We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Will return"”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport Cheshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“" Will return"”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We discided at the last minute,to take a week's holiday last October. We scanned the web, read the reviews, and found The Ship hotel, half board included lunch (we only took lunch once as we were always out sight seeing).Bedroom was clean, except the room cleaner forgot to replemish the tea and coffee sachets, so we had to go to the reception most day's to be able to have a drink in our room. We tried dinner twice, but was dissapointed at the dull and uninspiring food.The head waiter whoe's name was Zube worked overtime to make you very welcome both at breakfast and on the occation's we had dinner.The hotel's swimming pool and lush gardens were first class.We can both recomend this hotel as a place that is quite and beautiful.

Room Tip: Great Location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DavidOMalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    225
    54
    17
    3
See reviews for
82
278
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Whilst on holiday in Kyrenia we decided to visit some other hotels and do a first impressions review.
Ok this is not actualy completeley true as we first visited this hotel 9 years ago. What has changed, not really a lot. Where it used to be on the out skirts of Kyrenia it has long been engulfed which is not a bad thing as it means there are more local restaurants to chose from.
The hotel is still as clean and well maintained as it was all those years ago and the guests we spoke to there had no complaints whatsoever.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome . Ram at the pool bar has agreat sense of humour although he did admit that he was very tired after a long season of late nights.
Accomadation is of B/B and self catering which is of great appeal to familys.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fredEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

A friend and I booked a last minute cheapie to The Ship when we couldn`t get our first choice hotel. The Ship looked like an english pub in the pictures, and to us that wasn`t a positive. What a lovely surprise we got. We were met by charming driver and taken in a small minibus to the hotel. The room was large and spotless and staff attentive and pleasant and best of all for me the al a carte menu had a good selection of vegetarian options, as did the included lunch menu. The biggest draw back was the large portions as I never managed to get to dessert. My friend, a meat eater, had an enormous choice from menu and although we only ate from the set menu once,(mistakenly believing that the portions might be smaller) that seemed very good value. The roaring log fire in the lounge was a lovely spot to sit and chat when the good weather broke and the storms started. The pool was cold and the indoor jacuzzi was not working which was a shame. But all in all a lovely hotel especially out of season.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bodiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I returned on 2nd November from a one week visit to The Ship with lunch included (we only took this up once as we were always out and about) it was an amazing deal and this was what prompted us to go so late in the season. This was our 8th visit to Northern Cyprus and our second visit to The Ship. The Ship is in a good position just out of town on the main Lapta road...easy to get into town on the very frequent cheap dolmus. As before we had good basic accomodation ( again we had a wonderful mountain view from our balcony), a good breakfast buffet...not exciting but OK. The bar prices are reasonable and the card system of paying is goodThe weather was great-25 degrees- although the pool was really cold at this time of year not at all like our previous summertime visit. Staff all very friendly. We didn't eat in the evening as we wished to visit some of the restaurants we had previously visited and try new ones. Highly recomend Morrelli's just a 10 minute walk along the road to the left of The Ship and Bellapais Gardens with spectacular views up in the village of Bellapais a short drive away. The best place to eat has to be the Kyrenia Tavern(by the small mosque in the Turkish Quarter- near the Fire and Police stations). An older couple and their son produce an amazing array of mezes followed by your choice of main course (you need to order when you book as everything is cooked to order and the lamb takes hours to cook but well worth it) followed by a sweet and a fruit platter...it really is a great experience to eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Travelled with partner on cut price Travelzoo offer. Given amount paid the Ship Inn was a very pleasant surprise. Lovely pool and grounds, clean comfortable room and reasonable food. Road noise minimal thanks to siting of pool and accommodation but 2.00 am cockerel next door a real pain.

Breakfast a comprehensive but unchanging buffet. Half board turned out to be a basic set lunch with no drink (even water) included. Bar prices reasonable and no cash/room card system worked well.

Ate out every evening with £2 kebab wraps from a locals cafe just off main street the highlight.

Hired a car for 3 days and spent night at Golden Beach near end of Karpas peninsula in a rather interesting beach hut. Had the magnificent beach to ourselves.Magic.

Spectacular mountain drive from Besparmak Tepesi to Yayla Tepe another highlight and Kyrenia castle well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Wide variety of rooms. Some in hotel proper or annex, some in 2 storey 4 up 4 down apartments around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireHatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
3.3 km away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#4 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,147 reviews
9.1 km away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
232 reviews
10.9 km away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
344 reviews
6.4 km away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
313 reviews
5.6 km away
Bellapais Monastery Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price range (per night): $59 - $106
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing