We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BridieBear
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Great value and wonderful staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
lovely staff, great location, comfortable beds, great shower and you can make a cuppa in your room. It’s trying a little too hard on the style front but for a city center hotel I’d highly recommend.
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear BridieBear,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Thingholt by CenterHotels! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the efforts of our staff, the convenient location, and the comfortable amenities. Your feedback on our style is also valuable to us as we continually strive to improve the experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Reykjavik. Safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$469
  • Hotels.com
    AU$563
  • Agoda.com
    AU$416
  • Expedia.com
    AU$562
0.6 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$603
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$619
  • Vio.com
    AU$482
  • Hotels.com
    AU$597
0.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$383
  • Expedia.com
    AU$411
  • Agoda.com
    AU$359
  • Priceline
    AU$365
0.9 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$494
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$495
  • Hotels.com
    AU$496
  • Expedia.com
    AU$494
0.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$491
  • Hotel Website
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$403
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$395
  • Vio.com
    AU$347
  • Hotels.com
    AU$396
2.7 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$476
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$478
  • Vio.com
    AU$357
  • Hotels.com
    AU$478
1.1 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$419
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$421
  • Agoda.com
    AU$360
  • travelup.com
    AU$474
0.8 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$458
  • Expedia.com
    AU$746
  • Vio.com
    AU$445
  • Hotels.com
    AU$749
0.7 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
AU$384
  • Hotels.com
    AU$386
  • Expedia.com
    AU$384
  • Hilton
    AU$385
2.3 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (2,908)
Filter reviews
2,908 results
Traveller rating
1,537
977
251
84
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,537
977
251
84
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location boutique hotel central location friday and saturday steam room the main street deluxe room breakfast was included early check bus stop on the small side happy hour bars and restaurants blue lagoon the heart of the city street parking northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,908 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were nice, but not practical. Our shower was lukewarm at best, at the maximum heat. This was extremely disappointing after a long day of touring around. The staff were nice, especially when I informed them of the water issue. Pillows were flat, and sleep was poor. I thought the spa was included in our price; it was not. I would recommend the Center hotels plaza instead.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ebl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ebl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, especially regarding the shower temperature and pillow comfort. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and will ensure your comments about the water issue are addressed promptly. Regarding the spa access, we apologize for any confusion and will work on making our pricing and amenities clearer. For future reference, spa access is complimentary for guests who book the suites. Guests who book other room categories can access the spa at an extra cost of 25 euros. We hope you’ll give us another chance in the future to provide a more satisfactory experience. Safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Normally, I do not write reviews, but as this was our honeymoon and a significant occasion for us (as I had mentioned to the hotel prior to booking), I feel compelled to share my experience.

Firstly, before our stay, I encountered an issue with the booking department. The representative I spoke with was exceedingly rude, which was very distressing.

Secondly, upon our arrival, we found that our room was not properly cleaned. The couch had noticeable stains and dirt, rendering it unusable during our stay.

Thirdly, and most problematically, the curtains in our room did not fully cover the windows. As a result, light streamed in throughout the night, making it difficult to fall asleep. A fundamental expectation of any hotel is to provide a restful environment where guests can sleep undisturbed.

Additionally, my husband also had trouble sleeping due to street noise from nearby parties. While this is not directly related to the hotel's service, it did affect our ability to have a good night's sleep. Given that we were looking forward to a restful honeymoon, I cannot recommend this hotel for those seeking a peaceful stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Inspire01850440503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry to hear that your honeymoon experience did not meet your expectations and that several issues marred such a significant occasion.

Firstly, I apologize for the unpleasant interaction you had with our booking department. This is not the standard of service we strive to provide, and I will be addressing this matter with the team to ensure such behaviour is not repeated.

Regarding the cleanliness of your room, I am genuinely sorry that you found the couch stained and dirty. Cleanliness is a top priority for us, and it is disappointing to hear that we fell short in this area. I will be speaking with our housekeeping team to ensure that such lapses do not occur in the future.

The issue with the curtains and the resulting disturbance from the light is another aspect we deeply regret. A restful environment is indeed a fundamental expectation, and I apologize for the inconvenience this caused. We are currently reviewing our room amenities to address this problem promptly.

I also understand that external noise disrupted your sleep. While we cannot control external factors such as street noise, we can certainly look into ways to minimize its impact on our guests, such as providing earplugs or considering additional soundproofing measures.

Your feedback is invaluable to us as it highlights areas where we need to improve. I assure you that we are taking your comments seriously and will work diligently to enhance our services and facilities.

I would like to offer you a sincere apology.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future under better circumstances.

Kind Regards
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Despite the hotel being very nice in decor, good breakfast, ok bar and friendly staff - too many things did not work out. the bed was too hard, pillows needed replacing. lights did not all work and some very noisy neighbours

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mrbmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MrBMann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our decor, enjoyed the breakfast, and found our staff friendly.

However, we regret that your stay did not meet your expectations in certain areas. We apologize for the discomfort caused by the bed and pillows, the issues with the lighting, and the disturbance from noisy neighbors.

Please rest assured that we are looking into these matters to prevent them from happening in the future. Your comfort and satisfaction are very important to us.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an improved experience.

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall excellent hotel. Very clean, perfect location and pleasant staff. Rooms were a good size and breakfast was excellent.
Exactly what looking for in a city break hotel.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pweeks710430
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your city break to Reykjavik! We’re thrilled to hear that you found our hotel excellent. It’s great to know you appreciated the cleanliness, location, and friendly staff. We're glad the room size and breakfast met your expectations. We strive to provide exactly what our guests are looking for in a city break hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2024

The hotel is well-maintained and the staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive. My room was spacious, clean, and equipped with all the necessary amenities (more hooks in the bathroom please). This hotel tries too hard. It has that boutique vibe, but I would rather be able to see in the halls than have mood lighting.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinarider10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

Dear ChinaRider,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We're glad to hear that you found your room spacious and well-equipped. Your suggestion for more hooks in the bathroom has been noted, and we'll consider it for future improvements.

We strive to create a unique boutique experience, and we're sorry to hear that the mood lighting in the halls wasn't to your preference. Your comments are valuable to us, and we'll take them into account as we continue to enhance our guests' experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an even better stay.

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews