We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in Melk”
Review of Hotel Stadt Melk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Melk
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Hotel Stadt Melk is a small and nice hotel with very friendly people serving you. The room was clean and nice with a balcony facing the square. The hotel has a privat parking place just across the back street, which makes it very easy if you are arriving with your own car. Melk is a small and lovely town and this hotel is just in the center of it. There is a church opposit to the hotel and the church bells are ringing every 15th minute. But after two houres you will get used to the sound.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a very nice room with two sets of windows and a balcony. So we could sit on the balcony watching all the action below. The staff were very attentive even when the shared restaurant was busy. They helped us carefully store our bicycles in a garage across the street and helped carry our bags. The room was very neat, clean and well organized.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with a very good selection.

The street noise could be a factor at the weekend (we stayed a Saturday) and also the church bells if one is a very light sleeper.

Overall we found the hotel to be very friendly and good value.

Room Tip: The room we had faced the street in two directions. A plus if you want to look out and see what is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wcroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

On our way from Heidelberg, Germany, to Vienna, Austria, we stopped at Melk, famous for its abbey. With no reservations made, we selected on the spur Hotel Stadt Melk at the Hauptplatz (Main Square). We couldn't have made a better choice. The friendly personnel, the nice accommodation, the excellent cuisine (received two out of four toques, of the gastronomic guide Gault-Millau) and the beautiful location all contributed to a wonderful experience. Location is right on the foot of the hill on which world-famous Melk abbey is located. Originally we wanted to stop at a place farther down in the Wachau section of the Danube valley but we didn't regret at all to make our overnight stay here. There is a plaque mentioning that the Duke and Duchess (Mary Simpson) stayed here in the 1950s. Prices are reasonable, private parking provided. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFAvJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We loved this hotel. Sure there is a little noise, and the church bells woke us up, but our little balcony overlooking the town more than made up for the noise. The restaurant is wonderful. The rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable. I liked have the offstreet parking just behind the hotel and the location is fantastic. We stayed in Melk and took the train into Vienna - which was expensive, The train runs frequently, and the hotel is a short walk to the station.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

On business / road trip through Europe and coming back via Austria, we arrived in Stadt Melk about 21.00pm and drove straight into the centre to find a suitable hotel for the night, we parked outside Hotel Stadt Melk and walked into reception, Fraulein Wallner was at reception and after a bit of negotiation we agreed to book 2 rooms, as the kitchen was closed we walked next door and bought pizza, we sat outside at the pavement tables and Fraulein Wallner arranged a simple salad and wine, a really pleasant end to a very good day, we very rarely book accommodation in advance preferring to take our chances as they happen, we are very seldom disappointed and quite frequently surprised by what we find, this was a real little gem, and Fraulein Wallner - 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiggermanNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melk
0.0 km away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
0.1 km away
Gasthof Goldener Stern
1.7 km away
Hotel Wachau
Hotel Wachau
#3 of 6 in Melk
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Junges Hotel Melk
Junges Hotel Melk
#6 of 6 in Melk
8 reviews
0.3 km away
Wachauerhof
Wachauerhof
#5 of 6 in Melk
62 reviews
1.2 km away
Landhotel Wachau
Landhotel Wachau
#3 of 4 in Emmersdorf
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Melk

Been to Hotel Stadt Melk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Melk

Address: Hauptplatz 1, Melk 3390, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Melk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Price Range: $102 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stadt Melk 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stadt Melk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing