We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
briankI1955OW
Seattle

Great "local flavor" hotel

Review of Local 101
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2024
This place is truly a gem. Comfortable and clean with excellent decor. Food at both breakfast and dinner is exceptional. The staff go to the extra effort in order to make your stay the best it can be. It is well located in old downtown Reykjavik on the cusp of restaurants/shops and a classic older residential area. We are fortunate that Reykjavik is a direct flight from Seattle for us! Can't wait to go back.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$443
  • Expedia.com
    AU$442
  • Agoda.com
    AU$338
  • Hotels.com
    AU$443
0.1 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$644
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$646
  • Agoda.com
    AU$509
  • Hotels.com
    AU$647
0.5 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$441
  • Expedia.com
    AU$480
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$434
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$775
  • Hotels.com
    AU$549
  • Expedia.com
    AU$549
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$549
0.8 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$355
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$309
  • Agoda.com
    AU$281
  • Expedia.com
    AU$351
3.2 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$434
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$428
  • Official Site
    AU$392
1.4 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$476
  • Expedia.com
    AU$477
  • Agoda.com
    AU$412
  • Hotels.com
    AU$478
2.0 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$291
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$293
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$293
2.9 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$354
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$312
  • Agoda.com
    AU$246
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$278
2.7 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$260
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$260
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Local 101
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
35
4
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
4
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recommend this hotel bus stop perfect location front desk receptionist bedroom bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2024 via mobile

The impeccable service and hospitality of your staff made our retreat most enjoyable. Excellent hotel with excellent location located at the city center,extremely clean & comfortable . Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the friendly reception staff Alma ,she made our trip more interesting with her advices & tips about the city ,restaurants bars are within walking distance. Would definetely recommend this hotel to everybody! It's a true sample of excellent hospitality.
Alma, Alejandra and Luciano thank you for all your services and your presence.
Great team 👏

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank antaeusd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2024 via mobile

When I stayed in Reykjavik I decided to stay in a different hotel each day/night of my visit to get a rounded view of the place and this was by far my favourite hotel I stayed, why?

First; great location, in walking distance to the harbour side for tours, near shops and restaurants.

The hotel is modern, a boutique feel but with heart, very welcoming and tasteful decor, loved the intimate feel with the candles in reception/bar area.

Loved my room with a balcony, got to see some amazing skylines, super cosy and very clean with crispy white linen and towels. I had breakfast include, it was continental with lots of great choice.

For me though it was the staff (especially ALMA) they are amazing, so welcoming, they were thee most helpful right from the booking stage months prior. Nothing was too much trouble and it’s genuine, thank you, you definitely made my stay a pleasant one.

Highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room tip: There’s a few vegan/veggie restaurants three minutes away worth visiting, good food at a fair price. The hotel has happy hour.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ceri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2024

We stayed four nights here in January 2024 and on entry the hotel is very warm and friendly, we received a lovely welcome.

We were in room 207 which is right at the top of the stairs above the breakfast/bar area. The room was set up as a King Size, it was spacious enough and the layout worked well for us as a couple. The sink outside and small sink inside the bathroom was a little odd but bar that everything worked well.

The bed was incredibly comfy, I really loved the separate duvets for each guest and the pillows were very soft. It made for four very good nights sleep.

My only issue was the noise, the walls are thin between rooms and between floors and we were often woken up late in the night and early mornings with either people returning to their rooms or music from the bar downstairs. We could hear the TV in the opposing room, 208, quite clearly on our last night. I would highly recommend ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

Breakfast is very continental, a lot of people go early as tours start between 8am and 9am so it gets busy quick and it becomes rather cramped around the buffet area. We only ate at breakfast twice just due to timings but it was a good selection.

The hotel was overall good, the bed was excellent but the noise was definitely off putting and we would like choose a larger hotel if we were staying longer in Iceland.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lumutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2023

I had such a wonderful time at Local 101 Hotel! Alma and the staff were super friendly and made me feel right at home. The hotel's got this cozy charm, and my room was just perfect. Plus, you can't beat the location – it made everything so easy. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Macarena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for my husbands 30th - lovely chocolate and note left in the room!

Arrived late in the evening but check in was explained to me via email beforehand and we stayed in the basement cocoon room which was perfect for us, small but cosy and modern. The bathroom was lovely especially the shower, really powerful!

Quite a lot of background noise from breakfast in the morning due to proximity to it.

Breakfast was fine - simple items available but perfect to set you up for the day, was very busy one of the mornings and we had to wait a while to get a table.

Staff were all really friendly and helpful.

Parking on the street directly outside the hotel, we downloaded Parka app to pay and cost us around £15 a day to park, which I think it’s good!

Loads of places within walking distance, would struggle to fault the hotel except the noise from breakfast, but that was more of our room positioning!

Would definitely go back too!

Room tip: Can get busy at breakfast time depending on guest numbers!
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank b3xmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews