We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from USD 139.00
More Info
from USD 47.40
More Info
from USD 32.30
More Info
from USD 98.10
More Info
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
629
540
171
67
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
540
171
67
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virtual reality free tea and coffee northern lights gift shop different cultures wide screen slide show small museum camera settings worth a visit beautiful pictures interactive displays rainy day great museum take pictures interesting information science
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This meuseum is very small, but it gives a person a great understanding on the scientific explanation on how Auroras are created. It also depcis a historic review of ancestral beliefs regarding the Aurora. If included with a tour, do take it...it is a very interactive place and people are warm and welcoming. All questions area answered. A lot to be learned during the visit. Also and truly nice is the little gift shop at the end. They have many things and I bought a few of my favourite sweaters there! Islandic made! ENJOY!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank hectorm224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Hector!

It is great when people can visit prior to going out on a hunt, because as you say- there is so much to know! It sounds like you may have been on one of our guided tours- which is a great experience. The exhibit is packed with info, but our guides have even more- if you can believe it. (I suppose when you eat, sleep and breath auroras, it´s a side effect. ;))
These tours are always possible if you e-mail or call ahead, so that we can make sure we have enough of us here to support your group, and I do highly recommend it. We love to share our passion, and this is a great way to do it in an all encompassing way.
Otherwise, we are always around, and do love a good chat.

And also- enjoy the sweater! Cold doesn´t have anything on an authentic, grandma-crafted, Icelandic lopapeysa. The uniform of a true aurora hunter!

Thanks for stopping by,
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

tried to find this museum when we arrived as we had entrance fee included. took some finding and was not as well publisize as some of the other attractions. it was a wet day and so we were drenched after asking a number of people who did not even know of its existance when wer finally did find it.
good to see considering we had free entrance but not something otherwise we would have gone out of our way to find. it had some good informaiton on the aurora and other phenomea in other areas, ie norway , greenland. photos, cinema pictures and virtual reality glasses in the exit area where you also were able to get free /include tea/coffee

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank gordonramsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there gordonramsy!

Big fans of yours. ;) I am sorry to hear however, that you had some trouble finding us. We are a bit tucked away, and are in the process of changing out some of our signs now that the winter season is over. This information is helpful to us, as we approach the next season, and reconfigure some of our processes.

I do hope you were able to dry off a bit in our lounge and enjoy your coffee- the weather here can be a bit unpredictable. We are glad that you managed to enjoy the exhibit, and we will certainly take your experience into consideration as we move forward.

Thank you for spending some of your time with us,
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Found this spot quite randomly after getting the “hop on hop off” bus tour. The centre is very clean and nicely laid out. The entrance fee was €12/14 and you receive a nice wrist band as a ticket which you can keep.

Inside the centre are some nice stories from various countries regarding the northern lights. There is a scientific explanation area going through what cause he auroras and also and interactive display which lets you see the colours that occur at various altitudes etc.

From here there is a relaxation area which is really dark with a projection of the Northern Lights over various Icelandic locations. Here there is calming music, chairs and bean bags.

There is an instructional area for people wishing to achieve the best photographs of the Northern Lights and it explains the setting you require and a trial run area of a backlit photograph.

To finish you end in the gift shop where the VR is set up. Here you have tea and coffee options, included in the price, and loads of seating. As we didn’t get to see the Northern Lights during our trip I found this a very informative and interesting exhibition. Kids would really enjoy.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank BillyMc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi BillyMc86!

The Hop on Hop off tour is a great experience. It lets off just across the street from us, so we are fairly easy to find that way. (The city bus also does this, for those of you who are public transport savvy.)

It is good to hear that you were able to enjoy the full scope of the museum- it can be a really great backup for those trips where the lights do not choose to grace us with their presence. All of our footage was shot locally in Iceland by our in house team, however, so at least in that way, you are seeing the most accurate occurrences possible. (Especially when you try out our virtual reality!)

Thank you again for spending some of your holiday with us- it sounds as thought our goal was certainly met in your visit.
Takk fyrir!
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I recently went to Iceland on a "Magical Northern Lights" tour. Well, there was no magic and no Aurora Borealis sighting in eight days.
On my last morning there, I visited Aurora Reykjavik and loved it. I wish I had found this place the first day! Here, one gets the most accurate and honest information regarding the Northern Lights. It is a small place but packed with wonderful visuals, interesting information, a personal tour guide happy to answer any and all questions, and finally, a lovely, calming, very comfortable cinematic experience. Of the many sights, experiences and tours that I personally took, this one was also a veritable bargain in an otherwise grossly overpriced country!
I wish you great success with your lovely museum! Well done!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank gmc02857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi gmc02857,

First of all, extra points for the pun. And second of all- I am so sorry to hear that your excursion did not prove fruitful. That is certainly an experience we are familiar with, as fellow hunters. Nature is capricious, and sometimes the forecast and the other factors can be just right- and still she does not come out to dance. It is especially challenging for those on a limited schedule.

I am however glad that you were able to find us- as I think it is fair to say we come a close second. ;)
We are always happy to be here for those who have seen the lights a million times, and those who have visited while they are out. We ourselves are never tired of them, so having all of this footage to look at certainly helps.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and for spending some of your time with us. We are always grateful for the opportunity to share some of our passion with fellow enthusiasts.

Takk fyrir!
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

First off, everything in Iceland is very expensive, including all the museums and the entrance fee for the aurora museum is right in line with other museums we visited - not cheap. This was our favorite of the museums we went to. Probably only took about an hour to an hour and a half and we stretched it out. It is well set up, with good information about the lights and different fables/stories about what people believe the lights are. There was a room where you just sat back and watched a photo loop of the lights which was excellent. Yes, you can search for images online, but there is something to be said for seeing them on a movie screen and sitting on pillow on the floor. If you've got a rainy day and want to learn more about the lights, it's worth it (relative to Iceland pricing) and was a great thing to do before seeing the actual lights.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Jason,

What an honor! Thank you for the kind words. The relativity of price in different places is certainly an obstacle sometimes, and so we are grateful that you were able to visit us despite that.

And of course, as you say, there is something about having an experience that beats just browsing the internet from your hotel room. I like to think that we have created a bit of an enclave here, for those who seek the lights- and love them as we do. This museum is very much a made project, like all of our footage and content- from the painted lampshades, to the (currently) slumbering garden out back, to the thousands of beautiful images that play through our halls, get pasted up in huge display on our walls, and cover everything that we can attach them to.

This is a thing that we love, and perhaps the magic of it all is in how much we love sharing it with all of you. That can be hard to communicate on a brochure. ;)

We are so glad that you found us, and that you enjoyed your time here.
Thanks for writing,
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews