram), the room are calm and the walls are thick (your toddler can scream....). The staff was very accomodating with her, including at the restaurant. You can "rent" a cot (not cheap though) but it is a quality one. They will not include the sheets for safety reason but will provide you adequate cot sheets and duvet if requested. The room had no particular hazard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinesharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Salzburg, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

first of all we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Salzburg and we would be happy to welcome you back sometime in the future.

We hope you had a great start into the New Year.

Best wishes from the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,432 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 km away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.5 km away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
427 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Salzburg

Property: Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price range (per night): $317 - $1,136
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing