We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“rustic, characteristic, yet very much modern”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious and Airy Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort Island Hob to Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort
Island Hob to Living area
Double Bedroom
Entrance to block with Lift to all Floors
Modern designer kitchen
Historic buildings, close to the Old MInt
Dining to Living area
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
Kitchen to Living area
Upper Barrakka Gardens, just a short walk away from Old Mint
Entrance to the block
Modern interior with a Majestic Entrance
Entering the Apartment
Dining area
Stairs from entrance to Apartment
Bathroom
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
From Bedrooms to Living area
Spacious and Airy
Old Mint Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mike O
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rustic, characteristic, yet very much modern”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I tried to book Old Mint 1 for our honeymoon, but since we left it to the last moment, it was already booked. The owner kindly suggested Old Mint 2 which was still free. He told us everything about the property, he answered several emails regarding our concerns, he was kind and extremely helpful. He was also very flexible in terms of our availability and terms, also was kind enough to keep us updated in terms of the payment, and checked in to see if we were happy while we were staying there. Everyone in Old Mint 2 was nice and a pleasure to talk to, from the receptionist to the lady who sorted our check-in and airport transfer. They were always happy to suggest sights, restaurants, means of transportation, anything we could think of. Malta is a charming little island, we had an amazing time there, but Old Mint 2 definitely made it a comfortable stay. The apartment is just like on the pictures, no cheating there, it is very clean and very modern, all the appliances and furniture is modern, anything you'd want from an actual apartment is there. It didn't feel like one of those typical holiday apartments where everything is old and is just there to make some tiny effort towards the guests, this apartment would be suitable to live in, not just renting for your holiday. They have found such a nice balance between the very old characteristics of the Maltese architecture, and modern appliances, it amazed us. It was perfect, we can only recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is very modern and clean, yet they kept the rustic characteristics of Malta's architecture.
Liked least: It did not have a sea view from our apartment, but they did not advertise otherwise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabie_azz
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Old Mint”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the lovely apartment with my partner and another couple. It is situated in a great location right in the heart of Valletta, surrounded by some of the most historic sites on the island. It is ideally located and only a few minutes walk from some excellent restaurants and bars. The bus terminus is a short 5 mins walk and will take you to all parts of the island.

The apartment itself is spectacular, finished to a very high standard with beautiful modern furniture and soft furnishings. It is bright, spacious and airy, the kitchen was fully loaded with all appliances and cooking equipment. Having stayed for 2 weeks, this was ideal as we occasionally cooked for ourselves. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were both very spacious. The bed was comfy and allowed a good nights sleep. Having two bathrooms was very comfortable.

The handover was very smooth. We met Claire, the owner, who was was very friendly and helped with all or queries. A wonderful stay, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful apartment situated in a great location, lift access was very useful.
Liked least: Nothing to fault
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppal360
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was tastefully decorated and provided a very spacious open plan lounge and kitchen.We were within 1 minute walking distance to all the main attractions in Valletta allowing us access to the many restaurants and cafes without worrying about transport. We hired a car to reach all the other attractions in Malta, all within half an hour drive,car parking in Valletta is a little tricky though.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Mint and would recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuckle_b...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing base to explore Valletta”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having heard wonderful things about Old Mint apartments I had high hopes...I leave with no disappointment...I cannot wait to return again!

Our flight was delayed but that did not impact are pre booked shuttle to the apartment.

On arrival we were met and shown the apartment which was perfectly spotless, modern and spacious.

The apartment was totally suited to two couples, the two bathrooms were a bonus and we loved the sliding doors in each bedroom!!!

Location, location, location..... Was AMAZING. So centrally located...5 min walk to the bus terminal...5 min walk to the shops...5 min walk to the Silema ferry!

There is also a well stocked bakery next door who have fresh bread daily and also offer pizza!

We felt so welcome by all we met who help look after Old Mint, I cannot recommend this place anymore and suggest you book now for your trip to Valletta!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We had to go home!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChettleWo...
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yet Another Superb Stay at the Old Mint”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Old Mint and it never lets you down. Last year we also stayed in the Penthouse at the Old Mint which is also superb. Basically the apartments location is spot on being 5 minutes to the Sliema ferry terminal, 5 minutes to the bus terminal and 2 minutes to Republic Street and less than a minute to Guze, the No1 restaurant in Valletta. The Apartment is stylish and comfortable and Claire is so welcoming and is always available if you need any assistance. Next door is Joe Frendo the baker and he also sells food, milk etc, he is a real character and is worth a visit on his own! We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great design and style in perfect location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing