We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Salzburg Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg)
from USD 17.34
More Info
from USD 67.05
More Info
Salzburg Card
359 Reviews
from USD 28.90
More Info
from USD 41.62
More Info
Reviews (10,205)
Filter reviews
10,205 results
Traveller rating
5,629
3,453
908
163
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,629
3,453
908
163
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funicular ride audio tour torture chamber marionette museum walk up basic ticket salzburg fortress state rooms views are amazing cable car surrounding countryside festung hohensalzburg interesting history worth the trip old town mozart concert sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 10,205 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Amazing views from Salzburg, going up worth so much! Winter, summer, spring or autumn, the views are fantastic and it will be a memory you will never forget. Beautiful traditional restaurant outdoors and indoors where to grab drinks or food. Right in the city centre so no excuses to go up ( it only takes 1 or 2 minute to go up by cable car)

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We did not get a chance to enter the fortress because of time, closed early. But we did had an amazing time with the views, great pictures.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 833jurgenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Took the train up to the top since we were in a crunch for time. Worth the visit to see Salzburg and the surrounding mountains. Stop have a beer or two in the cafe up top surrounded by some surreal landscape. The fort is nice too :-)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank travelingking23112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We took the cable car to the Salzburg Fortress and had a private guide which showed us the old and wonderful rooms of the bishops. Furthermore there is a wonderful view from the castle to the city and countryside. We loved it

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 270herg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was probably the highlight of my visit in Salzburg. The views are breathtaking. One side you can see all Salzburg, and the other side the Alps. The fort is also very interesting. Makes you feel as if you are taken back in time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Wintermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews