We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
391
56
15
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
56
15
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murray family afternoon tea dining room four poster bed log fire first class country house excellent food prince rupert sandwiches fine dining wedding anniversary head chef st clements a real treat lovely grounds high standard
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

We did the New Year’s Eve package black tie event.
We went with friends and family the food is incredible . The staff are excellent . We stayed in a variety of rooms between us . My parents stayed in the room outside which is extremely private quaint but also very small with no drawers so they had to leave those items in the case. They had a hanging area downstairs .
The food kept coming and you couldn’t fault a single course in the end we actually missed out if the cream tea in our package as we were too full .
As part of the package they had clay pigeon shooting the chap who ran this was great knew his stuff and sorted my shooting out , I went from not being able to hit a side of a barn to 9 out of 10 clays
The bar prices are ok apart from the wine is steep. They need a house wine of less than £20 for us mere mortals.
An unforgettable trip but very expensive . If it’s in the budget do it.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ilovefoodalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Ilovefoodalot2

It was lovely to meet you all at New Year and to welcome some of your party back again. It is always so special for us and when guests return again and again over the years. We have taken note about the chest of drawers. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed for the 3 day Christmas break in the wonderful old slice of England. The rooms were excellent. The staff very helpful and friendly. The food was so consistently good that we nearly expired from overeating. This is a five star experience. The weather was dire but you really can't blame the hotel!
If you can afford it this is a fabulous experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Adrian P

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas with us. As we have a house party feel here at Christmas, it is always such a joy to us if everyone enjoys themselves! We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

excellent period hotel set in lovely countryside with attentive and helpful staff and good food - we stayed in one of the period rooms which was reached through the very large first floor lounge/hall - quite wonderful!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear 2008

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

What can I say we had a fabulous lunch, the staff were very accommodating, no problems with my husband being gluten free. It felt like we were having a private dining experience as there was only two tables for lunch. All dishes were very tasty and I would say my favourite was the chocolate melt in the middle tart, so warm and gooey and I am not the biggest chocolate lover. Would highly recommend a meal, very reasonably priced in a fabulous setting.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lornas483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Lorna S

Thank you v ery much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We had a short stay with our dog and ate in the restaurant. Room was very comfortable with all necessary facilities. There were only a few guests so dining was quiet but the service and food were excellent!
We had a lovely couple of hours chatting with the owners who made us feel so welcome - it was just as though we were private guests. It was so nice to hear the history of the family's ownership. Lovely open fires in the public rooms completed the picture of a country house in winter.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Head_H0nch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Head_Honcho

Sorry I'm so late in answering your lovely comments but I'm delighted that you had a good time with us. Your comments are particularly nice for us as who whole idea is that guests fell that they are in a private house but with top quality service and food. So thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews