We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True fine dining”
Review of Risette

Risette
Ranked #6 of 298 Restaurants in Valletta
Price range: USD 68 - USD 171
Description: Risette is an informal fine dining Restaurant set within the elegant Casa Ellul, in the heart of Valletta. With an emphasis on using the freshest produce, Risette's menu changes weekly. The menu combines cultures and methods into dishes which express Chef's passion for flavours together with his mastery of technicalities.
Restaurant details
Description: Risette is an informal fine dining Restaurant set within the elegant Casa Ellul, in the heart of Valletta. With an emphasis on using the freshest produce, Risette's menu changes weekly. The menu combines cultures and methods into dishes which express Chef's passion for flavours together with his mastery of technicalities.
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We had the rice & lobster and foie gras parfait for starters, fowl and NZ beef for main. Starters were about 25€ and mains 35€ each. Foie gras was silky smooth, pieces of lobster well cooked and not gummy at all. Mains contained a bit too much meat (not really a problem I guess), otherwise good. Beef came with cooked onions which were absolutely delicious.

Had peach mille feuille for dessert, with fantastic sour sauce and fresh pieces of fruit inside.

Service was friendly, not intrusive and professional, just the way we like it. Everything was served with proper attention, wine from Riedel glasses etc.

All in all a true fine dining experience, stands up to the standards of any European capital. Take a break from the (not even that cheap) touristic locales and treat yourself with something worth remembering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 167ardih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Ellul, Manager at Risette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Ardi H ,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Such a lovely review with great comments regarding your dining experience at the Risette. Your comments regarding the service and the food are a rewarding read to all our staff.

We would love to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessandro Mazzola
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This is not my frist time eating at this superb restaurant. Me writing another review is proof of my satisfaction with Risette! Mouthwatering food and an excellent service given by experienced staff. Never disappoints!

Thank WallaceSliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Ellul, Manager at Risette, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear WallaceSliema ,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Such a lovely review with great comments regarding your dining experience at the Risette. Your comments regarding the service and the food are a rewarding read to all our staff.

We would love to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessandro Mazzola
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Clearly this restaurant is head and shoulders above others in Malta! Great ambience and the service and food were impeccable. I had the sea urchin and grilled pig. Both were excellent! In the end I had a great dinner and will make sure to revisit when I get the chance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnnykx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Ellul, Manager at Risette, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Janis K ,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Such a lovely review with great comments regarding your dining experience at the Risette. Your comments regarding the service and the food are a rewarding read to all our staff.

We would love to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessandro Mazzola
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

This is a great place to enjoy a nice dinner! The menu is diverse enough to satisfy most tastes. I enjoyed the atmosphere a lot. The dessert was a very nice finishing touch. Highly recommended!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Ellul, Manager at Risette, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Liene N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. Such lovely comments regarding our food and the standard of our service. Your comments are very rewarding to our hard working staff.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessandro Mazzola
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Really tasty and delicate dinner. It is obvious, that the Chef is performing at its best. Each dish is made with pure love and passion. Specially I would like to emphasize the dessert Araguani chocolate tart with Madagascan vanilla ice cream. I can’t recall last time I enjoyed the dessert so much!
Also staff acted professionally and were polite and friendly.
I would like to suggest for everyone visiting Valletta to enjoy fine dining offered by Risette restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Ellul, Manager at Risette, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Laine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at Risette Restaurant . Your recommendations are well received. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Alessandro Mazzola
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Risette also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Risette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing