We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent in all aspects”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Very friendly (pet's also) and stylish hotel. Spacy rooms. VERY big ski room where you never search a place for your snowboard or boots and where a dozen of people can change shoes simultaneously. We had a HB meal plan - it is excellent! VERY reach breakfast and a variable dinner were perfect.
The hotel has a restaurant opened for public and an apre-ski bar - both with very nice interior and food, too.
Hotel location is worth to mention. 3 ski lifts not more than 100 steps from the hotel door each. The skiing logistics is so excellent that at any moment from each point of ski area you need only one ascend and one descend to reach your hotel.To stay here is much better than to stay in city center where you have to walk too much to the nearest ski lift. At the same time it is just 1 minute by taxi to the main night clubs in the center.
We will definitely stay our next winter or spsring holiday here

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

(Jan 2009)This is a lovely hotel, with great food and ski facilities! There was a mix up with tables for our evening meal which was not remedied throughout the holiday. 2 goups were going to one table every night, and neither group had a properly assigned table for the duration of the holiday, causing much arguing and confusion. also, a young guy in the ski bar was completely ignorant. We were a group of 5 people having a beer, and when we ordered 5 more, the guy simply refilled the 5 glasses, and gave the same glasses back to different people, wwhich was pretty gross! We just walked out and left the beers. Otherwise, a great place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marchelle2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We took a half board arrangement as we were staying with their sister Aparthotel Gammspitzl. We had arranged this in advance through Inghams as we felt it was an easier option and paid £18 each for a 4 course meal (soup, salad, main, dessert or cheese). The soups were OK, as was the salad bar, but the mains (2 were inedible) and the deserts (lacked flavour) were poor. Cheese board was good on some nights.

They seated us in the Pizza restaurant and there pizza and pasta dishes did look good (a hundred times better than the food we were given). I would not recommend committing to half board at the hotel. The Hotel Haus Barbara (2 mins walk) served excellent food and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerrardFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Obertauern hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed at Tauernkoenig over half term and had a wonderful time. We had a problem with our rooms on arrival due to Thomsons, but the hotel staff sorted it out quickly. Overall we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful with a large variety of dishes and an excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms were basic but very clean and spacious, housekeeping was excellent. The bar was smoky but they were more than happy for us to sit in the pizza restaurant area after eating. We recommend the Austrian house wine - very good and a great price. It was a trek uphill to the main street, but we weren't looking for nightlife so it wasn't a problem. We did take a taxi one evening and this was easy and cheap. The location for skiing was excellent with easy access to 3 lifts from across the road, but be careful if booking ski schools because some start from the main area of the town and involve a long walk or bus/taxi ride. We loved the ski runs, the mountain restaurants, the snow - in fact everything about Obertauern!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We wanted to go to Obertauern for 3 reasons; 1) Short transfer from Salzburg, 2) Snow Sure 3) Ski In to Hotels. All of these worked perfectly. The Hotel Tauernkonig is in a great location for skiing, right beside 3 lifts, the Sonnenlift, Grunwaldkopf and the Zehnerkar gondola. You can ski back to the hotel on a Blue slope which is great for a all levels. We loved Obertauern, great resort. The hotel is basic but clean and nice. It is lacking in facilities though, there is a basic bar and restaurant, along with an apres ski hut and pizza restaurant. There is no nice lounge to relax in. The main bar is tiny and basically is in the hall of the hotel and is extremely smokey. The food is ok - good overall for starters and deserts and just ok for mains. The hotel is a good 12 Minute walk uphill to the main village so be prepared for that! Bring good walking boots as it's often very snowy too. Overall, a good skiers hotel but basic.

  • Liked — right close to ski lifts and ski back direct to hotel
  • Disliked — smokey atmosphere, long walk uphill to village, poor bar/lounge
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#14 of 35 in Obertauern
47 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
120 reviews
0.5 km away
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
#23 of 35 in Obertauern
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Steiner
Hotel Steiner
#2 of 35 in Obertauern
277 reviews
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Hotel-Garni Tauernglockl
#23 of 30 in Obertauern
6 reviews
0.3 km away
Apparthotel Hubertus
Apparthotel Hubertus
#6 of 30 in Obertauern
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig

Property: Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
Address: Roemerstrasse 15, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Price range (per night): $246 - $380
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing