We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
From Manchester

Lovely Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2019
Hotel Holt is a lovely quiet hotel in a very convenient location to all the shops and the BSI bus terminal. Karl the Hotel Manager was very kind and helpful. We arrived early from our flight from Manchester and we just were expecting to leave our suitcase in storage until check in time at 3 pm but Karl kindly said we could go to our room.
He also gave us helpful advice.The breakfast was served with a large variety of delicious foods. We would highly recommend this hotel if you visit Iceland.
Date of stay: September 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marissa S, Sales, and marketing at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 17 Sept 2019
Dear UTD123,

Thank you for your kind words - we are exceedingly proud of our entire team, so we thank you for appreciating the hard work put into assisting all of our guests.
Thank you also for your recommendation! We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Holt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$514
  • Expedia.com
    AU$544
0.9 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$426
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$393
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$574
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$479
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$479
1.0 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$492
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$486
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$384
  • Algotels
2.6 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$722
  • Expedia.com
    AU$748
0.7 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
AU$385
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (1,791)
Filter reviews
1,792 results
Traveller rating
1,063
574
116
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,063
574
116
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews icelandic art private art collection junior suite quiet street great hotel traditional hotel public areas bsi bus terminal minute walk quiet at night within easy walking distance single room comfortable hotel breakfast room main shopping downtown reykjavik northern lights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 1,792 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2019

This trip was booked as a birthday surprise for my husband, which was made even more special by the friendly attentive service we received from the hotel staff. We were given an upgraded room and the staff were very helpful with suggestions for places to eat or visit. The hotel is within walking distance of the main centre as well as the bus station, but it is quiet. We had an early return flight and were given a breakfast bag to take with us. We definitely want to visit Reykjavik again and we would stay in this hotel, it was great, thank you.

Date of stay: December 2018
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IV30emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marissa S, Sales, and marketing at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2019

Dear IV30emma,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Holt. We do so enjoy hearing that your stay was special and that our team treated you well.
Please let us know if you are ever on your way back - it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Holt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2019

The staff were always friendly and available. The hotel itself was nice, and lovely. Plus it was close to the town, so just a few minutes of walking and you can be at the bars, grocery stores, or places to eat. But overall, a good place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jollymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marissa S, Sales, and marketing at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Jollymate,

Thank you for your review and sharing some of the great attributes of Hotel Holt with the world. We really appreciate that you took the time, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future if you ever come back to Reykjavik.

We send you warm wishes from chilly Iceland in September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

We stayed at the hotel for three nights at the end of our 11 day road trip for our honeymoon. We were greeted at the hotel with a suite upgrade, as well as a complimentary bottle of champagne. The staff was friendly and attentive, and the experience was more similar to a B&B with the amenities of a full scale hotel.

The room was beautiful, with fantastic art adorning its walls and a great view of Hallgrímskirkja and the neighborhood below, as well as gallery lighting for the art. The breakfast included a wide variety of delicious breads, meats, cheeses, drinks, and your standard breakfast foods. Additionally, the hotel even had convenient parking!

I would highly recommend staying at the hotel. It exudes class and old world charm, and is conveniently located no more than a 10-20 minute walk from anywhere in downtown.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marissa S, Sales, and marketing at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Dear Max B,

We are thankful to have been a part of such as special time in your lives. We wish you all the best and thank you for your lovely comments and this positive review of your stay with us.
If you come back to Iceland don't hesitate to be in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Not only is this hotel in the perfect location to everything in Reykjavik, (everything is in walking distance), but it is quiet, the beds are cozy, the breakfast is GREAT (buffet with LOTS of options - and a MUCH cheaper option to going out for breakfast...), the staff was so kind and so helpful AND it's only a 15 minute drive to a dark area to watch the Northern Lights. It's also a 10 minute walk to the bus station (where if you're going on a tour, they are unable to drive on private roads, so the bus station is the next best option). I would certainly recommend this hotel to ANYONE going to Iceland.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marissa S, Sales, and marketing at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Dear Alex G,

Lucky that you got to see the lights! How fun! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience staying with us. We wish you all the best and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Junior Suite was ideal for a family of 3 for a week. The location is great, central. Staff are amazing. The art work is some of the best in all of Iceland. I would l highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marissa S, Sales, and marketing at Hotel Holt - The Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Dear Margaret W,

Thank you for your Charming review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you in particular for mentioning our staff - we are exceedingly proud of our team.
We wish you all the best, and please be in touch if you ever come back to Reykjavik!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews