We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Eleni061
Cincinnati, Ohio

Location, Location, Location!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 May 2024via mobile
The location of this hotel is fantastic! It is right by Lebowski’s bar and restaurant and steps away from shopping and Rainbow Street. The staff is very helpful and friendly and will call taxi’s and help guide you to the best restaurants and sight seeing stops.

The hotel room? Well, it was tiny. Two twin beds. One closet and no dresser. The bathroom was smaller than a cruise ship bathroom. There were no places to place any products. If you had to bend over in the shower, you had to open the door. Yes, it’s that small. We worked it out though. We were not in the room very much because there’s so much to see, but if I had any complaints at all, it would be the size of the bathroom (pics included).

The breakfast spread was minimal. I’m not a breakfast person so coffee was fine with me.

All in all, this is a good hotel with a very friendly staff and housekeeping was excellent. I would recommend this hotel for the location. It is perfect. Walking distance to nightly entertainment, bars, restaurants, and shopping. You can’t go wrong here.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: See if they have bigger rooms and go for it if you can afford it. We didn’t even ask but the next...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Skjaldbreid, General Manager at Center Hotels Skjaldbreid, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Eleni,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of Center Hotels Skjaldbreið! We're thrilled to hear that you found our hotel's location to be fantastic and convenient for exploring the vibrant surroundings of Rainbow Street and nearby attractions. It's wonderful to know that our staff were helpful and friendly, providing assistance with taxis and recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing spots.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the room size and bathroom layout. We understand that space limitations can be a concern, especially for longer stays. We'll take your comments into consideration as we continue to make improvements to our accommodations.

While we're sorry to hear that the breakfast spread didn't fully meet your expectations, we're glad to hear that the coffee hit the spot. Your feedback helps us evaluate our offerings and make adjustments where needed.

It's fantastic to hear that you found our housekeeping service to be excellent. Providing a clean and comfortable environment for our guests is a top priority, and we're glad we could meet your expectations in this regard.

Thank you for recommending Center Hotels Skjaldbreið based on our prime location and friendly staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with another enjoyable stay. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your experience next time, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Gintare
Hotel manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$452
  • Expedia.com
    AU$495
0.8 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$470
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$496
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$496
0.4 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$562
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$480
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$368
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$463
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$463
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$379
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$534
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$211
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Center Hotels Skjaldbreid
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveller rating
429
479
211
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
429
479
211
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun room the main street great location bread breakfast room central location bus stop tea and coffee friday and saturday salami corner room center hotel small hotel noisy at night the heart of the city hard boiled eggs included breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Hotel is in a great location in Reykjavik. Centrally located among many attractions and restaurants. 5 minute walk to bus stop 14 (pick up location for the bus excursions). Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms are on the smaller side but are clean and have everything you need. A great hotel for site-seeing in Reykjavik.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Skjaldbreid, General Manager at Center Hotels Skjaldbreid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's great location in the heart of Reykjavik, making it convenient for exploring attractions and dining options.

We're delighted that you found our staff helpful and friendly. Providing excellent service is a top priority for us, and we're pleased that our team members made a positive impression on you.

While our rooms may be on the smaller side, we're glad to hear that you found them clean and equipped with everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Ensuring our guests have a pleasant experience is important to us, and we're pleased that we met your expectations in this regard.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for recommending our hotel as a great choice for sightseeing in Reykjavik. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Warm regards,
Gintare
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

This hotels location I'd great for all activities within the city of Reykjavik. Breakfast served everyday is good and helps save on trip cost because food is pricey. However, because of tourists population their are a lot of restaurants and bars which are open late and the people can be loud. The hotel rooms aren't sound proofed by anymeans and if you're a light sleeper like me then it can make it difficult to fall asleep and stay asleep.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kfranc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Skjaldbreid, General Manager at Center Hotels Skjaldbreid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us from March 19th to March 27th. We're pleased to hear that our hotel's location was convenient for your activities within Reykjavik, and that you found our breakfast offerings satisfactory.

We understand your concerns regarding noise from nearby restaurants and bars, especially for light sleepers. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will take it into consideration as we strive to improve our guests' experiences.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more restful stay.

Warm regards,
Gintare
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

Hotel: Great location, walking distance to the hallgrimskirkja church, rainbow road & harpa concert hall with lots of places to shopping & eat. Hotel Breakfast: bread, pastries, tea, coffee, juice, hot chocolate, spreads, cheese, cold cuts & fruits. There was plenty to eat. The staff is very polite. A huge thanks to Paulo at the front desk - he provided exceptional service. Thank you so much Paulo for all your help and patience. You not only made great recommendations on things to do you also booked our activities for us, you made our stay in Iceland a very memorable one!!! Room: very comfortable & clean; there is a small fridge that you can use to store food. There is also a kettle with tea bags, coffee, milk, sugar, etc. the washroom was a bit on the small side but it wasn’t a problem, they also provide shampoo, conditioner, body lotion & a hair dryer. For the north american guests - there is an adopter/converter provided that includes USB ports to charge you electronics. There is an elevator but there is also a flight of stairs to get to it. The reception desk is located on the 2nd floor. The hotel is on a pedestrian only road so you have to meet your taxi on the side street. If you are traveling by flybus you have to meet your bus at bus stop 14 which is about less than a 10-minute walk to & from the hotel. Things are super expensive in Iceland so if you want to grab some snacks for you trip there is Bonus supermarket down street (to the right of the hotel), also walking distance (maybe less than 5 a minute walk). The location of this hotel is very convenient, its very clean and well kept so I would recommend staying here, however, it does get a bit noisy at night as there is a live band playing next door. This didn’t bother me and after midnight the music ends and its all very quiet.

Room tip: Our booking for the blue lagoon was cancelled because of the volcano so we went to the sky lagoon instead and loved every minute of it!!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspire427452
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Skjaldbreid, General Manager at Center Hotels Skjaldbreid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and glowing review of our hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay and that our location, amenities, and service exceeded your expectations.

It's fantastic to know that you found our location convenient for exploring Reykjavik's attractions and dining options. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and that our staff, particularly Pablo, provided exceptional service. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to him.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future!

Warm regards,
Gintare
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

The trip was booked mainly to see the Northern Lights, although Mother Nature had other plans! The time spent in Reykjavík was excellent! The people were friendly and extremely helpful. We plan to return!!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wmillard2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Skjaldbreid, General Manager at Center Hotels Skjaldbreid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for an amazing review!
It's unfortunate that Mother Nature didn't cooperate for the Northern Lights, but we're thrilled to hear that your time in Reykjavík was excellent! We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable trip to Iceland!
Warm regards,
Gintare
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

This hotel is well hidden in the city centre of Reykjavik. It's the perfect place to discover the city.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, they answer all questions, give advice,...
the rooms are a little outdated but still okay. Unfortunately, there is a cafe/bar on the opposite of the street with a lot of noise at night even after the bar is closed.
thats' a pity.
You get no rest at night at all.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Manager Skjaldbreid, General Manager at Center Hotels Skjaldbreid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you found our hotel well-hidden yet conveniently located for exploring Reykjavik, and that our staff provided friendly and helpful service throughout your stay.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by noise from the nearby cafe/bar. We understand how disruptive this can be to your rest, and we'll certainly look into ways to address this issue to ensure a more peaceful stay for our guests in the future.

Despite this setback, we hope you were able to enjoy your time in Reykjavik, and we appreciate your valuable feedback which helps us improve our guest experience. If your travels bring you back to the area, we'd love the opportunity to make it up to you with a more serene stay.

Warm regards,
Gintare
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews