We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of The Woolshed Cafe

The Woolshed Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Sanson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 13
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A quick stop for lunch and what a good idea.
A great team working there.
A good selection of food and drinks.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank BrendenM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P, Owner at The Woolshed Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great customer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

This cafe is conveniently located on State Highway 1; just out of Sanson, so an easy stop for north or south bound travellers. Delightful rural location and plenty of parking. Lovely food, attentive service with a smile, and excellent coffee worth going back for a second one. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P, Manager at The Woolshed Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you Jilli, most kind!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We came in for breakfast and we were not disappointed. I had a Mexican rice salad which was in the cabinet. Very tasty and great serving size! My partner had eggs bene, it came out super quick. We were really pleased with the food and service we received here so cannot wait to come back. We did notice it was starting to get very busy as we were leaving so it must be good.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank See-an-a-looney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Having been here half a dozen or so times in the last year I have to say this place always does good food, has friendly service and the food is always delivered fast.

Never had a bad meal or bad experience yet. Our go to local for a brunch or lunch out

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P, Manager at The Woolshed Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Cheers Penny, support of locals always appreciated, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

I have a couple of pet hates ...one is getting served the coffee before the food. The other is food coming from the kitchen in a dribble. Why can’t cooks serve meals at the same time....some Asian meals can be shared and it’s ok .... but not so good at a cafe. Regardless of how good the food may or may not be, it ruins the experience.
So it was at this place and I won’t go back. I’m not in the least interested talking about the food ..

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Rodney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P, Owner at The Woolshed Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi Rodney, addressing your question for any readers out there, very simply it's all about workload. When it gets too busy there will be timing issues with food/coffee arrival. Readers will note we have a lot of positive comment on our timeliness and we work very hard on getting meals out quickly and coordinated cabinet/kitchen meals together. As these two come from different areas/people plus coffee from a third person, there will always be some timing discrepencies. We would remind anyone that if you are in a busy cafe, bearing in mind we have no control over the arrival of customers, that you should expect this possibility.
For those such as yourself, we have buttons on the till that can request various timing options on coffee delivery and a "Meals together" to coordinate cabinet/kitchen meals.
Thanks to those that read this far! Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woolshed Cafe also viewed

Sanson, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Bulls, Rangitikei District
 
Bulls, Rangitikei District
Sanson, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Bulls, Rangitikei District
Bulls, Rangitikei District
 

Been to The Woolshed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing