We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fajitas and Tostadas ”
Review of Tex Mex

Tex Mex
Ranked #21 of 209 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: TEX MEX is Malta's ONLY authentic American Bar & Grill, having moved to our present Chic & Trendy venue on the Sliema Strand. TEX MEX offers an American style menu with some Mexican influence, with a choice of favourite TEX MEX dishes. Although always seasoned accordingly our menu is by no means hot & spicy in it's entirety except for items which are indicated so according to our chili pepper heat meter which allows you to heat up most dishes to your liking by means of specially imported chili peppers & ingredients. The revised menu includes all our classic favorites plus a wider selection of platters, appetizers, chicken, fish & pasta choices all prepared fresh to order whilst our fully stocked bar offers two for one on cocktails daily from 3:00 pm till 7:00 pm! Be it breakfast/brunch, lunch or late afternoon and evening meals the majority of our vast menu is offered all day long from noon with our favourite signature dishes being the Quality Fresh Prime Cut Steaks, Wagyu Burgers & Baby Back Ribs all island famous whilst offering excellent value for money. In fact TEX MEX is open all day hosting djs and live music on most nights. The ambience is the latest in design and decor, lively & pleasant also offering seafront patio dining. Surprise yourself as it is more then just a restaurant, not your cheap & cheerful local but an Uber Bar & Grill based on Quality offering cuisine on the upper echelons of casual dining utilising only the best & freshest of produce, a selection of brand, premium & top shelf spirits served from house level up also utilised in our exquisite cocktails, an array of over 100 wine varietals besides fusing into a lively club lounge ambient wise.
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Good food. Nice ambiance. Goran, the waiter, is nice and fast. Was raining so a good stop to take it all in and let the rain go by.

Thank Howardgaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had dinner here, but did not enjoy the food. The garnishes were brown and the vegetables nonexistent. We did take advantage of the happy hour prices for drinks. It is a very popular place during happy hour for young people.

Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment123, Owner at Tex Mex, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Lucy
We are very disappointed to hear these sort of comments with regards our food. This is not true to Tex Mex in the least and I truly ask you to contact me on info@texmexmalta.com giving me further information please. As you can see the absolute majority of reviews here highly commend our food besides all the awards we currently benefit. We would have never been in business for 22 years and running or gained such popularity by serving what you are describing. In fact we are very passionate about what we do. I would truly like to know what day & time you were with us and what you actually ordered please as serving brown garnishes just does not happen in Tex Mex as all food items are prepared fresh daily and all main courses come with at least two sides included.
If you are still on the island kindly come in and discuss this matter with me personally, of course we are not perfect and bound to err and would have no problem to admit and put matters right in the case of a genuine complaint, did you even bring this matter to managements attention please? Unfortunately the majority hardly ever take up our genuine offer to put matters right, usually as they could be exaggerating or downright malicious so couldn't bother to. I am not saying in the least that this is the case here so please do get in touch. However trying to coax others not to dine with us in your title is hardly etiquette, sorry to say, although it's always easy to say what you want from behind a keyboard.
Yours Sincerely
Kind Regards
Marco Muscat
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

TEX MEX is located on the seaside of Sliema. It has been my favorite venue over period of 2 summers especially for Happy Hour :] which starts from 3pm - 7pm. Cocktails are awesome - it is not just about the design but also about the taste. Prices for cocktails are reasonable. One of the best cocktails I ever had in entire Malta. Also food is delicious if you are into Mexican food. Bit pricey but it definitely reflects the quality of the food. I absolutely love jalisco style beef quesadilla with refried beans and tex mex nachos and also burgers looks fantastic. If you want to treat yourself with dinner and love Mexican food it's a venue number one. If you want to have few cocktails and good craic with your friends never miss out HAPPY HOUR on Cocktails. Overall thumbs up for service as well. Always friendly and happy to help you out with your choice. I can' t wait to be back next year :]

Thank Vendula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The music is a bit too loud.but the food is good. The service could be better, It was good value for money.

Thank charlescaliroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment123, Owner at Tex Mex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thanks ever so much for your genuine and kind review, we truly appreciate it.
Yes the music levels could be high in the bar area which is part and parcel of our concept, offering extra added value for money by means of hosting live bands, djs & animators for the entertainment of our guests. It seems as if you were with us on our popular Ladies Salsa Night, had you availed yourself to a table within our upper dedicated dining areas you would have found that the music levels here are much lower.
I'm sorry to here you weren't satisfied with our staff but they are truly a hard working, educated, well mannered team, of course when they're busy they can't stop to socialise like in your local pub, apologies for this.
We look forward to hosting you again
Kind Regards
Marco Muscat
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Had a very pleasant evening at Tex Mex. Food was very good and good music from DJ as it was ladies night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment123, Owner at Tex Mex, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thanks ever so much for your genuine and kind review, we truly appreciate it and look forward to hosting you again
Kind Regards
Marco Muscat
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tex Mex also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tex Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing