We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
214
147
48
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
147
48
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con island blue pool area adjoining restaurant self catering taxi rank kings road hot country except sunday great holiday waste ground minute walk restaurants and bars rooms are basic apartment complex superior apartment bar prices
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have just arrived back from the Tasmaria: which was booked at short notice based on the excellent feedback received on this site,
We stayed in room 301 which on first inspection seemed slightly “tired”. 301 overlooks the pool, I would recommend you pay the extra for a pool side room as the other apartments behind the pool area, in my opinion have rather bleak views.
There were two air con units in the apartment which each attract an additional charge, we only paid for the one in the bedroom which was man enough to keep the whole apartment cool.
Unfortunately the beds were pretty awful, the mattresses were tired and springs could be felt!
We had no issues with cleanliness: The floors were cleaned and sheets and towels were changed daily (except Sunday)
Although nothing is cheap in Cyprus (except the buses: for two euros you can travel anywhere on the bus network for the whole day, ask the Driver for an all day ticket) we did think the bar charges a bit steep, however there are plenty of bars and restaurants just outside the apartments to visit.
In the evenings the staff tried valiantly to entertain the guests at the pool bar with karaoke, quizzes etc….but it appears most guests explored further afield and most nights there were more staff at the bar than guests.
Although the Tasmaria is in a central location on quite a busy road there is no noise intrusion whatsoever and the pool area is a lovely peaceful place to be. The cast concrete sunbeds (sounds awful!) are cushioned and are very comfortable and strangely, work really well, nobody was unable to get a bed. The pool is clean and pleasant to be in.
The restaurant did not open this year due to a downturn in visitor numbers in general to the area.
So did it live up to past reviews ?....well I suppose the best way to answer is to ask if we would go back…… I think we probably would…..if they renewed the mattresses!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a pool facing room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of August as a couple. We'd asked for a double bed when we booked, but were given two singles, which seems to be standard now in Europe. We had a lovely, relaxing holiday, but did have a few niggles with the Tasmaria. Firstly, having to pay for the air-conditioning in 40 degree weather is pretty bad-not having it is simply not do-able. So after forking out some of our spending money for this straight away, plus more money for a safety deposit, we then discovered the AC was only in the bedroom and was pretty inefficient. It took ages to start working and the room was never fully cool-doing my hair and make-up to go out of an evening still left me roasting hot, even with the AC on full blast. It's also activated by the large metal key placed in the wall, so no possibility of leaving it on while we were out to return to a cool room! The apartments are pretty basic; I had to hand over another 10 euros to hire a hairdryer for the week, but this was returnable. As mentioned in other reviews, cleaning needs addressing. Be aware that if you stay in room 201 the cleaner seems to start her rounds here, so every morning, was ringing on the bell at 10.15am to come in! I don't know about anyone else on a self catering, summer holiday, but at 10am, we're either asleep, getting ready, or eating breakfast! We asked her several times to come back later, but she just ignored us, barged past, took the bins and never returned to clean it As a result, we never had our sheets changed all week or floors mopped and only had our towels changed once, because we had asked for them!
Bar prices aren't cheap, but as you can only consume their food and drink around the pool, you don't have a choice-for some reason, when you buy 2 cans of soft drink, they give it to you in tiny plastic cups full of ice, and then won't give you the rest of the can which, again, at E3.80 for 2 drinks, mounts up over the day.
Paphos itself is beautiful. I've been many times since the age of 6 when family lived here and the harbour has improved greatly. Sisyfos restaurant, upstairs, on Tomb of the Kings road was a beautiful meal, as was The Farmhouse Tavern on the opposite side to O'Neils bar. Reasonably priced and great quality. Harbour meals are overpriced and not as good as what you get on the side streets and off the beaten track.
Overall we had a lovely holiday, because it's what you make it, and Paphos is amazing, but maybe would stay somewhere else next time where our pockets weren't getting squeezed all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here last year and because it was a great holiday decided to go again. (If anybody has been recently....Brian the Scotish barman has sadly left.)
The apartments are comfortable and situated a 20 minute walk or 1 euro trip on the bus from Paphos. The only negative regarding our stay was that the hotel was not offering food this year and that the family restaurant on the main road is closed for this summer, however saying that, it does have enough bars and very good restaurants locally to satisfy this requirement of everone. We would highly recommend 'Tea for Two' and 'Duomoi' as the best. (And for kids there is also a Mc Donalds & KFC only a 150 yards away.) The road is rather busy but is far enough away from the main complex not to be heard. The pool is clean and the bar is small (but adaquate) and there is always places to sun bath on the very unique sun beds(..with built in parasoles.) We enjoyed it again so much that we have actually booked again to go back in September as it is such a great place to chill out. Note that 'Air con' is highly recommended and is optional once you get there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyTShedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a bit of a mixed review. We had a great holiday but there are a number of things that disappointed us about the standard of the accommodation. We are in no way the type of people that complain, as you get what you pay for, but the level of cleanliness in the 2 rooms we were in were not up to the standard that the reviews had led us to believe. After reading the great reviews on this site we were expecting the hotel to be basic but at least very clean. We arrived about 12:30 am and were greeted by the manager to check in. We were informed that the air conditioning was not in the price of the room so paid 84 euros for that. Be aware of that so you dont get stung if you havent taken enough spending money! We went to the room and partner took off his shoes and the kitchen floor was filthy! The room we had been given just had a balcony overlooking a hedge so we asked if we could change to another room with a view and the lovely lady on reception gave us a choice of keys to look at other rooms. We ended up choosing one overlooking the pool and we paid another 60 euros for it. The benefit was the view and to tell you the truth on my initial move to the room I felt it had been the worst decision we could have made. The handle on the toilet was loose, the door to the bedroom would not shut and the room was quite tired looking. On leaving the apartment I went to close the door over and the handle came off in my hand! I just thought what have we let ourselves in for! However, on reporting it to reception, the door was planed and the door handle put back on quickly. The main issue with cleanliness was the cleaners mop! Each day she would mop around the bathroom and leave dark hairs off the mop on the bathroom floor- we are both fair so knew they were not ours! Yuk!
The rooms are basic and the kitchens are a bit tired looking-the first room we were in near the back of the hotel was a newer room and not as bad, however, as I said, you get what you pay for. The real saving grace of the hotel is the pool area which is really nice. The sunbeds are concrete with thick inlays with a pole in each corner and a canopy that can be drawn over to give shade. You cant move them around but there are quite a few of them if you wish to move. The pool is clean and the pool area is well maintained and the staff take a lot of care in keeping it clean. All the other public areas within the hotel are very well looked after.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much bother for them.
So, all in all, we felt disappointed with the cleanliness of our room but that did not impact on us enjoying our holiday, we had a good holiday, the staff are really friendly and the pool area is great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We arrived as a group of six, family and friends, stayed here from 14th Jul - 24th. When we arrived the first impressions of the hotel were really good, very clean, friendly and overall we found that nothing was too much trouble for them. We did have a room on the first night where the air-con wasn't working and the room was boiling, as we arrived in early hours of the morning we waited and stayed there for the one night, when we reported it we instantly were moved to a better room while they were to fix the air con. However we were told we were able to stay in this new room which was a good room and kept cool throughout the day without the air-con having to be on. The owner and his wife always made sure we were happy with everything and very helpful, but Brian the barman definately made it for us! Sad to say he returned home a few days before we left because he was great!, Naomi who took over is good fun and very helpful, Good Luck Naomi!!. Maids are always busy making sure the apartments and surrounding areas are always clean & tidy, the pool area was first class very relaxing & well kept.
Would definately reccommend the quad and buggy safari was great we went on and off road and got to see some great places we may have not seen in the car. Another great one was the Aphrodite waterfalls was really beautifull and in the heat was perfect for a really cool swim.
I think we would all agree one of our favourite restaurants was San Marino (about a minute walk from hotel!) food was lovely, and good local specialities. Fat mama'a was also great and good entertainment and service.
We hired a jeep for three days which cost 120euros which between six of us wasn't bad! ...and 4x4 necessary as not all roads were acessible by car!
All in all it had a bit for everyone as we had two seventeen year olds who enjoyed the bar street in the evening which wasn't too close but not too far for them to walk either, yet we were also close to quiet and traditional villages.
If we go back we would love to do the 'underwater walkers' experience which we hadn't heard about or had the time for this time around. It looked great and by the looks of it you see alot more than you would snorkelling. We only got home today and already wish we were back there. Would definately reccommend. :D

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yaz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews