We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 208
USD 190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 289
USD 263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gruner Anger(Hallstatt)(Great Value!)
USD 130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gasthof Hirlatz(Hallstatt)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seewirt Zauner(Hallstatt)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
111
31
2
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
31
2
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking arrangementswonderful hostsbreakfast roomoverlooking the lakestayed here for nightsqueen bedbeautiful placeroom was largeisabellatownviewloungersferrylaundrysinkeuro
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The Pension Sarstein is wonderful - like in a fairy tale and the owners are very nice people. The location is near the lake and the view from our room was amazing. Breakfast was basic but very tasty and the breakfast room is lovely. If the weather is nice you can take the breakfast also on the terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luciana_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The Pension is just a short walk from the ferry pier and on lake side. Room contains a balcony to relax and enjoy the lake view. It is not far to walk to the town. Pension owner is very helpful, gentle and informative. Room is moderately clean and comfortable. No wifi in the room, but have provided a comfortable cosy sitting room where guests can enjoy free coffee and free wifi. Breakfast is not so good and costs €8, not much value for money.

Room Tip: Second floor is good, can connect to the street, less burden to carry heavy luggage.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruangsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights in September, the room was good and the view was great the owner Clause was very good and was very helpful and showing us the attractions in the area. A great value for money hotel. The Elephant in the the room has to me mentioned and this is the parking problems, while this is not Clause'e fault it really is needed to be told. The hotel is in an access restricted area for cars and the only parking available is a 2 kilometre walk from the hotel and no transport at all other then for your arrival with your bags, so it cost 9 Euros per day to have to walk 2K each way to get your car and drop it off at the end of the day. Not well thought out at all if you drive to Hallstatt, if the weather was bad and it was raining this would be a small disaster and a real deal breaker

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had a wonderful time in romantic Pension Sarstein.

The location is unbeatable; the view from the balcony is surreal. When I woke up in the morning and went to the balcony, I thought I am in paradise – clouds and mountain reflected in the lake , swans and boats were gliding on the clouds- so beautiful!

There is a little beach and even diving board, we were feeding swans.
At night after sauna we were taking dip in the lake. The owner Clause is very helpful and friendly. He recommended us restaurants and tours. They have complimentary bikes, which was very convenient.
Breakfast is simple but enough to start your day.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElenaKandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

This is the pension I like the most during my trip last two weeks ago. I would definitely recommend this to those wanna pay Hallstatt a visit.
The owner, Isabelle was a sweet lady and she helped us a lot by recommended the places to visit in Hallstatt. I won't forget her sweet smile and her husband's cute outfit. They are indeed a sweet couple!
Although we went through a slope from the jetty to the pension about 10 minutes walk with the heavy luggage, our sweat definitely paid off. The interior itself makes you feel like you are at your home and the view from the house was superb!
Everything here was good for us. You are free to enjoy the WiFi as well as the tea and coffee at the pantry. (Thanks for your great hospitality, Isabelle!)
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view and private balcony. You'll definitely love the view when you get up in the morning!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SiewLeng_Seow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews