We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
186
65
14
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
65
14
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jelly belly the main house quiet neighborhood perfect place to stay guest house spacious apartment bsi bus terminal stay there again small kitchen street parking living room pick ups hallgrimskirkja church minute walk stayed here for nights bread city centre
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our family of four stayed in the Galtafell Guesthouse before and after our travels around Iceland. We had two different apartments, both of which were spacious and very comfortable. The proprietors are relaxed, friendly, and gracious; the breakfast excellent. The guesthouse itself is an interesting historic building, and the location can't be beat -- a pleasant quiet neighborhood just a few minute's walk from the center and the bus station. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank widom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Beautiful home, perfect location in a quite neighborhood, just a very short walk to downtown. The breakfast was excellent too.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be very good.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boulder_and_Beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A family run guesthouse, lovely, helpful people. They could not do enough to help us, we arrived off early flight and had a whole day tour booked immediately after arrival, we were invited to take breakfast and leave our luggage. we arrived back from tour at 9pm, to find luggage in room and lovely girl who insisited on driving us to town centre, so we could get dinner, as we were so tired and had to leave at 5am next morning! Wish we had found this place before, we would never stay anywhere else! Fantastic. Comfy room and lovely, lovely staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for 4 days in February and the last night was no problem to organize even though it was a last minute decision. The owner is so very nice and the location can't be beat, especially if you want a place downtown but away from the club noise. It's an historic house and location on the world politics platform so definitely ask for a tour. And if you fall, spill your luggage, muss your clothes and fracture your kneecap, you're in the best place to do so :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsileH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Such a treat to have found this guesthouse. I have been there alone staying in the dorm style rooms with shared kitchen, bathrooms and washing machines. Always quiet friendly travelers in the other rooms. Other times with my wife we have rented the private suites with kitchen/private bathrooms. Lots of charm. Just a 5 minute walk to anywhere you want to be in Reykjavik, but far away from the noise and parking meters. Owned by a private family that lives in the building and they are always helpful and available around the clock. Is great for extended stays. I am living in North Iceland and I wouldnt stay anywhere else when visiting Reykjavik.

Room Tip: The best rooms are available for multiple night visits. Both shared facility (value) rooms and private suites available. Availability check available on website http://guesthouse-reykjavik.is
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews