We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable taster tour”

SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 68.33*
and up
Full-Day Gozo Island Tour from Valletta
Ranked #183 of 214 Tours in Island of Malta
Attraction details
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSResortServices, Manager at SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"craft centre"
in 3 reviews
"gozo tour"
in 4 reviews
"places visited"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"blue grotto"
in 2 reviews
"rabat"
in 7 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

The bus finally turned up 30 minutes late and things didn't improve. The driver was forever arguing with the tour guide and was even swearing at other drivers. One of our party was disabled and he tried to pull her on the bus which resulted in her cutting both shins and then he called her useless.

Between the guide and the driver we were taken down many wrong turns and ended up not being able to go into the dome at Mosta. The main problem started with the fact that the two disabled ladies on the tour had not been advised how much walking was to be done in Valetta. My wife and I were left to look after them whilst the guide swanned off into the distance with everybody else. We ended up missing half the 5D film which was the only reason we went to Valetta in the first place.

After missing the dome and lunch, we were then taken to Dingli Cliffs in the pouring rain when we could have skipped this (they were not even impressive, and had more time in Mdina which was the real highlight.

On the way to Dingli the bus had to make a hard left and we were stuck there for nearly 20 minutes whilst the guide & driver got cars moved and directed traffic. The driver even managed to hit a car, set off it's alarm and damage the rear bumper.

Overall very disappointing and we ended up getting a 50% refund from our tour company as they had 10-12 people complaining about the whole fiasco.

4  Thank pajoph57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSResortServices, Manager at SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear pajoph57,


Thanks for your comments.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our tours. Unfortunately on that day it was raining very hard in Malta and all transport was stuck due to heavy traffic jam.

I can assure that we do our best to assure that all clients would enjoy our tours.




Many thanks

Nathalie








Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed 2 tours recently, Gozo one day and Malta highlights the following day. We were lucky enough to have Doris as our tour guide on both excursions and must express what a wonderful time we had on both tours. Doris was a fantastic tour guide, very friendly and approachable and has an excellent knowledge of the history and culture of both Gozo and Malta. Even though the weather wasn't great she was upbeat and kept smiling throughout and even dealt professionally and politely with a couple of difficult cutomers who complained about the weather!
Fantastic tours and great company to book with. Would definitely recommend them and will be booking again with them next time we visit Malta.

3  Thank TroutyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSResortServices, Manager at SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear TrouthMac,

Thanks for your positive feedback and very glad that you have enjoyed our tours.

Hope that the next time that you would visit our island again we would be able to be of service to you again.


Many thanks


Nathalie



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Well... where do I begin???

In short AVOID THESE “TOURS”

Firstly we ended up on this shambles of a tour after being blindsided by a rep who got our details off the Expedia hotel transfer booking we made when we booked our hotel.
Barely after checking in, we were given a time to meet our “rep” in the hotel bar. After turning up 15 minutes late to meet us, we were conned into handing over €220 for a trip of Gozo and Malta.

Two days later we arrived at the pickup point at 8am (7am uk time given we had barely adjusted to CET) and waited in the cold (gales on the island this particular day) for 25 minutes. We were given a number to ring if the bus was late which happened to ring out and showed on screen as a Hungarian landline.

Shortly after the bus arrived nearly 30 minutes late. Fast forward two hours believe it or not and we arrive at the ferry port to Gozo. Amazing given it’s 6km away from the hotel.

Once at the island of Gozo we are taken to an ancient temple where the “guide” skips the entire museum only to point at a picture and say “this is what a woman looks like”... speechless we all move down to the site and get a total of 10 minutes to look before back aboard the bus and taken to a shoddy craft shop for thirty whole minutes.

Once back on the bus we get a total of 15 minutes to look at the former window to the Azores. Given that it takes five minutes a time to get off the bus and back on, we all rush across the cliffs to get a quick photo before rushing back aboard and waiting for the guide who five minutes later wanders out of the church.

We are then taken to “lunch” which is a specially arranged meal out the back of a side street restaurant. I’ve had better food from dodgy away pubs in the midlands Sunday league who dish out the leftovers while attempting to hide their smug grins.

After lunch you are “told” to go watch a movie for 30 minutes although thanks to a previous review that described it as a PowerPoint (partly the reason of our holiday is to get away from PowerPoint presentations) we decided to become the naughty kids and politely advise the guide that we would swerve the presentation. “Go to the citadel” was the blunt and surprising response of which we and several others followed due to the sheer lack of any sights seen so far. By far the best and most impressive part of the day (if you’re reading while on this trip, run to the citadel!!! You won’t regret it)

Once back at the meeting place we are then marched down to the car park for 10 minutes across oncoming traffic and told that we are going to the ferry whilst bizarrely being issued with tickets.
At the ferry port absolute comedy ensues as two thirds of the trip end up on a ferry while the few left behind and the guide are stuck in Gozo.

Once back on Maltese soil, we wait for nearly an hour until the guides arrive (all three of them for three coaches) and it transpires that not only our tour but two others were sent across see without supervision. It turns out that several resorted to public transport or caught a cab due to this shambles ending on an absolute low.

Once back on the bus we were told “they split my group” over the ear splitting microphone by the guide however not any sense of remorse or apology for the disaster that took place all day.

Now for Malta “Highlights”

Picked up at 8:15 after supposedly an 8am pickup, we then went on a tour of hotels stopping to literally wait while the “guide” enters each hotel to drag passengers out of bed. Funny the first time however after the fourteenth hotel and two hours later it starts to grind.

We then are taken to a 5d showing of the history of Malta which is alright I suppose however the day goes rapidly downhill when a second group with an English translators turns up late and we are told we have to wait for them to watch the film.
This leaves nearly 50 of us of which 40 are in their 50’s and 60’s stood on a steep hill in the street with traffic passing by.

When the second show is finally over, we then walk back to the bus and are divided into two groups depending on your mother tongue and driven out of Valletta to a glass making “show”.

The reality is that this is another gift shop with a Furness on view and the staff clearly on their lunch break. Due to the heat, several buy ice creams but are told they can’t take them on the bus and that the bus is due to leave to visit... you guessed it.... another gift shop.

By now (12:30pm) we have been on the “highlights tour for FOUR hours and visited two gift shops and watched a 15 minute video.

The second gift shop was a jewellery shop where as I refrained from entering, I witnessed the entire group being literally locked in and a woman guarded the door preventing people leaving. My partner managed to escape after only 5 minutes and we then boarded the bus a further 20 minutes later.

We were then told we were going to lunch and then would be taken to Mdina however quickly calculating time scales which were confusingly announced over the microphone, it would leave only 20 minutes to explore the ancient city.

Out of pure curiosity (plus the fact the guide marched everyone up the hill like a military trainer) we arrived at a dirty looking side street restaurant where they started to shoehorn everyone into seats.

At this point it was one step too far and we made our escape which at 1pm allowed us to save our day and enjoy lunch at the glorious tea room at the highest point of Mdina while casually exploring the cathedral and surrounding areas.

Ironically while heading back to the bus station to catch the €2 bus to Valletta, we saw the guide marching through on the 20 minute tour at full pelt.

If you want to view the sights and explore the island, you can do much better by simply catching the local bus.

Don’t fall for these scam artists, thankfully we have trading standards in the UK

3  Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSResortServices, Manager at SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Charlie L


Thanks for your comments.


Kindly can you contact us on tours@sms.com.mt with more details like date of tour and name of guide so we can investigate further.

We can assure you that we try as much as possible to find the best available guides in Malta to accompany clients on our tours.

Many thanks


Nathalie Buhagiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The day started with our pickup being 30 mins late. A tour guide who was abrupt and gave no detail about anything we saw. No times given at stops lead to people not knowing when to be back. Not enough time at any stop. Passengers were split up on the return trip from Gozo which left half of us waiting for nearly an hour for the rest to join. This lead to a large portion of people making their own way back. All in all a waste of a day and around £100 which could have been better spent.

1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSResortServices, Manager at SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Claire W,

Thanks for your comments.


Kindly can you contact us on tours@sms.com.mt with more details like date of tour and name of guide so we can investigate further.

We can assure you that we try as much as possible to find the best available guides in Malta to accompany clients on our tours.

Many thanks


Nathalie Buhagiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to SMS Group - S Mifsud & Sons Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing