We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Special house in amazing ancient city”
other travellers have booked this property
A stunning photo of the Medieval city of Mdina.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A stunning photo of the Medieval city of Mdina.
2nd floor right-sided bedroom. 2nd floor left-sided Bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
A stunning photo of the Medieval city of Mdina.
2nd floor right-sided bedroom.
2nd floor left-sided Bedroom.
Ground/1st Floor - Living room.
Ground/1st Floor - Living room.
Ground/1st Floor - study area.
Ground/1st Floor - the dining area.
Ground/1st Floor - the Kitchen.
Ground/1st Floor - the central courtyard and BBQ area.
2nd floor left-sided Bedroom.
2nd floor - ensuite bathroom to the left-sided bedroom. 2 sinks, WC, bath and shower.
2nd floor - ensuite bathroom to left sided bedroom. Toilet and adjoining shower.
2nd floor, left-sided bedroom balcony area.
Photo taken on the 2nd floor from the left-sided bedroom looking at the right-sided bedroom.
2nd floor right-sided bedroom.
3rd floor - ensuite double bedroom with adjoining kitchenette. Honeymoon suite.
3rd floor - ensuite double bedroom with large window overlooking Mdina skyline.
3rd floor - ensuite double bedroom with an adjoining functioning kitchenette.
3rd floor - ensuite shower room.
The roof - barbecue and outdoor lounge area.
Alternate view of the roof barbecue and lounge area.
Agatina's -  the house where we are sure you will enjoy your stay.
The alley way at which Agatina's is located.
Mdina at sunset.
The main Gate of Mdina, with a photo of the underlying public gardens.
Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Morag P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Special house in amazing ancient city”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house offers a rare opportunity to stay within the historic walled city of Mdina. The hosts were very hospitable, more than happy to provide local knowledge. The house is very comfortable and full of character; the various terraces, with views over Mdina, were a particular highlight. There are plenty of good restaurants in Mdina, but if you want to cook for yourself, it is best to find a supermarket en route to Mdina and stock up in advance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkostman7...
Bologna, Italy
1 review
“Great Experience in a Lovely City and Wonderful House”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Some friends and I made a weekend trip to Malta, and couldn't have been happier with this place! This host was especially helpful and welcoming. She provided information for transportation around the island and other interesting location to see during our stay. The house itself was gorgeous, and its location cannot be beat. We enjoyed walking around the narrow streets, and taking in the sites of the town. The rooms were clean and neat, everything was spacious, and made a great home-base for our adventures around the island. My favorite part of the house by far is the roof that gives an incredibly panoramic view of the city, and should absolutely be taken advantage of. I could not recommend this house enough, and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P
2 reviews
“Amazing long weekend in Mdina”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Went to Malta for a long weekend with a group of friends and stayed at Joanne's in Mdina. I could have not picked a more perfect place! First of all, Joanne was a great host. She was responsive to any requests during our time there and met us with a bottle of local wine upon arrival even though it was late in the evening. Next, the house was awesome. The size made it nice for a bit of privacy yet was comfortable for our group of six. The rooftop overlooking Mdina was perfect for a morning coffee. The location was also amazing. It was convenient for traveling around the country over the weekend and it was lovely to wake up in such a beautiful town. I would recommend this home to anyone and would love to stay there again when returning to Malta.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbnick2...
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful home situated in a beautiful city with a very helpful and friendly owner!”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We chose this home for our stay as our daughter was getting married in Mdina and just felt it would work out so well for pre wedding arrangements. We were right plus we also had the added bonus of Joann. She was so very helpful and friendly.
Mdina itself is beautiful and such a lovely place to stay and enjoy life.. We took advantage of the bus services just outside the city walls and found travelling around Malta very easy...so much to see, wonderful restaurants and very friendly people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location in the heart of Mdina”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was traveling with my 17yo daughter for a pre-college trip. We loved the privacy of this location even though it was right in the heart of Mdina so close to everything as well as a few blocks to Rabat. Joanne was a very gracious and available hostess. We unfortunately did not get to meet Andrea as he was traveling. The home is beautiful and large with 3 floors. The rooftop deck is perfect for a quiet enjoyment of the sunset. Plenty of room for a large family. There is no air conditioning which can be an issue during the hot months (though fans are provided) and our only real complaint was that the water pressure in the upstairs shower was non-existent. That really should have been pointed out in advance. The shower on the first floor was just fine so it was not too much of an inconvenience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private location in Mdina
Liked least: No water pressure in the upstairs showers
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for the positive review and the kind words.

Indeed, we apologise for the low water pressure in the upstairs shower. The water pressure for the upstairs shower is generated by a water pump. This is always left on, to ensure that water pressure for the upstairs shower is high and of the necessary quality.

From what I understand, this water pump was switched off during your stay. This water pump is switched on via a regular light switch and it appears that this was accidentally switched off. It is possible that our warning sign advising guests not to switch off this light-switch (to make sure that this water pump is never switched off) might have fallen off or wasn't noticed. A new sign, advising guests not to switch off this light-switch (in order to ensure that this water pump remains on and guarantees high water pressure in the upstairs shower), has been affixed to the light-switch in question. On this basis, we hope this problem will not crop up again and the water pump will not be accidentally switched off.

As other reviews clearly indicate, we have never had any complaints regarding the water pressure to the upstairs shower and hope that this does not discourage any future guests.

We also agree that it can get a little hot in these homes, especially during the summer heat wave that you experienced. We try to mitigate this by providing numerous fans and ensuring that each bedroom has access to a large window to allow for regular air circulation. The fact that the property is built around a central courtyard also should help to cool down the property. Unfortunately it is not feasible to install air conditioning within these old Maltese houses.

We wish you all the very best for your future travels and please do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything.

Best wishes,

Andrea and Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing