We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
78
125
45
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
125
45
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free tea and coffee city centre meal included boiled eggs free parking space family room yogurt small hotel minutes walking distance hot and cold drinks bit dated youth hostel enjoyed our stay rooms are clean breakfast room is hams free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Orkin with 4 female friends for 3 nights returning yesterday. It was cheap and cheerful. It reminded me of a upmarket youth hostel but was a fabulous hotel. It was extremely clean albeit bit dated. The staff were superb. Very helpful when a tour did not appear and always happy to provide cake, coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc which was free of charge.

We were leaving at 3am for our flight and the staff provided us with 2 filled rolls each for our journey. This was much appreciated. Nothing was too much for any of the staff. They were polite helpful and very processional.

We had a room for 5. Two of which slept on the lower floor of room with 2 single beds and a further 3 beds were on the mezannine level. The beds were very comfortable and bedding was fresh and exceptionally clean.

If you are looking for an upmarket hotel then Orkin not what I would recommend, however I would highly recommend it as a hotel for using as a base. Outside our room was a settee on the landing which was ideal for when we were all wished to sit and socialise together.

The breakfast was good. A variety of hams cheese and fresh rolls. Cereals and fruit were also provided along with hot and cold drinks. Perfect start to the day.

The cake that was available in late afternoon, was delicious and on arriving back to hotel at night we were provided with more.

This hotel is a ten to 15 minute walk from the town centre and it's an easy walk.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank tweeds1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Stayed at this hotel with family last month, pretty close to the centre and the receptionist was lovely and helpful. Unlimited tea, coffee and cake at the reception so handy as it was so cold outside! Room was also a decent size. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank kaaaaylsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We used hotel orkin as our base, whilst exploring Iceland on various tours. It’s bout a 10-15mins stroll in to the centre and the hotel is on the list for tours pick up and drop off. The staff were all nice and pleasant but especially a lady with dark hair who welcome us as we arrived, she was really nice. The breakfast was a continental breakfast, so ok but not lots of choice. The furniture etc is a little dated but the room size was fine. As a base to sleep and shower while Your in Iceland it’s fine. I would stay again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank raymond910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Late check in....front desk clerk very, very nice. Carpet in room was FILTHY. Stains galore,,,,,just plain filth. Furniture from 70's & 80's. Check out person not so friendly. Beds were clean. Would never stay here again. $260 for something I normally wouldn't pay anything for.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mindyourbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The hotel is located close to town centre (10 min walk) with a breakfast room facing the local mountain - however you have to remember that if you travel to Iceland end of November there is no sunrise until 10:30 so it is pitched black during the breakfast every single day and you can't really enjoy the view. Also the lighting in the breakfast room is very poor, beside is dark outside, you sit in the dark room and struggle to wake up and get ready for a day full of adventures - I personally think is due to dimmed lights to it just the matter of putting them up to the normal level. The hotel itself is very dated (70s design) - we didn't mind it as much as we were mostly out during the day exploring Iceland, however they could invest in some refurbishment. There is no restaurant /bar area - on a good side there is homemade cake and free teas and coffees in the lounge area. the reception and housekeeping staff are lovely Polish ladies - very friendly and helpful - there is also an elderly Icelandic gentleman working there who has been extremely helpful and he made some weather researches for us as we were travelling with two small children - very thoughtful!. and one lovely German lady. there is also free carpark which is great, as car rental in Iceland is almost a must! overall we had a good stay, however it was our sons birthday which they knew about and we were expecting a little bit more - specially that we always travel for each others birthday and get a little spcial treat....

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews