We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Melk Abbey
from USD 101.71
More Info
from USD 531.21
More Info
from USD 175.89
More Info
from USD 179.18
More Info
Reviews (2,812)
Filter reviews
2,812 results
Traveller rating
1,985
683
112
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,985
683
112
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour day trip river cruise baroque architecture spiral staircase benedictine monks wachau valley over the top well worth the visit worth the trip library abbey gold school books rooms town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 2,812 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2019 via mobile

A very impressive site. The Abbey is different from those I once visited before. It has a strong intellectual atmosphere. The inside deco of the church is marvelous.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank songj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2019 via mobile

What a lovely little town. It is just too cute. You get a true feel of a typical European Town with its little town square and shops and eateries around it. Just lovely

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank shehlalej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

We were part of a river cruise group visiting the Abbey so we had a guided tour. It is a lovely place to visit and if you are visiting Melk this should be your number one place to visit. I wasn’t overly impressed with our particular guide, however they do try hard. The museum takes you through the different ages of the abbey. The guide does not take you through the church, you explore that by yourself - it is overwhelming....

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2019

My husband and I were visiting Melk during a river cruise with other seniors. Melk Abbey was one of our excursions and it was absolutely magnificent. Our bus dropped us off very close to the Abbey and then it was down about 60 steps. However, there was an elevator for use. The gardens were beautiful so we decided to use the steps down and then, of course, back up to the parking lot. The stunning baroque abbey not only is a monastery, but there are other buildings to visit.

After passing through the outer gateway flanked by two bastions, one comes to the entrance hall with its ceiling painting depicting St. Benedict (d.547), the founder of the Benedictine Order. This leads into the splendid Prelates Courtyard, whose buildings are adorned with statues of the Cardinal Virtues and various prophets.

After having enjoyed the wonderful view from the Abbey's terrace, one enters the church and is overwhelmed by the sheer profusion of ornament. Its frescoes, marbling, gilding, sculptures and stucco work add up to a dazzling unity. The eye is automatically led first toward the opulent high altar and then upward to the 210 foot high cupola where God and Christ are shown in majesty surrounded by the Evangelists and Church Fathers.

The Abbey Library is gorgeously decorated and contains 100,000 volumes of which 16,000 are on show, including 1800 illuminated manuscripts. There is also a gift shop and restrooms on the premises.

We took many, many beautiful pictures (not allowed inside the Abbey) but the buildings, court yard and gardens are magnificent. This is a DO NOT MISS place.

Date of experience: June 2019
5  Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

A huge Baroque architectural UNESCO gem in a most dramatic setting of the Wachau region along the Danube.
Our specialist site guide had us all spell-bound with her fascinating commentary in each room which seemed to get more elaborate with theatrical and visual effects until we were led through the magnificent library and let loose into the church where one can only gasp and literally be stopped in your tracks. It is absolutely jaw-dropping.
WOW!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank JacqJains
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews