We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and organized guesthouse”
Review of Guesthouse Steig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Steig
Ranked #4 of 14 Vik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very clean and organized guesthouse”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Went to holiday with family, 7 people rented 4 Rooms for 2 nights. All the rooms are very clean, good power hot shower, comfy bed. Breakfast are continental, with ham, cheese, toast, range of cereals and spreads, salad and egg. Staffs are very polite and friendly, made us feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    88
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
120
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent one night here. It looks less than appealing from the outside but it is gorgeous and modern on the inside! Well-polished hardwood floors and nice overall decor. There's also a common room and kitchen space for those who want to cook.

SERVICE: Reception was fine. Staff was polite and the lady at the front desk was easy to speak to and offered advice, assistance and maps.

LOCATION: The location is fine. You're close to a number of nice sites and may be able to catch the Northern Lights through your window if the conditions are ideal. Not much of a view otherwise.

ROOMS: The rooms were simple and clean and the beds were comfy although be warned that two combined twin beds are not as easy to separate as they would have you believe. The room was well insulted and rather hot even though we had turned off the heat. The bathroom wasn't really practical as there was no divider between the shower area and the rest of the bathroom. Once you take your shower, the whole bathroom floor will be wet and you'll need to walk around in flip-flops! Wireless connection was fine.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was very, very basic but the staff was attentive and made sure to replenish the fruit, hot water, bread etc.

VALUE FOR THE MONEY: I think that this place provides you with good value for the money although it was pricier than I would have liked.

I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Save a few bucks and get a room with shared bathroom. Bathrooms are right next to those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehfxgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poederlee, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was with my 14 years old son in Iceland during the Christmas period. The day before Christmas-evening, we had a serious car problem. The weather was very bad so they could not send us a new car.... So we were stuck for a few days.... The family of Steig has done the very best to enjoy us. At Christmas evening, we had the honor to celebrate Christmas with this lovely family.... We never will forget the hospitality, we never will forget this warm and nice family....
I will recommend this B&B to every-one, great local food, nice and clean rooms, and very good service....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Rooms are functional, clean well sized. The place so completely lacks atmosphere that I would discourage anyone to stay here for more than one night. It is conveniently located, but quite overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere In
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was a wee bit skeptical when I drove up to the Guesthouse Steig. It seemed to be miles from anywhere and it looked like a very basic farmhouse from the outside. When we got closer we were greeted by Skotta a very well-mannered border collie, who did not bark but came up and waited for the obligatory pat on the head before she escorted us to the front door.

We entered a foyer and was greeted by the very kind and friendly Ásrún the proprietor of Guesthouse Steig. Ásrún showed us to our spotless room and showed us where the community kitchen, and television lounge were. She also gave us tips for preparing Íslensk Kjötsúpa (Icelandic Meat Soup) which we had fallen in love with during our stay. In spite of being busy Ásrún seemed able to accommodate and trouble shoot the variety of requests and concerns of her many guests with plenty of good will and a lovely sense of humour.

Our double room consisted of two single beds in the Icelandic style. The mattresses were new and the room was quiet. We had a view of the sheep in the meadow and the Atlantic Ocean beyond it. We were situated near Eyjafjalla Glacier.

We wanted to try riding some Icelandic Horses and Ásrún was able to tell us which stables were open during the shoulder season in the evening.

Our breakfast was the usual Icelandic breakfast buffet with the basic skyr, cereals, cold meats, juices coffee etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vik hotels
10.3 km away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
14.7 km away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
521 reviews
10.3 km away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
2.5 km away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
478 reviews
1.9 km away
Farmhouse Lodge
Farmhouse Lodge
#2 of 11 in Vik
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steig

Property: Guesthouse Steig
Address: Steig, Vik 871, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Vik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vik
Price range (per night): $180 - $354
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated on a farm in Steig, 5 km from Dyrholaey Cliffs. It offers a communal kitchen and TV lounge, plus traditional Icelandic food in the restaurant. Guesthouse Steig’s rooms are decorated in light tones. Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathrooms. Some rooms offer views of the Eyjafjalla Glacier and Atlantic Ocean. A free internet computer is found at reception. Outside, children can see sheep, hens and ducks up close. Skogar Museum is 20 km from Steig Guesthouse. Shops, a swimming pool and Vik's black, basalt sand beach are 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Steig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing