We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lee Penn

Our self-contained apartment is part of a listed Georgian Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our self-contained apartment is part of a listed Georgian Farmhouse
Wood-burning stove, perfect for cosy nights in. Large traditional and comfortable sofa.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Our self-contained apartment is part of a listed Georgian Farmhouse
Wood-burning stove, perfect for cosy nights in.
Large traditional and comfortable sofa.
Our french inspired bedroom with a Scottish twist!
Built in wardrobes provide ample storage space.
Fully equipped open-plan kitchen.
Our luxury shower-room with large walk-in shower and under-floor heating.
The Eastgate Theatre in Peebles
Neidpath Castle outside Peebles
Traquair House, the oldest continuously inhabited house in Scotland
Peebles on the banks of the River Tweed
Loch Skeen - just a taste of the stunning scenery on offer
Mountain biking at the world famous Glentress Forest
Friendly pubs
Have a pamper day at award winning Stobo Castle Spa
Autumn colors at Dawyck Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cardrona, Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ジュニア ジ
1 review
“The Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thank you Lucy for making our honeymoon the best. From the moment we booked until the end, Lucy provided us with all the information we needed, how to get there and what to do; a perfect host. There was a lot of information provided in the cottage for activities to do in the area. I just wish we'd had more time there. The cottage was beautiful, very clean and everything you could need. Free wifi was a massive bonus. Out of the windows all you could see were green hills. Excellent for walkers, runners, cyclists and dreamers like me. Only a half hour drive from Edinburgh... a big tip for anyone going to Edinburgh who drives - use the park and ride just outside the city as you will save a lot of money on parking in the city. We will definitely be staying at Lee Penn again very soon and we can't wait! Thank you Lucy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area where the cottage was. In the peaceful hills but close to Edinburgh city still.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Lee Penn and I am so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon here. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future - perhaps for an anniversary visit?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Bring your bikes next time and I can show you those routes we discussed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nadine F
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had another great stay at Lee Penn home away from home. Great location for a few days cycling a the Tweed Valley also Lucy is a tremendous host - will defo be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Thanks for your very kind review and delighted to see you both again for another visit. Hope to see you again next year for the hat trick!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah W
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really fab little find.”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

There are loads of things we loved about Lee Penn:
1) Super comfy bed and luxurious bedding
2) Excellent shower - very important after a day mountain biking
3) Really spacious
4) Wonderful log burner
5) Washer
6) Lots of crockery

We only had two negatives:
1) There was no welcome pack. There was nothing to suggest there would be so I can't complain. But in our experience, the best places we've stayed have had a complimentary basket with some local produce, maybe some eggs and a pint of milk in the fridge. We'd only travelled from Mabie Forest so dropping our bags and heading straight to the shops for supplies wasn't a problem but if we'd come straight from home I think we'd have been in desperate need of a cup of tea and a snack.
2) The apartment is over looked on two of the three windows - the area is really quiet so it wasn't a massive problem but it would make me think twice about going again.

That said, Lucy and David were excellent hosts and we really enjoyed our stay so would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, Log Burner, Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Many thanks for your kind and useful review. For many years in other properties I did provide a welcome pack but found that generally many of the products got left and therefore wasted. Do you provide brown or white bread, margarine or butter? what flavour jam, tea bags - Earl Grey or Typhoo - I would leave semi-skimmed milk to find it left in favour of full-fat, a bottle of white wine left and empty reds in the recycling! - the list goes. In the end to reduce waste and overall costs I decided it would be best to leave tea bags, coffee and sugar and focus on keeping the rental rates down instead. Having compared the standard of accommodation with similar properties locally I believe I have managed to do this. I will certainly re-think the welcome pack idea though and see what I can do - certainly I agree a cup of tea and a biscuit is a must after a long journey - I do want our guests to be happy! I am glad you enjoyed your stay though and would love to welcome you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Hi Hazel. Many thanks for taking the time to review Lee Penn. I am sorry you were disturbed by some neighbours during your stay as it is normally such a quiet place and I appreciate staying in accommodation which forms part of the main house is not to everyone's taste - we do try to make this clear in the Holiday Lettings entry. Anyway it was a pleasure to have you staying with us and I do appreciate your very positive comments regarding the interior. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing