We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Paphos”
Review of Lichnari Tavern

Lichnari Tavern
Ranked #24 of 630 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 19
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: JOIN US AND TRY OUR DISHES FRESHLY COOKED ON OUR TRADITIONAL CHARCOAL BBQ!!! **** TRADITIONAL MEAT MEZE IS OUR SPECIALITY **** CYPRIOT HOSPITALITY GUARANTEED!!!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Were here 2 years ago, and it is still a gem! Enthousiastic owner, friendly, explains and takes time to tell You about his food. Great quality, good atmosphere, visit Lichnari when in pafos, you don’t want to miss it!

Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LICHNARITAVERNA, Ιδιοκτήτης at Lichnari Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Frank D. Thank you so much for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor but also for your kind comments. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again. Best Regards. Christos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had read previous reviews of this restaurant and decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed. We were greeted by a welcoming gentleman who seated us straight away. He did say there would be around a 40 minute wait for food as they were busy however we didn’t end up waiting 40 minutes. We ordered the sharing meze which was fantastic. Lots of choice of different meat, dips, salad, bread and the chips were incredible! It was great value for money as the sharing meze was €17 each and we struggled to finish it all.

Definitely worth a visit whilst you are in Paphos if you want to try the local food. It is a family run restaurant and they could not do enough for us.

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LICHNARITAVERNA, Ιδιοκτήτης at Lichnari Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Emma H. Thank you so much for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor but also for your kind comments. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again. Best Regards. Christos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I waited 40 mins for a drink and 1.5 hours for food, and, seriously, these guys know how to destroy a chicken.

To be fair (‍♀️) it’s a low-season Monday. Hopefully they deliver when it matters...

Honestly, though, TripAdvisor, you let me down with this one.

Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LICHNARITAVERNA, Ιδιοκτήτης at Lichnari Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Catherine I.I think you exaggerate about the time.Yes It was a low season Monday but the restaurant was full. You only waited long for the food and we apologized for this but not 1.5 hour. Thank you for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Went here after seeing the trip advisor rating and because it was near our hotel. The staff were really really friendly and attentive. They were able to give us advice on the menu as it was an authentic Cypriot/Greek restaurant and answered all the questions we had about the food. When the food arrived it was tasty and the portion size was good for the price! The chips that came with the mixed grill were amazing and tasted freshly made. They also had a selection of locally made wine at around 12 euros per bottle. Would definitely return it was just a shame we only found this restaurant on our last day.

1  Thank Jenny-G008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LICHNARITAVERNA, Ιδιοκτήτης at Lichnari Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Jenny-G008. Thank you so much for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor but also for your kind comments. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again. Best Regards. Christos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

For those who are looking for local tavern, family owned, with great food and service. Simple decor, focus on the food.

Meat is excellent. Highly recommend, especially if you stay in Amphora hotel, as it is 5 minutes walk.

1  Thank Yariv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LICHNARITAVERNA, Ιδιοκτήτης at Lichnari Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Yariv S. Thank you so much for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor but also for your kind comments. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again. Best Regards. Christos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lichnari Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Lichnari Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing