We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
185
335
196
63
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
335
196
63
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationdual carriagewaybeansbudget hotelthe sofa bedroad noisefree wifichannel tunnelbreakfast was includedovernight stopquiet roomfamily roomwould stay againgood nights sleeppleasant staypark and rideplenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The hotel is in the highway and rooms were close to the main road, so you cannot but hear the noise. the rooms are small but quite ideal for the purpose. The staff are friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was good so was dinner and affordable. Not far from the town center.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wasilat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel the night before we took the ferry back home.
Positive: Breakfast is included and okay. The room was clean. The shower curtain didn't try to sneak up on you when you showered.
Negative: In comparison to every other HI Express that I have stayed at in England (and I stayed at quite a lot of those) this one can't keep up at all. The room we stayed in was rather small. There was a shower curtain which is always not really appealing. There's no lift and no a/c - which wouldn't be a problem if the A2 didn't run right outside the window. Even if the window is closed it's really loud. Most of these things - even though I didn't like them - cannot be changed easily. The one thing that could be changed and that I was really annoyed by before I even set foot into the actual hotel is the parking policy. In not one other HI Express in the country did I have to pay for parking. This hotel charged 3 pounds per night and as it's located next to the A2 where there's nothing around it except a petrol station you neither have a chance to get there without a car nor park your car elsewhere and walk back to the hotel from there. As far as I can tell there is no reason for the charge except for the fact that they know that you don't have a choice to park there and therefore pay.
I won't stay at this hotel again. There are other HI Expresses that are at least as conveniently located for the ferry as this in which I had a far better stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinaR329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Clean rooms with daily maid service. Breakfast menu same every day but adequate. However the dining area was cramped & sometimes had to wait in an adjoining area to get in. Plenty of parking but why pay £3 per day? It was most unlikely that anyone would arrive any other way than driving because of the hotel location. Coffee/tea making facilities in room but annoyingly no electric plug nearby so had to carry kettle etc across room to enjoy this The staff were pleasant & helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Some noisy rooms on main road side. Friends had to ask to change rooms because of that. Hotel did so without hesitation.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Standard Holiday inn express with clean, functional room. Unusually this express had evening meals with a fairly decent menu. Thanks for the fan in my room as it was roasting outside.
Plenty of parking and adjacent to a petrol station with Spar shop.
I have to commend the young trainee receptionist/waitress/bar tender & cleaner. The young lady put a real shift in always with courtesy and a smile and was everywhere.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is on the A2 so if you have a car it is ideal for exploring Canterbury or local area. It is about five minutes into the city if traffic is light.

The hotel itself is a great base and has basic facilities. The breakfast is fine and plentiful. Gluten free toast available upon request. Car parking is extra but not overly expensive. Absolutely fine as a bed for a night or two and breakfast.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews