We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joyce Q
Glasgow, United Kingdom

Comfortable and convenient

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2024
Great location. Clean and comfortable room with kettle and fridge. Plentiful breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Only suggestion would be to give free (or cheaper) access to the spa facility. Overall it was a great place to stay.
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this review
Responded 5 May 2024
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at Thingholt by CenterHotels! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and plentiful breakfast offerings. Our team strives to provide friendly and helpful service, so it's wonderful to know that we met your expectations in this regard. We appreciate your suggestion regarding the spa facility and will certainly take it into consideration as we continue to improve our services. We're thrilled that you had a great overall experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$343
  • Expedia.com
    AU$412
  • Agoda.com
    AU$303
  • Hotels.com
    AU$412
0.6 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$528
  • Expedia.com
    AU$477
  • Hotels.com
    AU$595
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$477
0.5 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
AU$610
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$612
  • Agoda.com
    AU$460
  • Hotels.com
    AU$612
0.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$376
  • Expedia.com
    AU$409
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$364
  • Hotels.com
    AU$409
0.7 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$328
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$380
  • Agoda.com
    AU$257
  • Official Site
    AU$286
2.7 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$530
  • Expedia.com
    AU$503
  • Hotels.com
    AU$504
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$504
0.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$317
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$283
  • Agoda.com
    AU$256
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
2.2 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$363
  • Expedia.com
    AU$392
  • Agoda.com
    AU$340
  • Hotels.com
    AU$392
1.4 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$429
  • Hotels.com
    AU$430
  • Expedia.com
    AU$430
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$430
2.3 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$351
  • Expedia.com
    AU$317
  • Hotels.com
    AU$317
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$317
3.4 km from Thingholt By Center Hotels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (2,917)
Filter reviews
2,917 results
Traveller rating
1,542
981
251
84
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,542
981
251
84
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location boutique hotel central location friday and saturday steam room the main street deluxe room breakfast was included early check bus stop on the small side happy hour bars and restaurants blue lagoon the heart of the city street parking northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2,917 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2024

This was our second trip to Iceland and since we had such a wonderful experience last time at Thingholt, we decided to stay there again during our trip.

The staff was amazing (everyone was amazing, but I have to give Ana an extra thank you). The breakfast was great, the hotel was clean and welcoming, the spa was better then expected, and so on. Overall a great hotel!

We're going to stay at a Center Hotels property next time as well and continue to recommend this chain to all of our friends!

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dasnando
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

Dear Dasnando,

Thank you so much for returning to Thingholt by CenterHotels for your second visit to Iceland! We're thrilled to hear that you had another wonderful experience with us. It's fantastic to know that our staff, especially Ana, made your stay extra special. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast, cleanliness, and spa facilities. We truly appreciate your loyalty and recommendation of CenterHotels to your friends. We can't wait to welcome you back for your next trip, and we hope to continue exceeding your expectations!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024

The location was perfect for our planned activities during our stay. Close to tour pickup locations and walkable to restaurants we wanted to try. Far enough from bar areas as well so it was quiet enough at night. There was a restaurant/bar next door but we didn’t hear any loud music. We arrived earlier than check in and they were so accommodating with getting our room ready so my mom can rest. They even gave her some pastries to take with her pills which was really super nice. Room was clean though I wish they had more “American” outlets for electronics. I only had one adapter but was able to use USBs on the back of the TV. Hot breakfast choices were the same everyday so it would have been nice to have a variety at least every other day. It was fine though. I wish we had the time to use the Spa (extra cost) because it looked really nice. Staff was awesome!

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joyndana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2024

Dear Joy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Thingholt by CenterHotels! We're delighted to hear that our location and staff made your stay enjoyable. It's wonderful to know that our convenient location and quiet atmosphere suited your needs perfectly. We're glad we could accommodate your early arrival and provide some extra touches to make your stay comfortable, like the pastries for your mom. Your feedback regarding the outlets and breakfast variety is noted, and we'll certainly take it into consideration as we strive to improve our services. Hopefully, you'll have the opportunity to experience our spa facilities on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

TheThingholt hotel is a nice little hotel in the heart of Reykjavík. The rooms are well organized and cosy, the beds very comfortable and every thing is sparkling clean. The employees are very helpful and really make an effort to make you feel at home.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ValgerdurB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Hi Valegrdur,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Thingholt by CenterHotels!
It sounds like you had a wonderful stay in the heart of Reykjavík. The combination of well-organized, cozy rooms, comfortable beds, and impeccable cleanliness definitely sets the stage for a perfect getaway. It's fantastic to hear that the employees went above and beyond to ensure you felt at home—excellent customer service truly enhances the overall experience. Your review highlights all the essential aspects that travelers look for when choosing accommodations. Cheers to memorable stays in central Reykjavík!

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Hotel was nice & clean we upgraded to a suite for 3 but still had a sofa bed which I think there should be another bed. We did get access to the spa which was nice. Breakfast was good. Staff are lovely & a great location. Close to bus stop 6………,,,,,,,

Room tip: Great location near to bus stop 6 & on the strip
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D2528RCsarahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Dear Sarahd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and clean, and that you appreciated the access to our spa facilities as part of your suite upgrade.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the sofa bed in your suite not meeting your expectations for accommodating three guests. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and that our staff made your stay enjoyable with their lovely service. We're glad that you found our location convenient, especially being close to bus stop 6 for easy access to explore the area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

Location brilliant for Central City & entrance modern, with lovely four star lounge area, breakfast included is a must in Iceland & this was a standard buffet, our room was modern Scandinavian style however small (not like picture with white sofas, limited storage considering we had heavy winter coats, & lots of jumpers & thermal tops, there were 2 small drawers, no coat hooks, 10 hangers with a pull out trouser rack, the shower room was small also with a plastic curtain that stuck to you while you showered annoyingly, the hair dryer wired next to the WC so as you dry hair the wire trailed across this as mirror was above sink, 1 small bath towel & hand towel per person, no robes or slippers considering there was a spa !!!! No where to store suitcases & a desk chair that was in the way wherever it was in the room, the bed was hard & uncomfortable but the duvets were thick (2 single supplied) the room temperature was cosy & easy to control, toiletries supplied were great but tea making facilities were meagre with powder milk sachets & zero snacks, mini bar prices extortionate, nearby Kronnan supermarket supplies at fraction of price. The staff were ok & did not go out of way to greet you & some ignored completely as you left of entered the building, we did not visit the small spa & wasn’t offered any promotion to do so .

Overall I’d rate this a 3 star 🌟

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MariaO468
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Þingholt, General Manager at Thingholt By Center Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We appreciate your honesty and want to sincerely apologize for any aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.

While we're pleased to hear that you found our location to be brilliant and enjoyed our breakfast offerings, we're disappointed to learn that your overall experience fell short of what you had hoped for. Your feedback regarding the room amenities, including storage space, bedding comfort, shower experience, and tea making facilities, is invaluable to us, and we will certainly take it into consideration for future improvements.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the lack of proactive greeting from our staff members. Providing warm and attentive service is a priority for us, and we will address this with our team to ensure that all guests feel welcomed and valued during their stay.

Regarding the spa facilities, we regret that you were not offered any promotion to visit during your stay. We strive to provide all guests with information about the amenities available to them, and we apologize for any oversight in this regard.

We understand that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we truly value your feedback as it helps us to identify areas for improvement. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit to our hotel.

If there's anything else we can do to address your concerns or enhance your next stay, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Kind Regards,
Camila Bianca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews