We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
James
Stevenage, United Kingdom

Pleasant quirky hotel although noisy street below

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2024via mobile
A friendly, quirky modern hotel with clean and pleasant rooms. The location right in the centre of the city is perfect for exploring Reykjavik, and is very close to the various bus stops that both tours and the airport buses depart from. While it doesn't serve breakfast, there are several bars and cafes nearby (Baka Baka is highly recommended!). Although the hotel itself is quiet, we were briefly woken in the early hours two nights out of the three we stayed by drunken people shouting in the side street below - now we see why the hotel supplies sleep masks and ear plugs in the rooms!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$526
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$526
0.3 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$598
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
0.5 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$422
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$422
  • Priceline
0.5 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$450
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$450
1.4 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$383
  • Priceline
0.2 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$912
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,024
0.8 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$405
  • Priceline
1.2 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$357
  • Expedia.com
    AU$380
3.0 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$455
  • Expedia.com
    AU$463
1.0 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton
    AU$496
  • Priceline
2.7 km from City Center Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Reykjavik
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveller rating
483
470
165
45
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
483
470
165
45
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location within walking distance light sleeper single room bus stop blackout curtains noise earplugs tours church
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

Stunning hotel. Perfect location - friendly staff. Highly recommended

Would definately return to this hotel- beautiful setting

Bathroom gorgeous - rooms spacious, comfy beds.

Cannot recommend this place enough

Everything about this place is just wow

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Room size and bathroom size were fair. Room was comfortable. The Front Desk staff were courteous and helpful. Location - Perfect.....close to important sites in the city, restaurants, shopping and bus service. Only had breakfast which was fair.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Lovely quiet and quirky hotel in a great location with spotless modern rooms, comfy beds, decent bathroom and a nice balcony. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and close to the harbour too. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Room tip: Try the Sky Lagoon, the golden circle tour with Kerid crater with BusTravel Iceland and Himalayan Spice restaurant by the harbour.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Our stay at the City Center Hotel was wonderful! The hotel is super cute and quirky, the room was beautiful with a very comfy bed. The staff was super nice and extremely helpful and we were in walking distance of most of the activities we planned, shops, restaurants and bars.

This was our first time in Iceland and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We will be staying here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Reykjavík.

Room tip: There are a few bars and clubs nearby, so on the weekend it can be a little noisy at night, the hotel provides earplugs so that does help.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GrandTour62172204198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous, and the photos on here and Booking.com don't do it justice. It's really quirky, and the rooms are lovely. Reception staff are great too. It's extremely central, and has bars all around it, so there was a bit of noise on weekend nights, but not enough to stop us from sleeping (the hotel also provided ear plugs and eye masks but we didn't need them). The room was cleaned every day too. I'd really recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emylou_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews