We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MsParky7
Cricklade, United Kingdom

Highly recommended

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
I really loved this hotel. It was warm and unique, with big sofas and soft jazz downstairs, lots of local art, dark wood, and carpets—so much nicer than a bland modern hotel.
The breakfast was fab - I loved the homemade granola in particular. The staff were kind and helpful, and the location is perfect - right in town but not on the main street - so quiet.
If you want something a little different, I highly recommend the Holt.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Take a look at all the artwork-worthwhile.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear MsParky7 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Holt Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our warm atmosphere and unique decor, including the local art, dark wood, and carpets. It is also wonderful that you found our breakfast to be of great quality and particularly enjoyed the homemade granola. We also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and perfect location right in town but away from the main street.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$451
  • Expedia.com
    AU$408
  • Agoda.com
    AU$304
  • Hotels.com
    AU$408
0.9 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$647
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    AU$749
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
    AU$586
0.5 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$392
  • Hotels.com
    AU$429
  • Agoda.com
    AU$365
  • Expedia.com
    AU$429
0.9 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$633
  • Expedia.com
    AU$634
  • Hotels.com
    AU$634
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$635
0.4 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$387
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$380
  • Agoda.com
    AU$329
  • Hotels.com
    AU$380
2.6 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$424
  • Hotels.com
    AU$462
  • Expedia.com
    AU$462
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$421
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$421
  • Agoda.com
    AU$328
  • Official Site
    AU$398
1.1 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$449
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$449
  • Algotels
    AU$352
  • Hotels.com
    AU$449
1.0 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$1,031
  • Expedia.com
    AU$930
  • Agoda.com
    AU$870
  • Hotels.com
    AU$930
0.6 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior
AU$1,598
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hilton
    AU$1,601
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,598
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,598
2.3 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveller rating
1,064
574
116
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,064
574
116
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews icelandic art private art collection junior suite quiet street great hotel traditional hotel public areas bsi bus terminal minute walk quiet at night within easy walking distance single room comfortable hotel breakfast room main shopping downtown reykjavik northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2024

This is a great, artsy hotel in a central location. It has very comfortable rooms, great staff, and excellent breakfast. On-site free parking is available. It is a great location to explore the city and rest whenever you need it. Excellent place to stay in Reykjavik

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer693985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear Wanderer693985

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience from your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff, rooms, breakfast, and location provided for a memorable experience. It is always our goal to provide a comfortable stay in a convenient location and we are glad that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review and we hope you will give us another opportunity to host you during your next visit in Reykjavik.

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024

Very good level and friendly personnel. Interesting art and good location. The breakfast was of good quality

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank astreng2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear astreng2024 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the level of service, art and breakfast during your conference trip. We take pride in providing our guests with a pleasant and comfortable stay.

It is our mission to continually strive for excellence and ensure all of our guests have a memorable experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Friendly helpful reception staff, welcoming hotel lobby area, beautifully decorated and lit. Enjoyed the traditional feel of the hotel generally.
Very clean room & bathroom. Well equipped room, appreciated the fridge and kettle and living space. Great having a bath, just a shame the other section with toilet & sink was so small.
Hotel ideally situated on a quiet street near the centre and restaurants and supermarket. We would stay here again, if in a winter month. A Summer month might be difficult to sleep with the lack of black out curtains in the room- but maybe they are added. It wasn’t a problem in January as dark until 11am!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear gmcj8

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our traditional hotel. We are delighted that you found the reception staff friendly and helpful, and that the decor in the lobby impressed you. It is also wonderful to hear of your appreciation for all the amenities in your room, such as the fridge and kettle. We are glad that you found the location of our hotel convenient, as we strive to be near city centers and local restaurants.

Thank you for bringing up about the lack of blackout curtains in your room. As a hotel, we understand how important it is to provide a comfortable sleep experience for our guests. While we do not offer blackout curtains in every room, we do have blackout shades available upon request for those who need them.

Thank you again for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2024

We were looking for a hotel for our short stay in Iceland that was reasonably priced, well located, and a bit different from the international chains. Hotel Holt ticked all the boxes.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sturey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear sturey68 thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that Hotel Holt met all your expectations and provided you with a pleasant short stay in Reykjavik. We strive to provide our guests with an experience that is unique, comfortable, and memorable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

Only a short walk from the centre with easy free parking, comfortable and light room. Lovely shower. Large reception area part of Iceland heritage. Excellent breakfast in art filled room.
All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. No safe in room (prob not needed here), no fridge (but outside is cold enough...). Bar only open certain days but when it is the hotel has great character.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CGL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear CGL0nd0n

Thank you for your positive review and for staying with us at our characterful and comfortable central hotel. We are delighted to hear that you found your room comfortable, the shower lovely, and the large reception area part of Iceland's heritage. We also appreciate your compliments on the excellent breakfast in art-filled room.

We take all guest feedback into consideration when aiming to improve our services for all of our guests. Your comments about not having a safe in the room (which may not be necessary here) and no fridge (though outside is cold enough), as well as noting that the bar is only open certain days, have been noted. We remain committed to offering guests a pleasurable stay and are glad it was enjoyable overall.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews