We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Blue Bike
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom

Give us a kettle in the room.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2024
Give us a kettle.
Why can't you give people a kettle in the room. If you think this is a loss leader
Then at least a machine we all could use in annex
I guess if you stay in main building it would be okay but people in party not convinced!
Room cold .
Room on 4th floor no lift
Dated tiles in a tiny bathroom
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Don't expect tea or coffee in room. Very basic
Trip type: Travelled solo
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, General Manager at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, responded to this review
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests as it helps us enhance our services.

Regarding your request for kettles in the room, we want to explain our decision. As part of our commitment to sustainability and reducing our carbon footprint, we have made the conscious choice to not include kettles in the rooms. Kettles are known to consume a significant amount of energy, and by omitting them, we contribute to our efforts in environmental conservation.

However, we understand the importance of providing convenience to our guests. While we may not have kettles in the rooms, we do offer alternative options such as a shared machine.

We apologize for any discomfort you experienced during your stay.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and your understanding of our commitment to sustainability. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an improved experience.

Warm regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$528
  • Expedia.com
    AU$588
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$479
  • Hotels.com
    AU$661
0.3 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
AU$365
  • Expedia.com
    AU$412
  • Agoda.com
    AU$324
  • Hotels.com
    AU$412
1.1 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$610
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$467
  • Hotels.com
    AU$612
0.6 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$376
  • Expedia.com
    AU$409
  • Vio.com
    AU$329
  • Hotels.com
    AU$409
0.4 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$530
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$504
  • Hotels.com
    AU$504
  • Expedia.com
    AU$504
0.4 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$393
  • Priceline
    AU$362
  • Vio.com
    AU$321
  • Hotels.com
    AU$392
1.0 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$430
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$429
1.9 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$280
  • Official Site
2.3 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$261
  • Expedia.com
    AU$319
1.8 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$317
  • Expedia.com
    AU$389
2.9 km from Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveller rating
689
779
329
89
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
689
779
329
89
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free hot drinks no lift great location main building opposite the church coffee and hot chocolate northern lights beautiful church blue lagoon top floor bread wet room rooms are small big church reception area hot water ham
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2024

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was small but clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Our room was in a building over the road from the main hotel but this didn’t bother us. Breakfast was a good variety and there was tea and coffee available to guests from the reception area all day and staff were happy for us to fill our flask. No tea and coffee in the rooms but this didn’t bother us!
Amazing location right next to Hallgrimskirkja. Everything was walking distance.
The parking is actually free parking all around the church, not specifically for the hotel. We did manage to find a space but had to drive around for a while.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 360rebekkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, General Manager at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your two-night stay at our hotel and that you found your room to be clean, comfortable, and well-equipped with everything you needed. It's wonderful to know that the location suited your needs perfectly, being right next to Hallgrimskirkja and within walking distance of everything you wanted to explore.

We're glad that you found our breakfast offerings to be varied and that you appreciated the availability of tea and coffee in the reception area throughout the day. We're always happy to accommodate our guests' needs, including providing space for filling flasks.

Regarding parking, we appreciate your feedback and want to clarify that while parking around the church is free, we understand that finding a spot can sometimes be challenging due to its popularity. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Lovely hotel. Staff super helpful. Staff available 24 hours. Extremely helpful eg booking taxis. Breakfast great value for money. Complimentary 24 hour coffee, tea, hot chocolate available and enjoyable. Reception and bar area comfortable and welcoming. Great location . Easy to find . Our bedrooms in block adjacent to main hotel. We had single rooms. Plenty space, desk and open unit for hanging cloths etc. Perfectly functional wet floor shower room/toilet with shampoo etc. quiet room great sleep.

Room tip: Just book it. You won’t be disappointed.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geolinda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, General Manager at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our staff to be super helpful and available 24 hours a day. We're thrilled that you found our breakfast to be great value for money and enjoyed our complimentary 24-hour coffee, tea, and hot chocolate.

It's fantastic to hear that you found our reception and bar area comfortable and welcoming, and that our location was convenient and easy to find. We're pleased that your single room in the adjacent block met your needs with its ample space, desk, and functional amenities.

We appreciate your kind words and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Hotel Staff was very helpful and accommodating. We ended up needing to add an extra night to our stay and they worked with us to ensure we did not have to change rooms. Free parking at the church across the street, which was extremely convenient for us as well. Breakfast was standard but adequate and filling to start our days.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, General Manager at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Thank you Hilary for sharing your positive experience at our hotel! We're delighted to hear that our staff were helpful and accommodating, especially when you needed to add an extra night to your stay. We always aim to make our guests' experiences as smooth as possible, and we're glad we could accommodate your needs without requiring a room change.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! If there's anything else we can do to enhance your stay next time, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Staff were very helpful and accommodating. I had few mishaps but they were able to help me. And also I had a very great view of the church from my hotel room which was amazing. Though breakfast has limited option but was OK. Cose to everything though there's a mini mart, cafe and Vietnamese restaurant next to the hotel. Overall great stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Freedom42868443546
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, General Manager at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Dear Freedom,
Thank you for your positive review! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024

I stayed at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson in November 2022 with my husband and friends for four nights on our return from Paris to Baltimore. While planning a fortieth wedding anniversary trip to London and Paris for my cousin and her husband, a stopover in Reykjavik seemed a logical addition. As the 2022 stay was so enjoyable, we reserved to Hotel Eiriksson. The staff was just as friendly and helpful as I remembered. The location can't be more convenient. The hotel is across the street from Hallgrimskirkja, the iconic church. It is a short walk to the Rainbow Street, many restaurants, and shops. Bus stop #8 is at Hallgrimskirkja. The Icelandair Flybus stops there, as does the bus for the Sky Lagoon.
The hotel is well maintained and very clean. The beds are comfortable. Their breakfast provides a substantial start to the day. You can leave luggage if you have an early morning arrival or post check out departure flight from KEF. On this most recent visit, we stayed in room #105, which is larger than our room of the 2022 visit.
I will stay at Hotel Leifur Eriksson any time I visit Reykjavik and encourage you to do the same. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, General Manager at Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Thank you for your loyalty over these years and the next ones. We're thrilled to be your choice since 2022 and appreciate your kind words about our strategic location, well-maintained and clean hotel, facilities, and helpful staff. It's wonderful to hear that we can be part of your amazing experience in Iceland. We are looking forward to seeing you next time!
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews