We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic walking food tour”

The Reykjavik Food Walk
Ranked #1 of 29 Food & Drink in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We believe travellers want to experience new destinations like locals. Not in a touristy way. Not in a bus. We don’t want to see the typical highlights, we want to discover the hidden gems. Travellers want to experience local food, people, language, places & traditions. We are here to deliver just that! In our awesome city, history & food tour you’ll experience Reykjavik in the funnest way possible, through your belly! You will explore all the best of our hometown, visit 5+ authentic restaurants and have more than 10 delicious local cuisines!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Alexandra is an engaging, fun and informative guide. The food was fantastic, with six stops at a diverse range of some of the best and most iconic eateries in Reykjavik. The walk itself was a great way to see the city, and the people on the tour were fantastic company. I highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank tamaratomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rye bread ice cream"
in 266 reviews
"food tour"
in 315 reviews
"icelandic food"
in 105 reviews
"arctic char"
in 72 reviews
"food scene"
in 28 reviews
"cured meats"
in 25 reviews
"horse meat"
in 22 reviews
"icelandic hot dog"
in 28 reviews
"lamb soup"
in 79 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 140 reviews
"smoked goose"
in 16 reviews
"skyr"
in 58 reviews
"hot dog stand"
in 38 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 78 reviews
"food stops"
in 32 reviews
"great tour"
in 104 reviews
"fermented shark"
in 42 reviews
Filter

637 - 641 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Egill was charming and informative. We enjoyed the diverse selections as we strolled around downtown Reykjavík. Our favorite was the cheese and cured meats including wild goose with raspberry champagne sauce.
Beyond the food and the orientation on Iceland and his city he made helpful suggestions for our tour
The food tour is a must.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Chas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Marin, our guide, also a 11-year chef, educated us on not only Icelandic food, but was a wealth of information on Reykjavik in general. We enjoyed meat soup & beer, cheese & dried meats, rye bread ice cream, 2 different fish dishes, Iceland famous hot dog from the stand, downtown, and a 5* desert! The tour is more than worth the cost, as the restaurants we dined at were excellent! Wonderful manner to enjoy great meal, with new found friends, in a super friendly city. Highly recommend using their services.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 32,807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Great tour with Egill! Started with lamb soup and Icelandic beer. 8 great stops in all including rye bread ice cream and fantastic Arctic char!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jkh757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Wonderful, fun and delicious introduction to Iceland. We did this our first day and Alexandra was a great host, so excited to share her wonderful city with us. Great value, tons of delicious food and a really nice, relaxed walking and food experience through Reykjavik.

Highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank msleonakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Reykjavik Food Walk also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to The Reykjavik Food Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing