We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Erica B
New York City, New York

Fine for a night or two, but prefer other hotels in the area

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2024
The hotel is well-maintained and the staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive. My room was spacious, clean, and equipped with all the necessary amenities (more hooks in the bathroom please). This hotel tries too hard. It has that boutique vibe, but I would rather be able to see in the halls than have mood lighting.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this review
Responded 16 May 2024
Dear ChinaRider,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We're glad to hear that you found your room spacious and well-equipped. Your suggestion for more hooks in the bathroom has been noted, and we'll consider it for future improvements.

We strive to create a unique boutique experience, and we're sorry to hear that the mood lighting in the halls wasn't to your preference. Your comments are valuable to us, and we'll take them into account as we continue to enhance our guests' experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an even better stay.

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$389
  • Expedia.com
    AU$468
  • Agoda.com
    AU$385
  • Hotels.com
    AU$468
0.6 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$544
  • Expedia.com
    AU$695
  • Hotels.com
    AU$696
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$489
  • Expedia.com
    AU$491
  • Hotels.com
    AU$612
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$491
0.5 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
AU$360
  • Expedia.com
    AU$392
  • Hotels.com
    AU$392
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$299
  • Expedia.com
    AU$332
  • Destinia.com
    AU$286
  • Official Site
    AU$288
2.7 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$361
  • Expedia.com
    AU$394
  • Agoda.com
    AU$328
  • Hotels.com
    AU$395
1.4 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$296
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$284
  • Agoda.com
    AU$242
  • Expedia.com
    AU$320
2.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$378
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$379
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$338
  • Hotels.com
    AU$380
1.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$359
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
  • Hotels.com
    AU$360
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$360
2.3 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$280
  • Expedia.com
    AU$291
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
  • Hotels.com
    AU$292
3.4 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (2,917)
Filter reviews
2,917 results
Traveller rating
1,542
981
251
84
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,542
981
251
84
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location boutique hotel central location friday and saturday steam room the main street deluxe room breakfast was included early check bus stop on the small side happy hour bars and restaurants blue lagoon the heart of the city street parking northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,917 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2024

Great location. Clean and comfortable room with kettle and fridge. Plentiful breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Only suggestion would be to give free (or cheaper) access to the spa facility. Overall it was a great place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoyceQ614
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

Dear Joyce,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at Thingholt by CenterHotels! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and plentiful breakfast offerings. Our team strives to provide friendly and helpful service, so it's wonderful to know that we met your expectations in this regard. We appreciate your suggestion regarding the spa facility and will certainly take it into consideration as we continue to improve our services. We're thrilled that you had a great overall experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2024

This was our second trip to Iceland and since we had such a wonderful experience last time at Thingholt, we decided to stay there again during our trip.

The staff was amazing (everyone was amazing, but I have to give Ana an extra thank you). The breakfast was great, the hotel was clean and welcoming, the spa was better then expected, and so on. Overall a great hotel!

We're going to stay at a Center Hotels property next time as well and continue to recommend this chain to all of our friends!

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dasnando
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

Dear Dasnando,

Thank you so much for returning to Thingholt by CenterHotels for your second visit to Iceland! We're thrilled to hear that you had another wonderful experience with us. It's fantastic to know that our staff, especially Ana, made your stay extra special. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast, cleanliness, and spa facilities. We truly appreciate your loyalty and recommendation of CenterHotels to your friends. We can't wait to welcome you back for your next trip, and we hope to continue exceeding your expectations!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024

The location was perfect for our planned activities during our stay. Close to tour pickup locations and walkable to restaurants we wanted to try. Far enough from bar areas as well so it was quiet enough at night. There was a restaurant/bar next door but we didn’t hear any loud music. We arrived earlier than check in and they were so accommodating with getting our room ready so my mom can rest. They even gave her some pastries to take with her pills which was really super nice. Room was clean though I wish they had more “American” outlets for electronics. I only had one adapter but was able to use USBs on the back of the TV. Hot breakfast choices were the same everyday so it would have been nice to have a variety at least every other day. It was fine though. I wish we had the time to use the Spa (extra cost) because it looked really nice. Staff was awesome!

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joyndana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

Dear Joy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Thingholt by CenterHotels! We're delighted to hear that our location and staff made your stay enjoyable. It's wonderful to know that our convenient location and quiet atmosphere suited your needs perfectly. We're glad we could accommodate your early arrival and provide some extra touches to make your stay comfortable, like the pastries for your mom. Your feedback regarding the outlets and breakfast variety is noted, and we'll certainly take it into consideration as we strive to improve our services. Hopefully, you'll have the opportunity to experience our spa facilities on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

TheThingholt hotel is a nice little hotel in the heart of Reykjavík. The rooms are well organized and cosy, the beds very comfortable and every thing is sparkling clean. The employees are very helpful and really make an effort to make you feel at home.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ValgerdurB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Hi Valegrdur,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Thingholt by CenterHotels!
It sounds like you had a wonderful stay in the heart of Reykjavík. The combination of well-organized, cozy rooms, comfortable beds, and impeccable cleanliness definitely sets the stage for a perfect getaway. It's fantastic to hear that the employees went above and beyond to ensure you felt at home—excellent customer service truly enhances the overall experience. Your review highlights all the essential aspects that travelers look for when choosing accommodations. Cheers to memorable stays in central Reykjavík!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Hotel was nice & clean we upgraded to a suite for 3 but still had a sofa bed which I think there should be another bed. We did get access to the spa which was nice. Breakfast was good. Staff are lovely & a great location. Close to bus stop 6………,,,,,,,

Room tip: Great location near to bus stop 6 & on the strip
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D2528RCsarahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Dear Sarahd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and clean, and that you appreciated the access to our spa facilities as part of your suite upgrade.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the sofa bed in your suite not meeting your expectations for accommodating three guests. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and that our staff made your stay enjoyable with their lovely service. We're glad that you found our location convenient, especially being close to bus stop 6 for easy access to explore the area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews