We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,443)
Filter reviews
2,443 results
Traveller rating
533
952
576
246
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
952
576
246
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky room triton restaurant sea view beach club across the road sun terrace outdoor pool tower block sea front evening entertainment half board st julians rooftop bar bed and breakfast basis buffet style bus stop steam room just returned from a week
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 2,443 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Stayed here with my husband for one week in May all inclusive and with a seaview room
This hotel has many attributes but unfortunately the staff is not one of them. We have never had such a dreadful experience checking in anywhere in the world. The staff were completely overwhelmed and could not cope. To detail our experience would take far more space than allowed here. Suffice to say that when we eventually got to our room we went out for something to eat as we were starving and we had been given no
verbal information as to where we could eat despite asking. An absolute shambles would be a perfect description. First impressions count!
Our room in the older part of the hotel was very spacious and even had a small dressing room but the room did lack drawer and hanging space. Plenty of tea and coffe making facilities. The beds were very good as was the cleaning but the furniture on the balcony was dirty. The bathroom could have done with a bit of tlc and there were no shelves for
toiletries. The shower over the bath was good with hot water at all times
The diningroom is very pleasant and the food was always good and hot although the choice was limited. The staff in the diningroom were quite uncommunicative apart from a few exceptions and they are not very good at clearing tables. I would expect the Diningroom Manager to give some greeting on at least one occasion rather than ignoring guests completely. It was however more than obvious who the regulars were as they seemed to get "the treatment". The wines in this hotel are awful and I ended up drinking mostly cocktails which were less than average
The entertainment was okay but was in the Piazza Bar rather than the upstairs lounge which I take it is larger. Why this hotel needs to have a happy hour is beyond me and during this time trying to get served at the bar was chaotic
The facilities in the hotel are really good and the gym was amazing. The indoor pool looked good but it was too hot in there for me. The Beach Club across the road was not properly open when we visited
There are two guys outside the hotel trying to sell timeshares in the newest part of the hotel as far as I could ascertain but I am not sure if they are employed by the hotel or not
The hotel is in a great position and could be top 4 star with better customer focused staff. I do not expect to be treated like royalty but I do expect to be treated as a guest by the people whose job it is to do so
The attitude of the Maltese staff did not reflect the attitude of the Maltese people I spoke
to outwith the hotel who were all lovely

Room Tip: Seaview worth paying extra for
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel is located at the promenade of Sliema faced by the ocean. Pool area is opposite of the hotel little up of the ocean. Lobby is big with cozy sitting areas and bar with piano, turn left you will find another sitting area and a machine with drinks and snacks. Hotel also have a roof top jacuzzi and sun desk. Breakfast room is in the first floor having a buffet. During my stay was not enough stuff during breakfast to handle the fully booked hotel. Guests will find a lot of informations about the island in the lobby. Room was king size for single use, very clean with TV, A/C and sitting area. Some rooms also have ocean view. Many restaurants, shops and ferry to Valetta in walking distance.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A4419PXthomass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Esteemed Guest
Initially we would like to thank you for staying with us during your vacation in Malta, and for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay.
We are thrilled that your stay with us was to your satisfaction, and you enjoyed our great location, and clean spacious rooms.
Our focus is on making our guests have a memorable stay with us, so we are glad our staff were servile and helpful.
To wrap it all up, thank you once again for your time and for recommending us, we aim to give our guests a great vacation which is of value for money!
Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Best Regards
Mandy Grima
Revenue & E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Food has improved significantly from last year.

Room cards had to be reprogrammed on numerous occasions - not for the room but for use in the lift and that was on day one.

Pool only just open, so on our first day we had to leave at 5, which was a shame as the sun was continuing to beam all around the pool.

Subsequently opened until 10pm but not fully established for the season.initially the terrace overlooking the pool was not equipped with sun beds.

Sky room not in use- something we were 't aware of until we tried to go up for a drink- disappointing as this is a key feature of the hotel.we had not been advised.

Suggest some staff need to learn how to smile.

Room Tip: Good room on 8th floor in the old block over.ooming the sea. Paying the extra for sea view is worth while.service4 location 5 cleanliness4
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 385gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Esteemed Guest
Initially we would like to thank you for your positive review.
We are thrilled you have seen an improvement, from previous year, that is what we are constantly focusing on.
The Preluna Beach club officially opens first week of May, obviously depending on the weather, being right by the seaside, every gush of wind is felt and limits our operation. The pool bar opens towards the end of May, and the kitchen opens 1st June. Normally first few weeks are not fully operational, however we thank you for your points and feedback.
Our senior management are kept updated with your feedback and comments,
We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in the near furture
Kind Regards
Mandy Grima
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Room Tip: Sea view room in Preluna Tower was good, apart from poor aircon.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2018

From the moment that I checked in, when it took 10 minutes to pay a 50 cent local tax, to the moment that I checked out, when the hotel tried to charge me €23 for a taxi to the airport so that it included their €5 kick back fee, I can’t express in a few words how poor I thought this hotel was.

A few bullet points;

- My balcony room faced a building 10 metres away which had huge, noisy air conditioning ducts at the same level as my room (6th floor).

- The air conditioning didn’t work. It just moved the warm air around.

- The TV had just one UK channel amongst circa 50. This in a hotel where at least 70% of the guests were from the UK.

- The food in the buffet restaurant was truly dreadful at both dinner & breakfast. Tasteless & lukewarm at best.

- The wine (house rose) absolutely awful!

- Have you ever seen the kitchen staff come out & have their dinners in a restaurant that’s still packed with diners with an hour until service closes?

4 Star? The lower end of 3 Star at best.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
4  Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrelunaHotel, Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Esteemed Guest,
Initially we would like to thank you for your constructive review, following your stay at The Preluna Hotel.
We are sincerely sorry to learn, that your stay with us, did not fully meet your expectations. We strive to offer our guests the best possible experience at our hotel, when visiting Malta.
The management appreciates when, any issues are immediately brought to our attention, so we are able to rectify with immediate affect, whenever possible.
We thank you once again for your feedback, and we do hope that our efforts on improving our services, bring you back to visit us.
Best Regards
Mandy Grima
Revenue & E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews