We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CGL0nd0n
London, United Kingdom

Characterful, comfortable central hotel with free parking

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2024
Only a short walk from the centre with easy free parking, comfortable and light room. Lovely shower. Large reception area part of Iceland heritage. Excellent breakfast in art filled room.
All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. No safe in room (prob not needed here), no fridge (but outside is cold enough...). Bar only open certain days but when it is the hotel has great character.
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 22 Apr 2024
Dear CGL0nd0n

Thank you for your positive review and for staying with us at our characterful and comfortable central hotel. We are delighted to hear that you found your room comfortable, the shower lovely, and the large reception area part of Iceland's heritage. We also appreciate your compliments on the excellent breakfast in art-filled room.

We take all guest feedback into consideration when aiming to improve our services for all of our guests. Your comments about not having a safe in the room (which may not be necessary here) and no fridge (though outside is cold enough), as well as noting that the bar is only open certain days, have been noted. We remain committed to offering guests a pleasurable stay and are glad it was enjoyable overall.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$545
  • Expedia.com
    AU$638
  • Agoda.com
    AU$486
  • Hotels.com
    AU$638
0.4 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$364
  • Hotels.com
    AU$429
  • Vio.com
    AU$325
  • Expedia.com
    AU$428
0.9 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$527
  • Expedia.com
    AU$537
  • Hotels.com
    AU$661
  • Vio.com
    AU$529
0.6 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$376
  • Expedia.com
    AU$410
  • Vio.com
    AU$352
  • Hotels.com
    AU$411
0.7 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$294
  • Official Site
    AU$349
  • Vio.com
    AU$253
  • Priceline
    AU$280
2.6 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$530
  • Expedia.com
    AU$505
  • Hotels.com
    AU$505
  • Canopy by Hilton
    AU$504
0.4 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$296
  • Expedia.com
    AU$326
  • Agoda.com
    AU$261
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$290
2.2 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$359
  • Priceline
    AU$362
  • Vio.com
    AU$322
  • Expedia.com
    AU$393
1.3 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$429
  • Priceline
    AU$429
  • Hotels.com
    AU$432
  • Expedia.com
    AU$431
2.3 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$310
  • Expedia.com
    AU$333
  • Vio.com
    AU$274
  • Hotels.com
    AU$333
3.2 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
1,077
576
116
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,077
576
116
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews icelandic art private art collection junior suite quiet street great hotel traditional hotel public areas bsi bus terminal minute walk quiet at night within easy walking distance single room comfortable hotel breakfast room main shopping downtown reykjavik northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2024

What a fantastic hotel. Easily walked to from the bus station and very central to the main areas of Reykjavik. All of the colleagues we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar area and service was a delight and has a huge variety of drinks available.

The artwork and comfort of the guest public areas is stunning and the tea/coffee facilities a very welcome touch. Our room was also beautiful and spacious, as well as being lovely and warm at all times.

Our breakfast was included in our stay and we had wonderful choices each morning. I enjoyed sampling some local foods while the buffet also offered foods such as delicious scrambled egg, bacon, pastries and fruits/yogurt.

We especially appreciated the language. While (shamefully) having very little Icelandic, everybody spoke and understood English perfectly. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to everyone. Thank you for a great first experience in Iceland!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbeyf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, abbeyf123!

We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. It's great to know that you found our location convenient and our colleagues friendly and helpful. We're glad you enjoyed the ambiance of our bar area and the variety of drinks available.

We take pride in the comfort and aesthetics of our guest public areas, and we're delighted that you appreciated the artwork and amenities such as tea/coffee facilities. It's fantastic to hear that your room was beautiful, spacious, and kept warm throughout your stay.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings, including the opportunity to sample local foods. Providing a diverse and delicious breakfast is important to us, and we're thrilled that you found it enjoyable.

We understand the importance of language accessibility, and we're glad that our team's proficiency in English made your stay more comfortable.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. It was our pleasure to contribute to your great first experience in Iceland, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel, built in the 1960’s by an art lover, there are work of art and sculpture on every wall and corner.This beautiful hotel with wood panelling leather sofas, ambient light and soft jazz provided a pitch perfect break from the outside temperatures, the moment you enter you feel calm, rarely am I interested in relaxing in a hotel lobby however the atmosphere was so inviting with complementary teas, a library of book and chess set it was hard to avoid. The staff were so friendly happy to leave their station and give us a tour of the artwork. Our room was clean and warm the beds were soft and comfortable, I requested a coffee machine for the room like the photos I’d seen online, they were more than happy to accommodate. Breakfast was incredible. Salmon so fresh it was almost like sushi, with loads of choice and daily changes to the menu. They hosted a live jazz night one night so I recommend asking if they have anything on when you visit and saving your complementary drink (if your booking has one) till then. It’s a perfect location 10 mins into central Reykjavík and 10 minutes to the BSI bus terminal where most tours collect but also 10 minutes to bus stop 8 where other tours collect so you never need to waste money on a taxi 100% recommend it’s so lush there.

Room tip: Ask for a coffee machine if your room doesn’t have one. Ask about live events they have on during your stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clodworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Clodworks,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you found Hotel Holt to be a warm and inviting sanctuary, filled with beautiful art and sculptures that captivated your attention. It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed the ambiance of our lobby, complete with complementary teas, a library of books, and friendly staff who were eager to share the stories behind our artwork.

We're delighted that you found your room to be clean, cozy, and well-equipped, and that we could accommodate your request for a coffee machine. It's fantastic to hear that you relished our delicious breakfast offerings, especially the fresh salmon, and that you were able to experience the vibrant atmosphere of our live jazz night.

Additionally, we're pleased that our convenient location served as the perfect base for your adventures in Reykjavík, with easy access to both the city center and key transportation hubs.

Thank you for your glowing recommendation of Hotel Holt—we're honored to have provided you with such a lush and enjoyable experience. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay in the future!

Warmest regards
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

The location is absolutely amazing. You’re right in the city in a quaint little hotel with stunning art. I can’t speak enough about how amazing the location is and how cozy the hotel is when coming back after a long day. The art is breath taking. The only thing I wish I kept in mind when booking was lack of amenities at the hotel. Though the website shows a restaurant, you have to read closely and see it’s been closed for a few years. The bar is only open Wednesday-Saturday (while our trip was Sunday through Wednesday so didn’t get to enjoy that). There is no pool or sauna to enjoy. The breakfast is amazing but for an add fee of about 25 euros per person which can add a lot daily. If you plan to spend a day at the hotel just be advised there is not much to do. There is great places to enjoy around hotel but the hotel itself offers very little other than a beautiful place to sleep. We enjoyed our stay a lot just things to be mindful of prior to booking b

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Jaqueline,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear that you loved the location and found the hotel to be cozy and comfortable after a long day of exploring the city.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the lack of amenities available during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the closure of our restaurant and limited hours of the bar. We understand how important it is for our guests to have access to these facilities, and we will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve our services.

Regarding the breakfast, we apologize if the additional fee was not clearly communicated to you prior to your stay. We will review our website and booking process to ensure that all information is presented accurately and transparently.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, and we hope that you were able to explore and enjoy the surrounding area during your time with us. If you have any further feedback or suggestions for improvement, please don't hesitate to reach out. We appreciate your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

This hotel was fantastic with artwork, murals and pieces which really made my stay excellent. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you and the breakfast was lush. Thanks Holt Hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Getaway516490
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Getaway516490,
We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Holt! Our collection of artwork, murals, and pieces is something we take great pride in, and we're delighted that it enhanced your experience with us. Providing exceptional service is our priority, so we're glad to hear that our staff were friendly and accommodating throughout your stay.

And of course, we're delighted that you enjoyed our lush breakfast offerings! We believe that starting the day with a delicious meal sets the tone for a great day ahead.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Holt, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful stay in the future. If there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even more memorable, please let us know!

Warmest regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

Hotel Holt is an excellent hotel,. It is quiet and very comfortable and conveniently situated for exploring the city. The decor is traditional with interesting art work everywhere. Breakfast is excellent with a lovely selection of hot and cold food. Most of all we were impressed by the staff who could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniela R, General Manager at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Colin,
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Holt for your stay! We're thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience with us. Creating a quiet and comfortable atmosphere for our guests to relax in is one of our top priorities, and we're glad that you found our hotel to be just that. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the traditional decor and the interesting artwork throughout the hotel.

We're delighted that you found our breakfast offerings to be excellent, with a variety of hot and cold options to choose from. Providing a delicious and satisfying breakfast experience is important to us, and we're pleased that we could meet your expectations.

Most importantly, we're grateful for your kind words about our staff. Our team works hard to ensure that every guest feels welcomed and well taken care of, so it's always rewarding to hear when we've succeeded. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Holt in the future! If there's anything else we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warmest regards,
Team Hotel Holt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews