We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gmcj8

Beautiful traditional hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2024
Friendly helpful reception staff, welcoming hotel lobby area, beautifully decorated and lit. Enjoyed the traditional feel of the hotel generally.
Very clean room & bathroom. Well equipped room, appreciated the fridge and kettle and living space. Great having a bath, just a shame the other section with toilet & sink was so small.
Hotel ideally situated on a quiet street near the centre and restaurants and supermarket. We would stay here again, if in a winter month. A Summer month might be difficult to sleep with the lack of black out curtains in the room- but maybe they are added. It wasn’t a problem in January as dark until 11am!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 May 2024
Dear gmcj8

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our traditional hotel. We are delighted that you found the reception staff friendly and helpful, and that the decor in the lobby impressed you. It is also wonderful to hear of your appreciation for all the amenities in your room, such as the fridge and kettle. We are glad that you found the location of our hotel convenient, as we strive to be near city centers and local restaurants.

Thank you for bringing up about the lack of blackout curtains in your room. As a hotel, we understand how important it is to provide a comfortable sleep experience for our guests. While we do not offer blackout curtains in every room, we do have blackout shades available upon request for those who need them.

Thank you again for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$400
  • Expedia.com
    AU$470
  • Vio.com
    AU$356
  • Hotels.com
    AU$470
0.9 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$591
  • Hotels.com
    AU$699
  • Agoda.com
    AU$585
  • Expedia.com
    AU$698
0.4 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$409
  • Expedia.com
    AU$411
  • Hotels.com
    AU$411
  • Agoda.com
    AU$410
0.6 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$332
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$333
  • Agoda.com
    AU$283
  • Hotels.com
    AU$334
2.6 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$361
  • Hotels.com
    AU$396
  • Agoda.com
    AU$329
  • Expedia.com
    AU$396
1.3 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$297
  • Expedia.com
    AU$321
  • Agoda.com
    AU$243
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$286
2.2 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$361
  • Agoda.com
    AU$343
  • Hotels.com
    AU$393
0.7 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$379
  • Agoda.com
    AU$330
  • Hotels.com
    AU$380
1.2 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$361
  • Hotels.com
    AU$361
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$273
  • Hotels.com
    AU$284
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
1,077
576
116
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,077
576
116
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews icelandic art private art collection junior suite quiet street great hotel traditional hotel public areas bsi bus terminal minute walk quiet at night within easy walking distance single room comfortable hotel breakfast room main shopping downtown reykjavik northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2024

We were looking for a hotel for our short stay in Iceland that was reasonably priced, well located, and a bit different from the international chains. Hotel Holt ticked all the boxes.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sturey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear sturey68 thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that Hotel Holt met all your expectations and provided you with a pleasant short stay in Reykjavik. We strive to provide our guests with an experience that is unique, comfortable, and memorable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

Only a short walk from the centre with easy free parking, comfortable and light room. Lovely shower. Large reception area part of Iceland heritage. Excellent breakfast in art filled room.
All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. No safe in room (prob not needed here), no fridge (but outside is cold enough...). Bar only open certain days but when it is the hotel has great character.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CGL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear CGL0nd0n

Thank you for your positive review and for staying with us at our characterful and comfortable central hotel. We are delighted to hear that you found your room comfortable, the shower lovely, and the large reception area part of Iceland's heritage. We also appreciate your compliments on the excellent breakfast in art-filled room.

We take all guest feedback into consideration when aiming to improve our services for all of our guests. Your comments about not having a safe in the room (which may not be necessary here) and no fridge (though outside is cold enough), as well as noting that the bar is only open certain days, have been noted. We remain committed to offering guests a pleasurable stay and are glad it was enjoyable overall.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

What a fantastic hotel. Easily walked to from the bus station and very central to the main areas of Reykjavik. All of the colleagues we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar area and service was a delight and has a huge variety of drinks available.

The artwork and comfort of the guest public areas is stunning and the tea/coffee facilities a very welcome touch. Our room was also beautiful and spacious, as well as being lovely and warm at all times.

Our breakfast was included in our stay and we had wonderful choices each morning. I enjoyed sampling some local foods while the buffet also offered foods such as delicious scrambled egg, bacon, pastries and fruits/yogurt.

We especially appreciated the language. While (shamefully) having very little Icelandic, everybody spoke and understood English perfectly. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to everyone. Thank you for a great first experience in Iceland!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbeyf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, abbeyf123!

We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. It's great to know that you found our location convenient and our colleagues friendly and helpful. We're glad you enjoyed the ambiance of our bar area and the variety of drinks available.

We take pride in the comfort and aesthetics of our guest public areas, and we're delighted that you appreciated the artwork and amenities such as tea/coffee facilities. It's fantastic to hear that your room was beautiful, spacious, and kept warm throughout your stay.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings, including the opportunity to sample local foods. Providing a diverse and delicious breakfast is important to us, and we're thrilled that you found it enjoyable.

We understand the importance of language accessibility, and we're glad that our team's proficiency in English made your stay more comfortable.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. It was our pleasure to contribute to your great first experience in Iceland, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel, built in the 1960’s by an art lover, there are work of art and sculpture on every wall and corner.This beautiful hotel with wood panelling leather sofas, ambient light and soft jazz provided a pitch perfect break from the outside temperatures, the moment you enter you feel calm, rarely am I interested in relaxing in a hotel lobby however the atmosphere was so inviting with complementary teas, a library of book and chess set it was hard to avoid. The staff were so friendly happy to leave their station and give us a tour of the artwork. Our room was clean and warm the beds were soft and comfortable, I requested a coffee machine for the room like the photos I’d seen online, they were more than happy to accommodate. Breakfast was incredible. Salmon so fresh it was almost like sushi, with loads of choice and daily changes to the menu. They hosted a live jazz night one night so I recommend asking if they have anything on when you visit and saving your complementary drink (if your booking has one) till then. It’s a perfect location 10 mins into central Reykjavík and 10 minutes to the BSI bus terminal where most tours collect but also 10 minutes to bus stop 8 where other tours collect so you never need to waste money on a taxi 100% recommend it’s so lush there.

Room tip: Ask for a coffee machine if your room doesn’t have one. Ask about live events they have on during your stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clodworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Clodworks,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you found Hotel Holt to be a warm and inviting sanctuary, filled with beautiful art and sculptures that captivated your attention. It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed the ambiance of our lobby, complete with complementary teas, a library of books, and friendly staff who were eager to share the stories behind our artwork.

We're delighted that you found your room to be clean, cozy, and well-equipped, and that we could accommodate your request for a coffee machine. It's fantastic to hear that you relished our delicious breakfast offerings, especially the fresh salmon, and that you were able to experience the vibrant atmosphere of our live jazz night.

Additionally, we're pleased that our convenient location served as the perfect base for your adventures in Reykjavík, with easy access to both the city center and key transportation hubs.

Thank you for your glowing recommendation of Hotel Holt—we're honored to have provided you with such a lush and enjoyable experience. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay in the future!

Warmest regards
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

The location is absolutely amazing. You’re right in the city in a quaint little hotel with stunning art. I can’t speak enough about how amazing the location is and how cozy the hotel is when coming back after a long day. The art is breath taking. The only thing I wish I kept in mind when booking was lack of amenities at the hotel. Though the website shows a restaurant, you have to read closely and see it’s been closed for a few years. The bar is only open Wednesday-Saturday (while our trip was Sunday through Wednesday so didn’t get to enjoy that). There is no pool or sauna to enjoy. The breakfast is amazing but for an add fee of about 25 euros per person which can add a lot daily. If you plan to spend a day at the hotel just be advised there is not much to do. There is great places to enjoy around hotel but the hotel itself offers very little other than a beautiful place to sleep. We enjoyed our stay a lot just things to be mindful of prior to booking b

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Jaqueline,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear that you loved the location and found the hotel to be cozy and comfortable after a long day of exploring the city.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the lack of amenities available during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the closure of our restaurant and limited hours of the bar. We understand how important it is for our guests to have access to these facilities, and we will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve our services.

Regarding the breakfast, we apologize if the additional fee was not clearly communicated to you prior to your stay. We will review our website and booking process to ensure that all information is presented accurately and transparently.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, and we hope that you were able to explore and enjoy the surrounding area during your time with us. If you have any further feedback or suggestions for improvement, please don't hesitate to reach out. We appreciate your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews