We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
113
31
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
31
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helped us plan the water's edge parking arrangements wonderful hosts breakfast room laundry service overlooking the lake stayed here for nights queen bed beautiful place room was large isabella fisher pension apartment balcony town
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

My wife and I stay here for 3 nights in mid-June; you can easily pick it out as you cross on the ferry. It was just a short walk from the boat landing but there is a slight hill or two on the way. We were greeted by Isabelle on our arrival and shown to our room and given a tour of the common areas. There is a breakfast room with kettle and fridge available to guests at all times, in addition, there is a nice lakeside lawn with tables, chairs and loungers, plus 2 diving boards for the really brave (lake is quite cold). Our room was large with a queen bed, closet, dresser/TV stand, luggage stand, two end tables, addition coat hooks and dining table with banquet benches; in addition, it had a long narrow balcony overlooking the lake with a covered area as well. Of course, there was full ensuite with shower and an additional single bed room which we did not use. We could have comfortably stayed there for a week or so. Our host gave us keys for both our room and the outside door so we could come and go as we liked. Of note, we were asked not to do our own laundry in the sink due to water conservation and Isabelle will do any clothing for 1 Euro/km. The only disappointment was that the breakfast was a little short in selection.

Overall, we would happy return to Pension Sarstein and especially Hallstatt if at all possible in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valleyguy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

My college age daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. It was a wonderful experience! The rooms had million $ views! So comfy and cozy! Accommodations were wonderful and we had everything we needed. The wifi was super fast which helped in planning and coordinating other things. It was easy to get to from the ferry. You do have to pull your luggage up a bit of hill, but that is part of the experience of being in such a beautiful place. Isabella went out of her way to help us multiple times, even mailing a ring that we left in our room. Paul, whose family has owned this hotel for hundreds of years, served us a delightful breakfast. Loved this place and I hope to get back one day!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a lake view! All require stairs to access.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

My Friends and I stayed here only for one night, but it was great! The hosts were super nice and helpful. You have a gorgeous view from the rooms and it's directs at the lake! Additionally, there is a good price/performance ratio! We'll definitely come visit again soon!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sarita_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

While the parking arrangements left me a little cautious, the hotel itself is spectacular. Great service and location. The setup of the town of Hallstatt is absolutely bizarre but appears to work well. Stayed on a Sunday and not much open after 6 but that isn't the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spurgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The Pension Sarstein is wonderful - like in a fairy tale and the owners are very nice people. The location is near the lake and the view from our room was amazing. Breakfast was basic but very tasty and the breakfast room is lovely. If the weather is nice you can take the breakfast also on the terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luciana_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews