We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment with excellent views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Professor...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment with excellent views”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

WE very much enjoyed our stay at this penthouse apartment. The location in Valetta is very good; the terrace has great views of the harbour and three cities; and the apartment itself is modern and has good facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and views
Liked least: the beds - too sotf
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trip4trip
zurich
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

As the pictures indicate and other reviewers already mentioned: the view is wonderful. Sitting on the balcony you can see the ships float by. Including the largest cruise ships, e.g. the MSC Preziosa. In the weekend there was fireworks at the festa in Zejtun which could be seen from the balcony (binoculars come in handy). Another reviewer mentioned there was no parasol and I didn't see one, so I got one at Homemate. When I mentioned this to Joseph he told me where the parasol was. So now there are two. The balcony gets hot in the early afternoon, it's very nice in the morning and late afternoon.

The main room is very big, with a large dining table and couch. The balcony side is two steps lower, with the result you can enjoy the view from the dining table. The huge glass wall and the glass barrier of the balcony help to keep the full view. Air conditioning worked well. The kitchen has the usual equipment, I mostly used the water kettle and toaster. The only thing that's a bit small is the shower.

The apartment is all on the 3rd floor (4th for Americans), it's 72 steps from the street. In Valletta the streets go up and down anyway, the stairs are just a bit extra. There was nobody else in the building at the time, the other apartments were empty. It's a ten minutes walk to the main bus station. five minutes to Wembly store which has most things you need (also open on Sunday morning).

There are a few minor things to remark on. The door to the balcony slid out of place and couldn't close properly. Joseph said he'll fix it properly soon. The bathroom sink doesn't have a water lock, thus some smell comes out, which is solved by an automatic air freshener. The area around the building is fairly quiet, with the result that any sound is noticeable. There is a church nearby that chimes every 15 minutes. Easy to get used to, except that I didn't understand what the bells meant. In the weekend there are parties in the three cities, you can hear their music. There seems to be a rule that this stops at midnight. The lights in the staircase didn't work properly, only the one at the entry was OK (the switch is hard to find though). The one at the apartment entry is OK, but you have to get in first to switch it on. I hope this can be replaced by a light controlled by a motion sensor. The light switches take some time getting used to, they are grouped many together thus are not where you expect them.

Internet worked very well. There were plenty of towels. A tip: if you take a taxi from the airport (costs 15 euro) let it drop you at the upper Barakka gardens. From there it's a short walk down. If he would drop you in the street itself you'll have to walk up quite a bit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: shower a bit small
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thursday8...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The wonderful view and location really make this a brilliant apartment, and it's fully equipped with all the necessities, a nice TV and sofa set-up for relaxing, and very comfortable beds.
We only had a couple of small negative points which could easily be rectified by the owner - as another reviewer has mentioned, the shower leaks all over the bathroom floor and got quite smelly (the sealant has gone and as the shower is also slow to drain, there's just nowhere for the water to go so we mopped it up with towels). It's a rain-style shower head so there is a lot of water. For the price of this rental, we felt this wasn't really up to standard.
Also, there is a DVD player in the apartment but no remote control for it! Normally we wouldn't have cared about this, but as we'd just gotten married and wanted to view our CD of photos, it was frustrating to not be able to use the machine without the remote (we tried!). We contacted the owner about this via TripAdvisor messaging on the first day of our stay but did not receive a response.
But on the whole, thank you for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen P
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Life-Changing Experience”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived late at night via the ferry from Sicily, but it was no problem. David, our Maltese concierge, was waiting outside the grand old building to let us in, carry our bags up the stairs, and introduce us to the best living space in Valletta.

David walked us through all of the various bells and whistles the penthouse contained (of which there are many). David and Joseph had done the requested grocery shopping for us (essentials for the evening and following morning: bottled water, fresh coffee, milk). Also waiting in the kitchen was a bottle of excellent Maltese wine and a fabulous date tart they had procured for my daughter's birthday. Really thoughtful touches that made us feel like family. David was knowledgeable, kind, warm, and gracious.

The space itself is filled with air and light, and as you look past the kitchen/dining area bathed in sun from a huge skylight, there awaits a floor-to-ceiling panoramic view of the harbor. The apartment is modern, meticulously clean, and outfitted with all appliances and kitchen items one could need. Waking up to see the sun rise over the water while hearing the bells from 100 churches chime, the smell of freshly-baked pastries wafting up from the restaurants below...nothing could compare.

The location, cleanliness, service, attention to detail, views, memories---I give them all a 10. If you are visiting Malta, look no further. This is the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome, the attention to detail, the cleanliness, location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina M. H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular and quiet”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We took the «stairway to heaven» and arrived at Joseph’s spectacular apartment. It is modern and airy with all the important facilities and a big, secluded terrace with a full view towards the harbour. The area is very quiet, so there is no noice from any traffic outside the bedrom windows. Joseph, the owner, was most helpfull and very quick to respond to all our questions.
The only thing in the apartment we didn’t like, were the glass doors towards the bedrooms and the toilet. We all need som privacy…:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing