We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JohnPEvi
Royal Oak, Maryland

Great staff!

Review of Local 101
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
First, this is a great location. It is in a more or less residential area but is just 2-3 blocks from the Reykjavik city centre. The little restaurant has a good breakfast and is a great place to grab a glass of wine and get your bearings. The room was small, made worse by us having 4 bags after spending the previous 2 weeks in Ireland. That said, the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Most importantly, though, the staff here is the friendliest I've ever encountered; they are happy to help any way and are very knowledgeable about the area. Bonus, even if you're not in an upstairs room, try the elevator.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$443
  • Expedia.com
    AU$442
  • Vio.com
    AU$324
  • Hotels.com
    AU$443
0.1 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$644
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$647
  • Vio.com
    AU$485
  • Hotels.com
    AU$647
0.5 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$441
  • Expedia.com
    AU$480
  • Destinia.com
    AU$355
  • Hotels.com
    AU$481
1.3 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$775
  • Expedia.com
    AU$549
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$549
  • Hotels.com
    AU$549
0.8 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$355
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$310
  • Vio.com
    AU$282
  • Expedia.com
    AU$351
3.2 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$434
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$434
  • Vio.com
    AU$401
  • Expedia.com
    AU$428
1.4 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$476
  • Expedia.com
    AU$477
  • Vio.com
    AU$376
  • Hotels.com
    AU$478
2.0 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$354
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$278
  • Vio.com
    AU$254
  • Expedia.com
    AU$313
2.7 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$291
  • Priceline
    AU$291
  • Expedia.com
    AU$293
  • Hotels.com
    AU$293
2.9 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$260
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
  • Vio.com
    AU$260
  • Hotels.com
    AU$261
3.9 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
35
4
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
4
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recommend this hotel bus stop perfect location front desk receptionist bedroom bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a great hotel! In a quiet strteet, just a few minutes walk from the centre, cafes, restaurants, shops etc. this is such a lovely small hotel. Check in was smooth, we even got into our room early (waited 10-15 mins) as our flight arrived before the 1500 check in timeand w got an upgrade which was much appreciated. No extra charge. Staff were welcoming and knowledgeable offering assistance every morning to ensure you were getting the most out of your trip. Rooms were clean and although perhaps smaller than you may experience in other cities was more than adequate for our stay. Breakfast had everything you would need, though was pretty busy and the area was nearly full within minutes of opening. One thing I would say is that it would have been better to offer breakfast from 0700 or 0715 rather than 0730. A lot of the day tours leave at 0800 which leaves no time to enjoy your meal before getting yourself to your pick up point. I paid extra for a local pick up point for our day trip so that we would have time to have breakfast before setting off for the day. Having a slightly earlier pending time would also ease the congestion as many guests appeared to be doing the same thing. In saying that, this would not put me off staying here if I was to return and I would highly recommend a stay here. The cost for you stay is very reasonable compared to staying in the bigger chain hotels and a lot more personal service is given. The staff were lovely.

Room tip: If travelling from the airport, bus stop #4 at the harbour is just a few mins away up a gentle hill. Breakfast is busy at opening time 0730
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WeeTravellingScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2024

Excellent hotel, good location and friendly staff. Instead of staying in a large hotel chain, I would recommend this family-owned hotel and restaurant. The restaurant is very good, with a creative chef who cooks Mediterranean mezze with an Icelandic flair.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank kristenaI1605FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024

We had 4 nights stay, split by a 4 day Island tour. The rooms are very modern, fresh & whilst not huge are perfectly adequate. The shower was fantastic with lovely free shampoo etc. There was plenty of choice for breakfast & it was all really nice. But the most noticeable feature of the hotel was the lovely staff. They were all so cheerful, polite & keen to help. They really made the hotel feel like home. It is a new hotel venture & we wish them lots of success.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marilynsM2969ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2024

Thank you so very much for the most amazing stay that I had at the Local 101. I had the single room which is small but extremely adequate. The single bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The shower was big enough to fit 'two' and had the most amazing free products to use. The water was lovely and hot. The bedroom offered a kettle (bring your own coffee/tea/sugar) as well as a hairdryer. The breakfast which we had free with our room was delicious and fresh. They offered cereals, fruit, eggs, breads, yogurt, fresh cold meats, peppers, tomatoes etc as well as freshly baked croissants and cake. The staff were friendly and so helpful. They gave me a map and pointed out things to see in Reykjavik. Downtown is only a short 2 minute walk from the hotel while the waterfront is also only a short 2 minute walk. They also have a happy hour which does not affect you in your room as well as a lovely option of having dinner on the premises. The price for the room was also reasonable and booking was easy. My e-mails were answered immediately. I would highly recommend Local 101! Definitely coming back!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2024

This place is truly a gem. Comfortable and clean with excellent decor. Food at both breakfast and dinner is exceptional. The staff go to the extra effort in order to make your stay the best it can be. It is well located in old downtown Reykjavik on the cusp of restaurants/shops and a classic older residential area. We are fortunate that Reykjavik is a direct flight from Seattle for us! Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briankI1955OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews