We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming old house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 15.

view into courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi
courtyard
courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Morning Room
morning room
Hallway
Staircase
Hallway/Entrance to Morning Room
Mill Room
Upstairs Landing
roof terrace
roof terrace - view to sea
Roof terrace
roof terrace - view to mdina
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
Mdina at night
Back Door
Local beach Golden Bay
Square and St Pauls church in Rabat
View from roof
Mdina Gates
Local beach
Local restaurant in Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Len H
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Charming old house”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It took a while to find the house and we almost got stuck in an alley following Google maps. The friendly neighbours advised us how to go with the car. It took a while to get the keys. It was a neighbour who had them. He was very kind and showed us around. He forgot to point out how to put on the Jacuzzi, but I found out where the control was in the garage. Actually, it is not a Jacuzzi, more like a little whirlpool without bubbles. Anyway, it was very hot weather and unfortunately only one out of three inverters worked. The second one managed to lower the temp from 37C to 34C and the third one did not work at all. However, after some days we acclimatized and managed well. It is a very old house with a good atmosphere. We really liked it. It is a bit pricy and we expected more for to say that is value for money.The owner was thoughtful to bring us the “first day of supply” of water, bread, butter, coffee and tea, which we replaced before we left. All the amenities that were promised were in place. There are three bathrooms in the house, which is good when one has three women in the family. Some suggestions for improvement or to think about being a guest: Get directions if you have a car, so that you will enter from the right direction. The garage is small and we had to reverse to back in the car otherwise the spoiler in the front of the car would break. There are two openings covered with towels/blankets, make sure it stays closed because otherwise you will have a ton of flies around. Some lightbulbs were broken, so make sure that you put on the ones that are working, so that you will find your way around. There is no Wi-Fi and the reception is poor. The neighbour has Wi-Fi so it shouldn’t be a problem to fix it. If it is very warm, there is a roof terrace that is nice if the weather is a bit windy. It is a good location from where to explore Malta. We went around Malta to at least two beaches and two sights every day. There is an ATM at a petrol station close and it is useful because many places (except restaurants) only accept cash. Ask where the trash should be left and when and how the recycle system works. Take a walk to Mdina, as well. It is worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cozy atmosphere
Liked least: That we could not regulate the climate
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Hi Len
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your review.

For the Wifi we don't advertise this deliberately, as its not available. As you said you can pick up my neighbours and all establishments locally have wifi.

I did give direction both google maps and also how to drive around the 1 way, when I sent your arrival details.

The garage is small but if you cant manage there is also parking just to the front.

I will inform my neighbour to fix any bulbs. They were all long life bulbs and were all working when we were last there a few weeks ago.

For the jacquizi pool there is a separate switch for the jets. For other guests info the pool man comes on a Thursday morning if you have any questions for him.

I didn't understand the 2 openings and flies, but I would say that it is a hot climate and we do get them at times

Many Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley m
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second trip to this property and it is one of the best we have ever stayed and found in Malta.We are quite frequent visitors to the island. We fell in love with this house when we stayed last year. The last time we were there was a problem with the pool, but this time everything was working perfectly. The pool even has heating which was really nice as the weather at this time of year is quiet varied we had a high of 20C and a low of 16C so be aware at this time of the year. Everything else was just like last time and the house is a really old typical Malta gem. Please also be aware that the house was a little cold at times, probably due to the climate, however the owners have provided electric oil heaters and we had to leave these on full time during our stay. This home is highly recommended and we might be back again during the summer as l do have some business to attend that occasionally takes us over to Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feel of the property
Liked least: was a bit cold at this time of the year
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
thank you for your kind review

the pool is fully operational for 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley m
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic castle like home”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We recently stayed in this property for a long weekend. This house is by far the best that we have stayed in to date in Malta.
The house was very clean and the quality of the furnishings and décor is outstanding.
We lit candles in the evenings and together with the lighting from the wall and table lamps meant it felt like we were living in a medieval castle.
The kitchen and adjacent dining area are very well presented with plenty of sitting and fully equipped, very different feel to what we have in London. A previous guest/comment mentioned the kitchen lighting but we actually found that we needed to reduce the lighting somewhat to get the full dramatic lighting effect.
The owners even provide items for the beach such as towels, umbrellas and deck chairs.
Our only disappointment was that the pool is not operating, but the owners had let us know about this before our stay.
We have already booked our Christmas vacation to stay again and we would absolutely recommend this holiday home to anybody else looking to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall feel of the home
Liked least: wifi would have been a bonus, but to be fair was not advertised
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJacquet
Paris, France
1 review
“Nice old maltese house for family holidays”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent 10 days in Mdina in October in this house and all the family was really happy to discover Malta through such a traditional stone house. Only 1 point to be improved : wifi could be useful !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: wifi absent
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southofen...
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Unassuming outside, wouldn't stay here again ......”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This house is lovely inside with a great location but:

The only positive side: The house is very old and cool in the Malta heat with a lovely central courtyard. It is ideally located in Rabat (not Mdina as suggested by the owner/TripAdvisor).

Starting with the simplest of negatives:

Although the property was pretty it lacked adequate lighting especially in the kitchen (which was like a cave and you couldn't see to cook) and there are no lights (even table lamps) adequate to read from. Also there were a few lights missing or not working at all.

The beds were not made up properly and the sheets didn't fit (you ended up sleeping on an uncovered mattress ) and the linen (including the towels) were old and needed replacing

There were 6 of us staying in a house rented for 7. There were only 4 chairs for the dining room table and we had to use outside chairs from the courtyard.

Kitchen - woefully inadequate. Not a sharp knife in the house, lots of miss matched cutlery, dinner ware and pots/pans. In fact, the coffee maker (which rested on the stove top) was positively dangerous as it didn't fit on the hob. The fridge had a nasty smell when we got to the house (it had obviously been switched off and closed - the odour took over a week to go). The cupboards were not clean and there was residue cereal in one. The last straw was when the sink leaked, resulting in mopping up every time we washed dishes. It also took a few messages to the owners to trace how to put on the hot water to the kitchen.

Bathrooms - these were adequate (once you had sorted out how the hot running water worked). However, the sink in the main bathroom took a long time to drain out and the bathrooms hadn't been cleaned (resulting in us having to clean hairs etc from drain holes).

The plunge pool, unfortunately, was not working and had a leak (however the owner advised us before we went and compensated us for this).

There is a great cinema room (which only plays DVD's and there is not TV) which needs to have a set of instructions (none supplied). There is also no wifi in the property (one thing we often look for in properties we rent).

There were no booklets inside the house (which was advertised on TA) about local attractions and amenities and there were no instructions for any of the appliances (aircon, DVD etc). The iron was dangerous and had exposed wires where to top of the iron came away from the bottom. Any drawers or cupboards we looked in to try and find information were full of junk.

To top it all the electricity was disconnected on the final Wednesday of our stay and, although we had candles, there was insufficient light even in the day. We advised the owner who informed us that the disconnection was a technical glitch on the suppliers side (even though there was a letter pushed through the door that the electricity had been disconnected due to arrears). In the evening, due to the lack of light, one of our party fell over the bannister on the tight spiral staircase (resulting in an ambulance being called out and she was hospitalised). We were told by the electrician (who eventually came at midnight - after an all day outage) that 'we should have paid our bill!' The owners did not follow up the day after to ensure all was well with the electricity supply. The owners are very fortunate to have a local neighbour was very helpful as he called the ambulance for us and dealt with the electricity men who came to reconnect the electricity when the ambulance was there. If it hadn't been for him it would have been very difficult organising the ambulance and the reconnection of the electric. We had no communication from the owner the following day after the electricity was reconnected. When we advised them that one of our party had been injured we had a message that stated 'I have sent you a text please refer. I would ask for no further correspondence from yourselves. .....'!

I would not recommend this property because of the general upkeep and inadequate facilities. Whilst I appreciate this is an old property this doesn't mean that the general conditions can be ignored. It has been a real disappointment to us all that a holiday let, which could have been perfect, was let down by its owners. More thought about the facilities and the qualities of the accommodation would have made an ideal rental. We have stayed in other accommodation in Rabat/Mdina and found them excellent. It is a shame the property did not come up to our expectations and I wished I'd taken note of the other reviewers comments dating back over 2 years. It appears their comments and issues have been ignored and never dealt with. Avoid at all costs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: owners responses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
This is a malicious review, that was placed after we refused to refund further monies.

I will only respond to the main points.

We do apologise for the Iron, it was usable but we never had time to swap out this will be done prior to the 2016 season.

Location, we are in the original environs of Mdina, If you take the current definition, we are a couple of minutes walk to the current boundary.

As regards the linen this is ridiculous, there must be 15 to 20 or so sets of bedding (all high quality from Laura Ashley etc in the UK) at the property, so if something wasn't quite right (1 bed is an antique carved walnut French design so its a slightly odd mattress size and another bed was imported from the USA, this is bigger than any typical UK sizing its king size plus) please revert to the linen cupboard and swap something). each year we add to our linen collection there were at least 2 or 3 new sets last year.

There is no TV or Wifi at the property (Wifi is available in all the local cafes/restaurants) this is as advertised/detailed. There is however a very impressive DVD/large screen cinema set up (see property photos).

You will find in the property an information pack, its normally in the magazine rack or sometimes previous guests have put it in the dresser in the dining room. We have collected many local relevant magazines travel info etc and this has been deliberatly left for the convenience of clients.

The dining room has a large very large Oak table with matching 4 chairs. For larger groups there are at least 10 other suitable chairs around that just need to be added to the table if required.

As regards to the cleaning this is completely untrue, for this rental we cleaned the property ourselves the day before the clients arrival and the whole house was immaculate, and the fridge was perfectly clean I would suggest something that the clients stored led to this as we have never had issues with the fridge.

There is a mention of the kitchen having inadequate lighting. There is a powerful overhead ceiling light and in addition a direct extractor/ hob light, and other lamps located for effect. This also relates to the problem of lamps in the property and as stated we were at the property ourselves immediately prior to their stay, so in this instance we know every lamp was working and also note each bedroom has bedside tables with lamps . In regards to lighting etc at the property and for full transparency for other potential guests, we have now included night time photos of the property, judge for yourself.

As regards to the electric problem, the power was off for a few hours and of course we are sorry this happened. This was actually due to an Enemalta billing issue due to timing of our bill being sent to us in the UK. Within a few minutes of the problem being highlighted to us we had an agreement with Enemalta that the power would be immediately restored. There is no mention in the review that we corresponded with the client on this matter and that they were informed that in case power was not restored we offered for the clients to be re-located to a local 5 star hotel at our expense. This offer was not taken up, so make your mind up what really happened. As regards to the electricity supply being restored at midnight this is preposterous where is the world would this happen !

With regards to the blocked sink my neighbour, came in immediately that is was flagged/identified and he remediated, he informed me that the blockage was caused by the clients directly disposing of spaghetti down the sink, not a particularly clever/intelligent/pleasant operation/behaviour.

Please read further to get a more truthfully/honest set of reviews.

Note for the 2016 season we are hoping to have (If our local builders don't let us down) a new roof terrace sitting room with views across the island with distant sea views.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing