We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food, bad atmosphere”

Mezedogonia Cyprus Taverna
Ranked #188 of 631 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely interior with cypriot photos and old world home artefacts. Service was quick and food was cooked very well. Meat dishes were done very well and the mousaka very tasty. Arguing and shouting was heard from the kitchen so we got the full greek experience. The older waitress lady was surly, miserable and rude with no charm for the patrons. The other staff were lovely but were obviously affected by the earlier commotion. There was a slight misunderstanding with our order but quickly rectified.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ShadMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018

This taverna is opposite our hotel and offers up really good quality cypriot food at really reasonable prices. The lamp chops here were absolutely delicious. Worth a visit if in Paphos.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is lovely quaint and authentic with photos and decor with a Cypriot theme. The food was nice and plentiful I had the pork (kebab) my partner the lamb plus 2 kids meals, the chips were amazing homemade.
We were given free desserts as was everyone in that night it was a square of walnut/date cake and ice cream yummy. We had red wine can thoroughly recommend to have with any dish as it was a light red beautiful taste.
The waiter and young waitress were nice but I have to agree with other reviews the older waitress was Stoney faced and unwelcoming I didn’t see her smile once and was bickering with the male waiter. The Cypriot people in general are usually so warm and friendly a reason we come back year after year so we were disappointed with the service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank N6340ODlisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

first time here, tried to book table 2 times but were always shut or told to come back, we just turned up and were given a table, fairly busy. Service not the best. Food was good what we had but we would not return here.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We came here during a two week stay at a hotel over the road.
- we had to seat ourselves as we were ignored on entry
- there were only three staff working and they were all pandering to a table of 14
- we ordered a starter and two mains. After 35mins of waiting, we left due to nothing coming to our table. Not even an apologetic waiter.
- no food was being delivered to any other table than the large one of 14
- during our wait, other people were seating themselves, being ignored and walking out
- when we told the waitress that we were leaving due to waiting so long, she just said 'OK', didn't even try to get us to stay or say sorry
- the woman and older man were arguing several times really loudly infront of guests

Overall, really unprofessional staff. Don't waste your time coming here.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAB_231990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezedogonia Cyprus Taverna also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Geroskipou, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Mezedogonia Cyprus Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing