We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$467
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Bucket List
West Lafayette, Indiana

Great location, helpful and friendly staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2021via mobile
Great location. Nicely appointed rooms. We stayed the night we arrived in Iceland and again the night before we departed. Two different rooms. One upgraded to deluxe for us. Bigger with street facing room, but our second night had room much smaller and a little “darker.” Needed more light due to location in hotel. Wouldn’t want to spend too much time in the smaller room. Bed comfortable, loved the robes . Clean and comfortable. Our stays included breakfast, which was perfect for us. Very good. Hotel has elevator. Also fresh water station. And an on-site barber shop if needed.
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: Perhaps steer away from first floor rooms.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$395
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
AU$454
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$630
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$432
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$333
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$333
1.5 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$318
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$389
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$497
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$361
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$424
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (2,243)
Filter reviews
2,243 results
Traveller rating
1,613
513
86
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,613
513
86
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barber shop mobile phone local calls great location hot tub the main street shared balcony happy hour bus stop lovely hotel smoked salmon shopping district central location blackout curtains shops and restaurants family room street parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 2,243 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2021

The hotel was very nice - updated, stylish, and enjoyable, with a nice gym, sauna, and hot tub, Breakfast was a good variety with plenty of room. The front desk staff were universally helpful for me and for my students and peers. It’s also in a great location on the main shopping street in central Reykjavik.

One person stood out, though - Claudia went to significant effort to find a doctor who could work with me to replace medication I take routinely but for which i had an insufficient supply. She checked multiple sources, called the office personally, verified that they had both the doctor and pharmacy that I needed, and worked with me to make sure we could find the place. It was a great experience, and Claudia’s work was pivotal to that.

Next time I’m in Reykjavik, I’ll plan to stay at the Alda!

Date of stay: August 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Nice, clean rooms with friendly staff. Very well located which made possible go everywhere we wanted by foot. Unfortunately we will not be able to stay there again when returning to Reykjavik as they are fully booked.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renez245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

This hotel is very nice but the room we were in was very small not to mention the tiniest bathroom ever. That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. It is in a great location --walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the sea. The buffet breakfast was the best we had during our week long stay in Iceland. I would definitely recommend it though. Great bargain.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We loved the Alda Hotel! It is convenient to restaurants. It is a couple of blocks away from where the airport shuttles and the tour buses drop off and pick up (bus stop #10). The hotel is exceptionally clean. I have a habit of checking sheets and comforters before getting into bed. Both were newly cleaned. The towels were bright white. Great water pressure that did NOT smell like sulfur. The Brass restaurant provided a decent breakfast that you could charge to your room. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Also the room’s backout shades were great!

There was only one drawback and it wasn’t even the hotel’s fault. The people above us walked like they were going off to war. I have never heard such stomping in my life. So please if you are staying on level 2 or 3, please keep in mind there are others beneath you.

OK, Iceland is expensive. So anywhere you lodge or eat is going to cost more than you think. However, considering the location, the excellent service and the cleanliness of this hotel, the Alda is worth every ISK!!!

Enjoy your trip!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ConverseConnie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Alda was perfect for our short stay in Reykjavik. Our room was modern and chic, while also very clean and comfy. The bathroom had nice l’occitane products and the water was nice and hot, with good pressure. We had a shared balcony with nice views. The location of the hotel can’t be beat and theres lots to see and do within a few minutes walk. Also there’s some great places to eat while you are waiting to check-in — highly recommend sandholt and Brauð & Co. bakeries. The cinnamon bun at
Brauð is like no other. Also had a phenomenal Chef’s
Counter dinner at Ox which was down the street.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajhong01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews