We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Onar Holiday Village
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Just returnd to Blightly from heaven, heaven being Onar Holiday Village set in the mountains above Kyrenia. What a wonderful place, the gardens must be the best in Northern Cyprus, the views are to die for. Not forgetting our friend the large ginger tom who came for breakfast every morning. The food and service at Onar as excellent, always freshly cooked and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The pool (indoor and out) are kept in tip top condition like all of Onar. There is a free shuttle service to Kyrenia every day with another new min-bus arriving the day we were leaving but taxis's are very cheap anyway. The hotel room was relaxing and adequate for my husband and myself. In the evening or early morning it is relaxing to walk around the gardens with its lovely trees and flowers. We saw the children catered for, and the staff will arrange room service at any time of the day or night. Go and enjoy this place called heaven I have now been spoilt and do not want to go any where else. Cheap flights to South Cyprus now make this holiday cheaper. We have been there many times in the summer months too and can recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Asparagusanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

The one drawback to this hotel is the impossibility of walking into Kyrenia (or anywhere else outside the grounds) but taxis are cheap. Car hire is very cheap especially outside of high seaon. It cost me £63 for a brand new Ford Fiesta for 3 days with nil insurance excess.

The room was comfortable, the views outstanding, and the staff friendly and helpful. Food was generally very good but choice at breakfast was a bit limited. As with everywhere in North Cyprus it is impossible to get a good cup of (non Turkish) coffee. Nescafe reigns supreme.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philtyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Just spent 4 nights at Onar Village. The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The room I had was not luxurious but perfectly satisfactory with a large built-in cupboard, hair-dryer in bathroom - a small problem with the toilet cistern was fixed in a matter of hours. There are no tea/coffee making facilities and there are quite a lot of steps. There are indoor and outdoor pools and various massages and exercise classes are available. Views are very good. I enjoyed my stay. The only thing that counts against Onar Village for me is its location just outside and above Kyrenia( I personally would have prefered to be able to wander round the harbour in the evening) but there's nothing to be done about that.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed here for one week and enjoyed it very much except for a couple of things...
Firstly, the hotel has what must be the best views in northern Cyprus and the views, through the well-tended gardens over the town to the sea is magnificent. However, I think the hotel relies on this too much, we were first shown to a room overlooking the pool in the old block which was decidedly unsuitable - in dire need of refurbishment, tiny bathroom with no shelf space for toiletries etc. and nasty plastic shower curtain over the plastic bath.There was a single wardrobe with about 8 hangers for the two of us and no drawers. The following day we were moved to a better room in the new block. But, be warned - anyone who can't manage steps avoid this place! There are a dozen or so steps up from reception to the hotel itself then two flights to the accommodation blocks and four more flights to our room on the second floor - no lift - and in the intense heat this can prove painful for anyone with joint or arthritic conditions. Our new room was larger and had a nicer bathroom with room for toiletries etc. and glass shower screen. The beds in both room were concrete-hard and the pillows are foam and lumpy. Not condusive to a good nights kip. The cleaning of the room seemed to be on a hit and miss basis (more 'miss' than hit) and the sheets were not large enough to tuck around the mattress sufficiently. These little things could be so easily rectified and make such a difference but seem to be low down on the managements' scale of priorities sadly. The room had two chairs and a small coffee table but there was plenty of room at either side of the bed for a larger chest of drawers or more comfortable chair - just wasted space. However, the outdoor pool area and gardens were immaculate, as were the restaurant facilities, and the food was good if sometimes repetitive. The staff we found to be very helpful and courteous on all counts and nothing seemed too much trouble. The 'once-a-day' courtesy bus was a bit limiting, 10.30 into town, back at 4pm but we used local taxis to get round this. Taxis or a hire car are essential unless you plan to spend your holiday just lazing around the pool. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so take your own kettle etc. The two plastic chairs and table on the balcony are a bit of a let-down but are adequate. The hotel really has the most glorious position overlooking the whole of the bay and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I spent two weeks at the Onar Village. If the point of a hotel is to make you feel welcome and relaxed, then this is a good place to stay. Some of the fittings in the rooms are a little past their best and if this is vital to you then you may wish to go elsewhere. We are vegetarian and they were very helpful, producing some very good non-meat meals that I felt were better than the average hotel fodder. The pools and the recreational areas were well looked after and the flowers and gardens are attractive.
The once a day minibus is a bit of a pain, especially when the driver sometimes like to do errands on the way back in the afternoon, but you can work around this with the use of the occasional taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesdhobson_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
6.4 km away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
257 reviews
2.4 km away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
448 reviews
9.2 km away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,193 reviews
2.5 km away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
909 reviews
2.3 km away
Kemerli Konak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: $54 - $1,829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing