We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveller rating
539
898
333
46
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
898
333
46
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread building work northern lights games room porridge building site extra pillows underfloor heating happy hour luggage room ham the main street continental style cold buffet boiled eggs city centre minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

First impressions were of a modern building in a rather neglected neighbourhood but our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet.- just what we needed after a long day travelling. It was reassuring that our hire car was safely parked in the hotel’s underground garage.The staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended an excellent eating place nearby. The buffet breakfast offered a wide choice of options.
We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Barry,

Thank you for your stay and for your review.
We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience at our hotel during your recent visit to Reykjavík.

We agree with you :) the hotel is definitely conveniently situated - just a stone's throw from downtown and the city's main attractions.

Thank you for all the kind words and the recommendation - we really appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All best,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We had a lovely 5 night stay at Hotel Klettur. The whole place lovely and clean and very modern. If you arrive early you can safely store your luggage. The room wasn't massive but it was ok sized and very clean. The ensuite was a good size, the shower was lovely. There is tea\coffee making facilities and tv, plenty of plugs and lovely thick duvets :)
We played pool a few times but didn't visit the bar. The breakfast was nice, meats, cheese, fruit, different breads you could toast, cereal and pastries. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is near shops and restaurants and a 10 min walk from the old harbour. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _corkycoobags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear _corkycoobags,

Thank you for your glowing review and for your stay.
We are pleased your overall stay was an enjoyable experience and we hope you will return to us soon :)

All best,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, the staff where friendly and the place was very clean. The beds were so comfortable, I slept like a baby, especially with all my extra pillows that I asked for, that was no problem at all.

The breakfast felt varied but at the same time I found myself eating the same thing 4 days on a trot... I can't really complain as I am a fussy eater. I'm sure other people got on with it just fine. I was pleased they had proper milk for the hot drinks and PG Tips!

The water in the shower, so any hot water really, will smell of farts. That's just Iceland and it's surprising how quickly you just get used to it.

Would definitely recommend this hotel though, great price and great location for the pick ups for the excursions.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel, was quiet for us.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chevin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Chevin13,

Thank you for your glowing review and for your stay and thank you for all the kind words, they are much appreciated :)

We are glad to read that you had such a great time staying with us.
At breakfast, we try to offer something for every one as it consists of cereals, a selection of sandwich fillings, fruit, bread, skyr, hot porridge, cheese and pastries.

Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon :)

All best,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Klettur in February and were so pleased we did! Our flight arrived very early, and we arrived at the hotel at 8am. We were able to stash our bags in the secure luggage room and have a nice breakfast. We rested in the lounge area for a bit then headed out to explore. We were pleasantly surprised to find the waterfront such a short walk! We were able to see the Solfar (Sun Voyager) sculpture, Hallgrímskirkja Church and wander along Laugavegur and check out the shops. We made our way back to hotel Klettur and found our room was ready early. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful - from the front desk, to housekeeping. The young woman who helped us book tours was especially patient :) The rooms are spacious, beds comfy, and the bathroom was clean and efficient - the towel warmer was a nice bonus! Thank you Hotel Klettur for making us feel so welcome! We loved Iceland and hope to visit again one day

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chaley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear cheley777,

Thank you for your glowing review and for your stay.

We are glad to hear that you had such a great time staying with us and thank you for all the kind comments - they are much appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon :)

All best,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel basic but clean and all that was needed, don’t be alarmed the hot water does smell bad but due to the fact water is natural. Reykjavik city is basic and very expensive however a lovely Jamie Oliver’s located at the opposite end of town. Tui recommended the city tour day 1 as “the city is difficult to navigate around” we walked it on an evening covering all of the three hour bus tour in 30 minutes for a party of 4 this was over £250 please do not waste your money geezers and waterfall stunning tried to see northern lights twice both nights no show bus operator did say most images are
Photoshopped which is disappointing and we had to download an app to capture the vague image I have posted this could not be seen by the naked eye. Please don’t expect the sky to dance with colour. Lovely time nice place to tick off the list but wouldn’t return sorry Reykjavik ❄️☂️☃️

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lt3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Lt3579,

Thank you for your review and for your stay. We are glad you had a lovely time staying in Iceland :)

Concerning the Northern Lights, they are indeed one of the biggest draws to visiting Iceland, however they are also one of the most unpredictable attraction we have. There are a lot of variables to consider for seeing them, such as season, weather, location and a little bit of luck. The best season to see them is from October - March. For best results, you can monitor the Aurora forecast on the Icelandic Met Office website.

Hope you otherwise enjoyed you holiday in Iceland and we look forward welcoming you back again - hopefully in the near future :)

All best,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews